We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$99
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$75
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$54
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oneira Hotel(Moshi)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
22
44
44
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
44
44
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssal salinerokilimanjaro climbstayed hereleopard barswimming poolpleasant hotelplenty of storagebuffet breakfastmoshi townkilimanjaro airportsafari tourthe entire staffyour luggagewi firooms are spaciouspizzaviewpoint
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

During our stay here, the electricity went off repeatedly throughout the day and night (no air conditioning, no lights, no TV) with no explanation by the staff or apologies. This made me think it was a common occurrence here. Also, the staff are very tip-motivated (even more so than other hotels in the area). My husband mentioned that we didn't have any shampoo so a maid brought a small bottle of it and conditioner and said it was $5.00! We felt hijacked but didn't have an alternative at this point (We had just returned from hiking Mt. Kilimanjaro and were pretty ripe!) Also, in a double room, they only place one towel so when you ask for another, they can't give it to you at the front desk, they send a maid to deliver it so you feel you should tip her. I was glad to check out of there early and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Whilst a little way out of Moshi (4km) you can either walk into town during the day in 40 minutes or take a taxi for a couple of dollars. However to enjoy the peace of the more salubrious Shanty Town area of Moshi is a real treat, especially the shaded gardens and poolside area. The restaurant offers substantial breakfasts and a varied menu. The Leopard Bar offers a great venue for post Kili climb / post safari beers of an evening.

Staff were fastidious, efficient and so friendly, Anna and Dionysus and Christine on reception were so helpful, helping me to top up credit on my mobile and arrange taxi driver numbers as required.

Chambermaids worked hard and cleaned rooms to impeccably high standards, not experienced elsewhere during this visit to Tanzania. Restaurant and bar staff, Juliet and Godfrey were most professional!

Having been fortunate to have travelled widely and extensively I found the friendliness and warmth of all the staff refreshing and my heartfelt thanks for making me feel so welcome and safe!

Room Tip: All rooms similar
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaRLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Luscious setting, splendid gardens, fine statues and carvings, reasonable rooms. But...

The region's electricity was off when we arrived and the hotel's generator not working. No candles or lamps or torches or apologies. When it eventually came on, the AC wasn't working so we had to change rooms. The food was terrible as was the service - I waited 75 minutes for a 'medium-rare' steak which was very very well done. Three staff argued amongst themselves over the dinner bill and then got it wrong. My wife asked for a Spanish omelette for breakfast and sick-looking scrambled eggs arrived. At every meal every dish has four bits of small tomato around the edge to suggest 'fine dining'. I asked for three fried eggs and was told I could have only two. No Internet in the rooms - though promised. Our friend tried to obtain a room service salad but gave up after 90 minutes. They do not take AMEX and told our friend that they take no cards only cash. When I pointed to the machine they reluctantly agreed that they did take Visa. It took them ages and the surcharge is 5% (all in contrafdiction to what they advertise). We'd hoped to stay for 7 days but left after 2. Most disappointing. And such a lovely place.

Room Tip: Bring your own food and electricity - or, better still, go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingMike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Sal Salinero for three nights, either side of our Kilimanjaro climb. Having moved out to Sal Salinero from a hotel in the middle of town, we found ourselves pleased that we had not stayed at Sal Salinero for the whole time - mainly because the location was a fair way out of town and thus you got less of a sense of the town of Moshi itself.

In most other ways, however, Sal Salinero was very good. The rooms were very spacious, there was hot water, and on the whole the staff were friendly (particularly the reception staff, who were very good with names and always helpful). Some of the restaurant and bar staff weren't as friendly, and the restaurant food was by no means the best that we have had in Africa, but again it was fine. Dinner is a buffet, while lunch is a la carte (mainly western food such as pizzas & salads, with only a few African options).

One thing to note is that the laundry service here is VERY expensive. We returned from our Kili climb and were invited to give our laundry over for cleaning; when it was returned the bill came to TSH100,000 (~US$60). It was quite a lot of laundry that we had done, and it was COMPLETELY our fault for not asking the prices before hand, but it's a good thing to be aware of.

The villa has a nice pool, and is used by many local families for weddings and wedding photos - it was wonderful to sit at the bar and watch all of the wedding processions come through.

If Sal Salinero is your jumping off point for a Kili climb, they have a good system for storing cash & valuables in their safe (they even make you count any cash that you're storing & sign a form outlining the amount you are leaving, to prevent any disagreement on collection) and also have secure excess bag storage. This was a big plus for us.

If you're after a semi-luxury resort, which is removed from the action of a bustling African town, then Sal Salinero could be just the place for you!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbournite1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Spent one night in Sal Salinero and the hotel is beautifully situated on the hill of Kilimanjaro right below International School Moshi. Bungalowlike rooms with good size, Clean rooms and excellent service. Beautiful parklike surroundings, it feels safe and inviting. 10 mins by taxi to the centre of Moshi and a perfect place to relax prior to or after climbing, safari or whatever you've done.

Breakfast is ok although not great. However, standard breakfast in Africa is in general at a pretty low level so its still better than the average, but its not even close to what we expect in Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sven Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews