We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I was not put off by arrival in Moshi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moshi Leopard Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I am glad my first experience of Moshi and indeed Tanzania were not the real deal. Many roads in Moshi are one way. Sadly for our driver there is no road sign to say which way until too late. We were approached by a man claiming to be a local official demanding to get in the vehicle. We strongly refused even when he came to the hotel. Even the local police advise DON'T let anyone in come what may. We then arrived and a slight disappointment was there being no nets in the room. However there was GOOD Air Conditioning and rooms were clean and nice.

The breakfast was fine and we eat in the restaraunt. They did not quite get the idea of pizzae and chips, putting the chips on the pizza to cook it. It was however nice. The following day we asked for someone to take us to Merangu Falls. He took us there and then to Mt Kilimanjaro. Stayed with us over half the day and was delighted to get the equivalent of 5 dollars. The falls were lovely and three of us, myself and two Kenyans paid less than the equivalent of £6 in total to be shown around. The falls guide was unrushed and well worth the tip.

One tip. If entering Tanzania from Kenya ask at Immigration for money exchange on the border. A local man comes on a motorbike and you get a far better deal than in town.

At the hotel a very friendly security guard at our request woke us in the morning when there was a clear view of the mountain. Took us to top floor for great views.

Room Tip: The higher up the building the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeWotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

We arrived Moshi town from the border town of Tarkea. The hotel staff were great and friendly. The hotel is very ideal for backpackers and those on a budget trip in Tanzania. The foods was ok and breakfast was at a reasonable rate. The Tanzanian staff were courteous and offered us good information about the town and attraction as we traveled back to Nairobi via Arusha.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enderitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We had booked elsewhere but a last minute reservation glitch had us arriving at the leopard hotel late at night on our first night inTanzania. We were well taken care of and appreciated the clean comfortable rooms with hot showers and good breakfast. Reasonable rates and good value. Nothing fancy, but clean, comfortable and convenient in the center of town.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank gottago2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Leopard in Moshi for two nights before transferring to a less-central resort prior to climbing Kilimanjaro. We couldn't recommend the Leopard highly enough - friendly staff (we were greeted with watermelon juice on check-in!), great central location, nice restaurant downstairs, clean rooms (with hot water in the evenings & air con), and good rates. We found it the perfect spot from which to get a really good feel for Moshi; it is close to markets, cafès, bureaux de change offices, tour guide booking offices and so much more. We even had a view of Kilimanjaro from our room!

It is important to note that this is a budget hotel option (we paid US$60 per night for a double), and does not organise climbs or tours itself, so don't expect luxury and massive rooms. But for what you pay, it is excellent in every way. We didn't try the TV so can't comment on that, but the wireless Internet (TSH1,000 for an hour) was perfectly serviceable. As in most African cities there was often no power during the day, and so hot water was only available when the power was on. This was never a problem for us.

Overall a great value hotel in a fantastic little African town!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbournite1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights in December 2010 everything was really fantastic, very clean, great A/C, logical to cheap charges and a great restaurant on the lobby !!
The room costs 50$ per night per room and there's a very nice restaurant on the lobby (facing the Moshi's main road). The only reason that this hotel is not nr1 on the list among the Moshi's hotel's reviews is that they do not organize climbings or safaris and moreover they do not have even a pic on this site, otherwise it would be number one by far !! Tottaly reccomended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikosgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Well situated in the city centre of Moshi, restaurants, shops and the market right next to it. Yet quiet rooms, comfortable and roomy, with a/c. Good service, friendly staff. They even let our bus park in the hotel driveway, as it is sometimes difficult to find parking in the street. Nice restaurant on the premises (though if you sit in the rear corner outside you might hear the neighboring dentists' patients :-))

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DidiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
1.1 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Q Wine Hotel
Q Wine Hotel
#9 of 17 in Moshi
28 reviews
2.2 mi away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 17 in Moshi
191 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
9.8 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#2 of 17 in Moshi
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moshi Leopard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moshi Leopard Hotel

Address: 35 F Market Street, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range: £46 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moshi Leopard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moshi Leopard Hotel Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing