We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilimanjaro Backpackers
Ranked #38 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Ngong, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Cozy, great value, friendly staff, perfect location! I felt very comfortable here and the rates were some of the cheapest in the town.

The bar/restaurant upstairs was not in service when I visited which was a bit of a bummer, but the location made it too easy to find a place to grab a bite or have a drink within walking distance.

Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortiaVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
8
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend in one of the twin rooms on 2 seperate occasions before and after climbing Kilimanjaro
I would recommended it as our room was comfy and clean and good value of 10$ a night per person.
The location is also superb in the centre of moshi.
Try and stay in the up stairs part of the hostel as the rooms seem to be nicer and and more spacious. Also it can be a little noisey with people coming in at night but this is only a Minor problem.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here withy parents and boyfriend before hiking Kili. The staff were very friendly, the location is right in the middle of town and the breakfast was simple but great. Our room was big and bright but my parents was much smaller and darker, it was still fine though. Unfortunately the roof too bar is no longer serving drinks but we bought some drinks at the supermarket and took them up there. The view of Kili in the morning and afternoon was great. All in all a good experience that I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappytraveller898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

After 2 months traveling Africa, I would have never expected to find such a decent place for the price.

$18 got us a double room with a shared bathroom. The windows have screens, bars and drapes and the bed, a mosquito net. Our bedroom also had a small but mighty fan.

The bathrooms aren't the cleanest but they're not horrible.

Cool hang-out area that overlooks the street, good (and free) wifi, free (albeit meager) breakfast and super friendly staff.

Great location - right in the center of Moshi Town.

Biggest downfall was what they wanted to charge to do laundry (too expensive) compounded by the fact that there isn't really an alternative to do it yourself. (When I asked a staff member for a bucket, I was told "either you use our laundry service or you don't"...however, about an hour later, another staff member let me use a bucket, and the clothes lines out the back)

It was no frills, nothing fancy but the price and friendly staff earned Kili Backpackers it's "very good" rating.

Suggestions: give the bathrooms a paint job and put wireless boosters throughout the building so the wifi signal is accessible anywhere in the building.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

It's fine if you literally just need a place to sleep, but every other aspect of this place is way below par compared to many other hostels we have stayed at. There is mold all over in the bathroom and they never really seem to clean it, but then again maybe it just gets really dirty really fast because there is only 1 toilet and 1 shower for the whole bottom floor, with maybe 20 people or more. The lounge area is super uncomfortable, rooms and beds are are ok, still kinda dingy. Floors are generally dirty. The 'breakfast' is just coffee and toast, nothing else is offered, even if you want to pay for it. There is free wifi so that is a plus, but it seems most hotels and hostels do. The staff is friendly... Not sure on security, seems ok. Laundry services are expensive, but I think most places are the same. Rooms are small, bug nets have holes. I burnt myself trying to get hot water because their pots are all broken. Overall it wasn't great and we aren't staying here after our hike, there are much better options that we saw around town for the same or just a tiny bit more.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PettersenKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moshi hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

For the price its 'good' rather than average, but 'very good' is going a bit far. Moshi is a dire place full of touts and little else. But as a place to sleep ahead or after a climb or safari the hostel is fine. The rooms are like shoeboxes, if it is empty its much better to get the dorm as it will be cheaper and its a fair size, otherwise you might be sleeping with your backpack!

The best part was the bar on the roof but apparently this has now gone so I expect it is no longer a great place to meet people and merely just a place to sleep and move on, which you will do quickly in Moshi. Perfect for people on their way to Nairobi from Dar and want a place to stay in between.

Staff were very friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kampala_Hoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This place ranks somewhere between average and very good (why, is there no 'good' option Tripadvisor!). It is not as good as it's sister hostel in Arusha, it has no bar restaurant, it is not as clean and they need more toilets and showers.

That said, it's $6US per night! with free breakfast and free decent wifi. It's in a good location, with several good food options nearby (Taj Mahal for Zanzibar pizza and Pamojo for nice local food). It is also a good place to meet other travellers and the reception staff are nice and friendly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank doooron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.0 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Osy Grand Hotel
Osy Grand Hotel
#34 of 50 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
The Backyard Hostel
The Backyard Hostel
#34 of 65 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilimanjaro Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilimanjaro Backpackers

Property: Kilimanjaro Backpackers
Address: P.o. Box 8682, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kilimanjaro Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilimanjaro Backpackers Hotel Moshi
Kilimanjaro Backpackers Moshi, Tanzania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing