We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pole Pole”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mafia Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pole Pole Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in July 2014 following safaris in Selous and Ruhua. Couldn't recommend it highly enough - rooms/bungalows superb, food wonderful, staff exceptionally helpful and considerate. Perfect place to wind down and go on snorkelling etc excursions

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PetenViv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Pole Pole Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from 7 days at this very special place - so nice to find a unique paradise with a responsible attitude towards tourism on the local community. As well as this pole pole staff went out of their way to cater for my coeliac son - the food was superb, bungalows immaculate and individual, all areas of pole pole were very well groomed. It is hard to find fault with this place and also hard to do it justice, it is well managed, the staff are superb and friendly and to top it all the local diving and snorkelling are great.
... And nearly forgot fantastic and reasonably priced massages are available at their little spa !

Room Tip: All seven bungalows are similar and lovely
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaSaffronWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this small but perfect Lodge for six nights after ten days in Rwanda. Perfect place to end the trip. Just relaxing at the beach and Diving at Mafia diving each day. They have a wonderful deal with Mafia diving centre just five min from the Lodge.
Staff, food and service is just Perfect.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank NilsOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

A great little place with only 7 bungalows tucked away in the Marine National Park. Great place to stay if you want to go diving! The lunch packs from this place are probably the best ones I ever had, and it's a lot of food. Just want you want when diving. Great service and laudery is included, which is good to know when weight limit flying over to Mafia is 15 kg.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Whitewaterluksus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our family enjoyed three days of relaxation at the beautiful Pole Pole on Mafia. Our family bungalow was spacious and we especially loved the outdoor areas and small touches like kikoy's and straw hats and tote bags to use around the property. The staff was as friendly as anyone could imagine and we really got to know and enjoy the people who were making our stay so special. Anne, the manager, was superb in her attention to detail and seemed to always be there to lend a hand when needed. The food was fantastic and we really enjoyed the change of dinner venues each night and we are missing the great fruits and seafood now that we're back at home.
The included activities were fabulous and we snorkeled and visited Chole Island, which was beautiful and peaceful. We also really enjoyed our experiences diving with the neighboring Mafia Island Diving team. Finally, we loved the realness of Pole Pole…it's not glossy or trying to be something over done. Its simply a lovely, small resort with a soul and a beautiful view. Plus a really great lodge dog who became my kids best friend while we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I recommend this before or after a trip to the smaller Chole Mjini. Italian inspired food, a wonderful pool, poolside spa treatments, and lovely little bungalows make this all a special place.

They can also arrange tours, snorkelling and the Kitu Kiblu whale shark excursions.

Simply perfect, and perfectly simple.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank san_shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and had an awesome time. The staff were amazing and very welcoming and helpful. The food was outstanding. Unfortunately the wind was a bit hectic for the last 3 days which put a little bit of a damper on things. The diving is truly spectacular and well worth the trip all the way to Mafia Island. We also took a day trip to watch the turtles hatching on Juani island - amazing! The trip across to Chole Island to see the ruins was a photographic wonder. We also took a trip to Fisherman's Island for a beach BBQ which was a great way to get away from the wind - however the boat trip home was very bumpy and wet! I would definitely recommend Pole Pole

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mafia Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Kinasi Lodge
Kinasi Lodge
#4 of 4 in Mafia Island
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mafia Island Lodge
Mafia Island Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mafia Island
213 reviews
7.8 mi away
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach
#1 of 9 in Mafia Island
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
#2 of 12 in Mafia Island
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mafia Beach Bungalows
Mafia Beach Bungalows
#2 of 9 in Mafia Island
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meremeta Lodge
Meremeta Lodge
#1 of 12 in Mafia Island
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pole Pole Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pole Pole Bungalows

Address: Plot 16 - Utende Beach, Mafia Island, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Mafia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Price Range: £159 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pole Pole Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven bungalow suites overlook the infinite hues of blue of Chole Bay, the core of Mafia Island Marine Park. Pole Pole is an exclusive eco-resort, renowned for its great cuisine, unpretentious and laid-back atmosphere, warm but discrete hospitality. Balancing luxury and respect for local culture and environment it is the perfect place to relax after a safari and the ideal base for exploring the underwater wanders of Mafia Island. With a touch of style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pole Pole Bungalows Hotel Mafia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing