We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picking, grinding, roasting my own fair trade Kilimanjaro coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahawa Shambani-Africa Coffee Tour

Kahawa Shambani-Africa Coffee Tour
Ranked #1 of 5 Food & Drink in Moshi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kiliman Cultural Tourism is a community based project aimed at providing coffee growers a complementary source of income via tourism. It can be used as base for many activities and offers programmes, by a local coffee farmers themselves. The project site is located in Uru West villages, Moshi Rural district, Kilimanjaro region – Tanzania. The surrounding lush and fertile land is filled with deep valleys and gorges and is home to a tribe called Wachagga. The tourism project provide to Kilimanjaro Native Cooperative Union’s coffee farmers with additional income. This means all your expenditures on tours, meals will go directly to the local people who are involved in the project. Part of the income goes to the Village's Development Fund (VDF), an investment fund for further enhancement of the tourism project. Kiliman Cultural Tourism (Kahawa Shambani Afrika ) is registered by Tanzania Tourist Board
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Picking, grinding, roasting my own fair trade Kilimanjaro coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Learning about the coffee growers co-operative, their history, fair trade, & picking, grinding, & roasting my own fresh coffee, was a highlight for me. Mike was a friendly & really informative guide.

i highly recommend this trip. You can also camp at the farm, & they can run other trips:

Medicinal tour: guided by a coffee farmer, you learn how the Chagga people use plants, shrubs, & trees as medicine

Cultural village walk: experience the daily life & distinct culture of the Chagga people

Chagga history hike

To find out more, contact Mike on Mirai450@hotmail.com

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Earth Tours & Safaris (Tour of Coffee Plantation), a great day experience to add before you leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We had worked with Good Earth for our Treks up Mt. Kenya, Mt. Kilimanjaro and Serengeti Safari. We had an extra day at the end, to allow for a day trip to experience how coffee is grown and processed. We posed the idea to Good Earth and told them we wanted to pick and process the coffee ourselves, rather than just walk thru and listen to a lecture.

Good Earth did not disappoint. They set us up with the Kahawa Shamba Coffee Tour and our Guide walked us thru the farm, explained everything we'd ever need to know to grow it and harvest it, we even got to dry some beans,roast them and crush them into powder for a good, fresh cup of coffee, straight from the mountain farm! This was a great experience and we really enjoyed the food from the lunch that was served at the end.

Taking this tour filled in our extra day perfectly and we got to learn the behind-the-scenes facts about coffee - I highly recommend this tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make your own coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had a half day tour and were not only guided through the coffee plantation but had to make our own coffee also! You learn about the whole process from coffeeplant to coffeebean and further. The guides are really friendly and are eager to tell you not only about the coffee process but also about local life. At the end we drank our own coffee and got a local lunch (it was ok; banana soup, rice etc). The money you pay for the tour, will be invested in local community projects. You can buy coffee at the end of the tour.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lalalala_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moshi, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Coffee Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

The actual tour was great. Our tour guide was named Mike who spoke impeccable english and was very knowledgeable about coffee and world affairs. Highly recommended

However some parts of the tour could be improved. First after paying at the local office in Moshi at the KNCU hotel, we were instructed to get on a dalla dalla at the bus stand and go to Timbrini where "Joseph" will be waiting for us. There was no Joseph but there was a Mike who was great but after the dalla dalla ride we had to walk almost a half hour uphill to get to the coffee plantation. They advertise it as a 3-4 hour activity but it was more like a full day (9-5). We didn't mind the walk. The scenery was nice and the weather was much cooler than Moshi.

All in all a GREAT tour and a must for any coffee connoisseur but a little misleading in regards to the transportation.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank navsk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kahawa Shambani-Africa Coffee Tour also viewed

 
Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
 

Been to Kahawa Shambani-Africa Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing