We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mafia Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pole Pole Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise found!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Marta (the manager) and Musa (assistant manager), make you comfortable and feeling welcomed from the moment you arrive at this beautiful Eco-lodge. The food is wonderful, they love catering to your every need here, and act as though it's part for the course in the hospitality world. I would really suggest to anyone staying here. Thank you, to a wonderful staff!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shawnhensinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
138
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights having spent the previous week on safari and what a great way to relax. Only 7 bungalows on site and we pretty much had the pool to ourselves. Went on a couple of excursions, snorkelling and white snapper bbq over coconut husks was definitely a highlight. Also lovely beach area with safe bathing. Food was excellent and kitchen was more than happy to provide alternatives if anyone fancied a change from the wonderful seafood dishes.
What really made the stay for us was Marta and the team who could not have done more to ensure we enjoyed our stay. From the waiting staff to chambermaids and trip organisers to the massai nightwatchman, pool side to gardener, every single member of the team was always on hand with a happy and smiling "jambo". A truly magical experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Pole Pole is lovely. The bungalows are spacious and comfortable and with only a small number very peaceful and quiet. The food was delicious, we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals. We principally chose this resort as we wanted to dive and were not disappointed. The dive centre nearby was very good, the dive sites interesting and varied. Unfortunately whilst there I had an injury to my foot, however, the care and attention I received from Marta and her staff was outstanding. We would highly recommend Pole Pole.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaC936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Pole Pole is beautiful - a 7-bungalow lodge, so very quiet and private. Very friendly staff and manager. And incredible food - mostly freshly-caught seafood from the local fisherman further down the beach but the salads,deserts, etc are also wonderful - and there's lots of it, you will definitely not go hungry here (fortunately it's all very healthy too)!!

There is a small, very peaceful beach in front of the lodge, just a few steps from the bungalows. Great for sitting in the shallow waters watching the sunset over the bay and the traditional dhow boats sailing past, sipping a cold beer from the bar. And if a larger white-sand beach is your thing, there is a larger and busier (by Mafia standards) beach a 2-minute walk around the bay. The highlight for relaxing though has to be the Zanziabari Bed on the porch of the rooms, overlooking the palm trees, sea and shows sailing past - could lie there all day! And if you'd prefer to be more active for the holidays, there is plenty to do - excursions, diving, snorkelling, day trips, whale watching/whale shark snorkeling (depending on season).

This was my second time staying at Pole Pole and I will be back again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Spent one of our three nights around Mafia Island here and absolutely loved it. The rooms are clean and have all the amenities you need, the pool is warm and shady and the massages took you to another level of relaxation. Marta, the manager, was laid back but on top of everything and very welcoming. I felt completely blissed out the whole time we were there. The food was tastey and abundant and just what you wanted for the location and the staff were all super friendly and helpful with anything you could need. We loved the other hotel we stayed at which was unique and special but in its own way but I would have been very disappointed if we hadn't had a chance to enjoy Pole Pole as well. If I were to pick a couple things I think could be improved upon it would be to not have ties on the mosquito net because that's complicated if you are going to the loo in the night and the pillows could be softer (not that they were bad but could be better). That's how small my critique is though which was against very high expectations. Thanks everyone for making it a marvelous trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jchavezfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We came for 3 nights at the end of a two week honeymoon. My only regret is that we did not come sooner!

The lodge was so relaxing, The food on offer was fresh and the menu was varied.

There are plenty of activities to keep you occupied. We would particularly recommend the scuba diving, which we found to be better than Zanzibar.

We would also highly recommend the massages on offer.

One word of advice - if you are coming purely for the beach and sand experience then you might find yourself disappointed with the sand at the shore, due to the lack of strong waves in the area. However the water is very clean and once you go further out (for example for scuba diving) then the water is beautiful.

This is definitely somewhere I have to revisit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaiir-YA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Lovely location, beautiful Beach, Excellent Food, very good service,very comfortable bungalows, Enjoyed my stay here very much and will return. Snorkeled on the reef in front and saw rays,lionfish, it was like swimming in an aquarium. had excellent dive on chole reef and milimani north reef

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrylambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mafia Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Kinasi Lodge
Kinasi Lodge
#4 of 4 in Mafia Island
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mafia Beach Bungalows
Mafia Beach Bungalows
#2 of 9 in Mafia Island
51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mafia Island
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meremeta Lodge
Meremeta Lodge
#1 of 9 in Mafia Island
132 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ibizza Inn
Ibizza Inn
#3 of 9 in Mafia Island
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nyumbani Rest House
Nyumbani Rest House
#5 of 9 in Mafia Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pole Pole Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pole Pole Bungalows

Property: Pole Pole Bungalows
Address: Plot 16 - Utende Beach, Mafia Island, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Mafia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pole Pole Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven bungalow suites overlook the infinite hues of blue of Chole Bay, the core of Mafia Island Marine Park. Pole Pole is an exclusive eco-resort, renowned for its great cuisine, unpretentious and laid-back atmosphere, warm but discrete hospitality. Balancing luxury and respect for local culture and environment it is the perfect place to relax after a safari and the ideal base for exploring the underwater wanders of Mafia Island. With a touch of style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pole Pole Bungalows Hotel Mafia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing