We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won us over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moshi Leopard Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
San Diego
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Won us over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Low on aesthetic appeal -- the leopard photograph on the wall above our bed peered down from behind cracked glass. The lighting was pallid, and most of the light fixtures were missing. More serious were the absence of mosquito nets given the obvious presence of mosquitos (despite the screened windows.) But the Leopard grew on us. For the money ($40 a day, b&b), it's extremely clean, with a central location, pleasant staff, good breakfast, reliable wifi (at least in the public areas), and cheap laundry service. We had a good meal in the restaurant while listening to Bing Crosby, the Andrews Sisters, and others singing 40s classics. Almost everyone else staying there seemed to be middle-class African business types. In the end, we felt like it provided us with everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
13
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The service in this hotel is awesome: Everybody is very kind and willing to help you!
You have a bathroom with hot water and air condition - everythings is very clean, even during the rainy season. The hotel is in the centre of Moshi. I can easily recomment the Leopard for everyone, esspecially single travelors, since you feel very save and well looked after.

Thank you very much for the nice residence!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel was worth the Entire drive from the border to Arusha and all the way to Moshi. I must say we were very disappointed in Arusha. The town was dead.
We arrived in Moshi late at night and this hotel was the first thing we saw.
The rooms are very clean and pleasant.
The breakfast was nice, with very pleasant staff.
If you're staying overnight in Moshi, then i'd definitely recommend this Place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sufyan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Leopard hotel is situated right in the center of town close to transport and several nice cafes. Moreover, even though checkout time was at 10am, we were allowed to stay well past that time due to the fact that we were running in the Kilimanjaro Marathon. The service in the restaurant was fast, and the breakfast was simple, but very nice. I'd certainly recommend this place to other solo travellers and couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We have lost count of the number of times we have stayed in Moshi but, whenever there, we always now head straight to the Leopard Hotel. Centrally located, you can enjoy a drink or snack in its shady courtyard before a meal in the upstairs Italian themed restaurant. The rooms are very clean and cool (air conditioned) with hot shower - something we have found to be the exception rather than the rule in this part of Africa! The staff are very welcoming, helpful and friendly so why look elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I am glad my first experience of Moshi and indeed Tanzania were not the real deal. Many roads in Moshi are one way. Sadly for our driver there is no road sign to say which way until too late. We were approached by a man claiming to be a local official demanding to get in the vehicle. We strongly refused even when he came to the hotel. Even the local police advise DON'T let anyone in come what may. We then arrived and a slight disappointment was there being no nets in the room. However there was GOOD Air Conditioning and rooms were clean and nice.

The breakfast was fine and we eat in the restaraunt. They did not quite get the idea of pizzae and chips, putting the chips on the pizza to cook it. It was however nice. The following day we asked for someone to take us to Merangu Falls. He took us there and then to Mt Kilimanjaro. Stayed with us over half the day and was delighted to get the equivalent of 5 dollars. The falls were lovely and three of us, myself and two Kenyans paid less than the equivalent of £6 in total to be shown around. The falls guide was unrushed and well worth the tip.

One tip. If entering Tanzania from Kenya ask at Immigration for money exchange on the border. A local man comes on a motorbike and you get a far better deal than in town.

At the hotel a very friendly security guard at our request woke us in the morning when there was a clear view of the mountain. Took us to top floor for great views.

Room Tip: The higher up the building the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeWotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We arrived Moshi town from the border town of Tarkea. The hotel staff were great and friendly. The hotel is very ideal for backpackers and those on a budget trip in Tanzania. The foods was ok and breakfast was at a reasonable rate. The Tanzanian staff were courteous and offered us good information about the town and attraction as we traveled back to Nairobi via Arusha.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enderitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Q Wine Hotel
Q Wine Hotel
#10 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
2.1 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moshi Leopard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moshi Leopard Hotel

Property: Moshi Leopard Hotel
Address: 35 F Market Street, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moshi Leopard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moshi Leopard Hotel Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing