We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Osy Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osy Grand Hotel
Ranked #34 of 50 Moshi B&B and Inns
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Good location in busy Moshi.Nearly empty when we stayed.Food really was cooked to order and thus took a while. Staff tried to sell excursions/taxis at inflated prices. Rooms large and very acceptable for the price.Remember , this and most other hotels in Tanzania do not take credit cards !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
3
7
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Good budget accommodation in Moshi. Definitely would not call this hotel “grand” but for $50 a room/night it is a cheap, central & safe place to stay.

Staff were very helpful, room was clean and the water pressure pretty good. The electricity in our room blew out soon after arriving and we were moved into another room without a fuss. Our room had an air conditioner however given electricity cuts and how hot it gets, I wouldn’t say the room was ever really “cool” but not bad. Breakfast was included and one of the best parts of the hotel is the restaurant balcony – a great place to start the day & do some people watching from above. There isn’t an elevator in the hotel which could pose a problem if you’re on the higher floors but I’m sure someone can help you out if need be. It is worth walking up to the rooftop to see the views of Moshi & beyond.

Overall, I’d recommend this hotel as basic accommodation & I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 2 or 3 so you aren't too close to street level & can still carry your luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chismi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Located in the heart of Moshi by the central market.

Pros:
Very safe
Trustworthy and friendly staff (you needn't worry about your valuables being stolen)
Hot water
Inexpensive (around $35-$45 a night)
No mosquitoes!
Free wifi (when it works)

Cons:
Breakfast is average at best
Rooms are spartan
TV channels are few
The occasional cockroach
Wi-fi is not dependable
Call to prayer may wake you up in the morning (or may lull you to a deeper sleep!)
They will only accept cash and if paying in US bills, only US bills printed since 2000.

If you are low maintenance and don't expect Western standards, this is a great place. If you require finer comforts, you may wish to look elsewhere. But for the price, this is probably the best bet at this price level.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at Osy Grand as our trekking hotel was full. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we were greeted with a warm smile and a helpful attitude. We were offered a couple of bedrooms and the receptionist was happy to show us the rooms before we decided. We stayed in room 101 which was clean, had a modern bathroom and air conditioning. There is a TV and fridge and a very useful hotel information brochure which gives great tips on local bars and restaurants.

The restaurant / terrace area is very relaxing offering a wide selection of foods and drinks and sitting on the balcony, watching the world go by was just what we needed after climbing Kilimanjaro.

The breakfast was basic but good, honest food and attentive service. The omelettes are cooked to order and are of good quality.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our one night at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

It just goes to show that although this is Africa, some hotels can get their standards right and you don't have to accept poor / low standards of quality.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

OSY GRAND
The room was clean .food was good
Personal / Manegment was good ,very helping and nice
Iternet was good . There was a taxi out side all the time ..so was no problem with the transport
And the arrangement of Safari or climbing the mountain Kilimanjaro was good..
I will advice all to visit this hotel when you are in Tanzania
Youra Faith A..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith Abdulle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Flot sted . var dere ned i juni 2012 . What an experience.... safe and good catering . wireless internet available and around the clock electricity . Tv channels available and very respectfull and kind waitters ... you got to try it to experience it was my second stay there and wont be the last to enjoy watching mt kilimanjaro from the osy grand hotel .
you gotta try it ...

Room Tip: towards the mt kilimanjaro .. good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

we selected osy grand on our trip to moshi, i will be honoured to say that the service we received there it was beyond our expectee, the staff are so friendly, the facilities are modern, the food is well prepared and wild range of activities to choose. the price is so resonable with all the facilities they have, air cornditioned in my room was well monitored,good security. the view of the mountain(MAGNIFICENT). if happened to visit TANZANIA, Moshi OSSY GRAND HOTEL is the place to be, it makes you feel like home while your away from home.

Room Tip: prefered the room with the view of the mountain kilimamjaro
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlene i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.2 mi away
Q Wine Hotel
Q Wine Hotel
#10 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
New Siesta Inn Hotel
New Siesta Inn Hotel
#9 of 50 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osy Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osy Grand Hotel

Property: Osy Grand Hotel
Address: Riadha Street opp Akiba Commercial Bank | PO Box 8206, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osy Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Osy Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osy Grand Hotel Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing