We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with all the trimmings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilimanjaro Backpackers
Ranked #37 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly with all the trimmings”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you are after a few essentials prior to heading up Mt Kili. Rooms are clean an tidy and although bathroom is shared it is always clean. Wifi available also which is free to use an added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
8
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We arrived in Moshi after 10 days in safari. We found Kindoroko Hotel in Lonely Planet, but we wanted the cheaper accomodation, so they recommended to go to Kilimanjaro Backpackers. This hostel is not far from Kindoroko Hotel and much more cheaper. The bed was the best after sleeping in the tent for 10 nights :)
The double room was clean, with nets. Sharing toilet, shower were clean, there was hot water. In this hostel you can order laundry service.
There is the bar on the roof, but during our visit it was closed because of the low season. In the morning the breakfast was served in this bar.
The staff in reception was very friendly, especially Sekani :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daiva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Lonely Planet can be a curse!

Arriving in Moshi (from Tanga by bus) I had my sights set on Haria Hotel. Why? Because in my 2012 edition it quoted "worlds better than the more well-known and more expensive Kilimanjaro Backpackers". In fact KB does not even get a listing.

So imagine my horror on arriving at HH to discover they were fully booked! They had 24 dorm beds and they were all taken. I was wondering, am I in Tanzania in the rainy season or Rio for Mardi Gras???

So, pointedly avoiding KB (why buy a Lonely Planet if you aren't going to listen to what it says?) I started a mini-tour of Moshi's hostelries discovering that I could get an en-suite room for 22k TSh at AA Hill ... or board with a local Indian gentleman's house for 14k TSh (sharing the bathroom with his chickens!) ... a far cry from the 10k TSh that the dorm in HH would have cost!

Eventually beleagured by carting my heavy backpack in the afternoon sun I acquiesced to a street tout's suggestion to check out KB!

And boy was I glad I did! The place was well-kept and spotlessly clean! High quality mosquito nets with no holes, super-comfy bed, lock on the dorm door, free breakfast and wifi! And all for a lowly 9.6k TSh!

I couldn't believe I had all this glory to myself while the HH was packed out across the street!

There are also private rooms and the bar area has a view of Kilimanjaro peering out over a coca-cola hoarding!

The location is pretty good, about 3 blocks from the bus station and close to shops and a variety of restaurants.

Sometimes it pays to go against the curve, and I can only highly, highly recommend this place! Definitely one to check out if you are in Moshi!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pallab007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at the Kilimanjaro Backpackers looking for a cheap accommodation. Not an easy task in Moshi. But this place, on the main road in trekking distance from the bus station, is at the lower end of the price scale.
We got a double room with a king size bed and a shared bathroom. Everything was clean, with intact mosquito nets.
There is a small communal area with travel books and a tellie, and a bar on the roof. Breakfast is also served on the roof - pancakes, fruits, coffee, tea. For lunch or dinner I suggest you step off the main streets and find a local joint. that's all the while cheaper than the Backpackers' restaurant.

There was no aircon or internet.

A word on tours: the Backpackers is happy to organize Kilimanjaro trips or visits to one of the other National Parks in the area. But you will also meet plenty of "guides" once you step out the door that will offer cheaper prices. It is on you to decide whether you believe the Backpackers' claim that they pay fair wages to their guides and staff or whether you look for cheap only... In case of the latter my preferred mode of action is to use local transport where available and organize as much as possible myself.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I arrived quite late but was given a room which was very small but fine for the price. The bed was comfortable enough and the net was fine. The communal toilet and shower was clean and there was plenty of hot water. Liked the bar with the view over the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balitraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Small, dirty room. Even the mosquito net was dirty and the way the net is hung from the ceiling makes it impossible to sleep without touching it. The toilets were difficult to flush and neither my husband nor I took a shower in the uninviting shower stall. Front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moshi hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

the place is on the road and so noisy, the room are small and dirty, fan is not working... The single room is 12 $ wich i think is not a good deal, no funny place and bad service

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankotour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.1 mi away
We Travel Hostel
We Travel Hostel
#5 of 69 in Moshi
34 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.2 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
41 reviews
10.7 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 69 in Moshi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilimanjaro Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilimanjaro Backpackers

Property: Kilimanjaro Backpackers
Address: Mawenzi Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kilimanjaro Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Kilimanjaro Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilimanjaro Backpackers Hotel Moshi
Kilimanjaro Backpackers Moshi, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing