We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful hotel in centre of Moshi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moshi Leopard Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
CUMBRIA ENGLAND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Useful hotel in centre of Moshi”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at Leopard Hotel for several days. It is convenient for the bus station and for shops and restaurants. It has a pleasant small restaurant, with helpful staff who try hard, and provide good service and a nice breakfast. The kitchen is one of the cleanest I have seen. I don't usually eat prepared fresh fruit when I am travelling, but I felt very confident to do so here! The hotel rooms are kept spotlessly clean by the hard- working staff, but unfortunately, despite the solid wooden furniture, the rooms appear somewhat faded and give the impression that management are resting on their laurels here. Bathrooms definitely look well past their best, and have extremely tiny showers; a large person would be closely wrapped in the shower curtain! All in all, Leopard is OK but not really a bargain at the price.

Room Tip: I had a room on the third floor which was quiet, except that the mosque is fairly near to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susansusanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
13
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Near the market in the centre of the town , with a restaurant and shaded terrace. Tiled rooms, stairs and hallways. No muskitonet, but with window hors. Each day cold bottle of mineral water.. Big and quiet hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjitske B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
166 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Low on aesthetic appeal -- the leopard photograph on the wall above our bed peered down from behind cracked glass. The lighting was pallid, and most of the light fixtures were missing. More serious were the absence of mosquito nets given the obvious presence of mosquitos (despite the screened windows.) But the Leopard grew on us. For the money ($40 a day, b&b), it's extremely clean, with a central location, pleasant staff, good breakfast, reliable wifi (at least in the public areas), and cheap laundry service. We had a good meal in the restaurant while listening to Bing Crosby, the Andrews Sisters, and others singing 40s classics. Almost everyone else staying there seemed to be middle-class African business types. In the end, we felt like it provided us with everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The service in this hotel is awesome: Everybody is very kind and willing to help you!
You have a bathroom with hot water and air condition - everythings is very clean, even during the rainy season. The hotel is in the centre of Moshi. I can easily recomment the Leopard for everyone, esspecially single travelors, since you feel very save and well looked after.

Thank you very much for the nice residence!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel was worth the Entire drive from the border to Arusha and all the way to Moshi. I must say we were very disappointed in Arusha. The town was dead.
We arrived in Moshi late at night and this hotel was the first thing we saw.
The rooms are very clean and pleasant.
The breakfast was nice, with very pleasant staff.
If you're staying overnight in Moshi, then i'd definitely recommend this Place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sufyan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Leopard hotel is situated right in the center of town close to transport and several nice cafes. Moreover, even though checkout time was at 10am, we were allowed to stay well past that time due to the fact that we were running in the Kilimanjaro Marathon. The service in the restaurant was fast, and the breakfast was simple, but very nice. I'd certainly recommend this place to other solo travellers and couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We have lost count of the number of times we have stayed in Moshi but, whenever there, we always now head straight to the Leopard Hotel. Centrally located, you can enjoy a drink or snack in its shady courtyard before a meal in the upstairs Italian themed restaurant. The rooms are very clean and cool (air conditioned) with hot shower - something we have found to be the exception rather than the rule in this part of Africa! The staff are very welcoming, helpful and friendly so why look elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Q Wine Hotel
Q Wine Hotel
#10 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
2.1 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moshi Leopard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moshi Leopard Hotel

Property: Moshi Leopard Hotel
Address: 35 F Market Street, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moshi Leopard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moshi Leopard Hotel Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing