We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly and impeccably clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Twiga Home

Twiga Home
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Twiga Home
Ranked #16 of 48 Moshi B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly and impeccably clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Absolutely great value, good food, friendly staff and high standards of cleanliness. Absolutely no complaints. An airport shuttle is available at good value, as are shuttles to moshi town and the surrounding area.

Would thoroughly recommend for anyone wanting a great value, friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenhan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
9
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Honestly, we didn't expect luxury so acommodation was better then we expected. Some were complaining for slow food service, but in time we all learned in Africa everything is pole pole (slowly). Stuff was friendly and very helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sne_Mil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

A basic hostel, not expensive and very friendly people, willing to help and flexible about mealtimes. I have visited twice and some of the staff have been the same. Welcomed the quiet residential area and the regular minibus service into Moshi town centre.

Room Tip: Choose one with AC but realise that the electricity in Tanzania can be erratic. Don't judge by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitegate, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We used this hostel as a base before the Kilimanjaro climb and then before the safari. The staff really friendly. The rooms small, but comfortable. We had one with fan and ensuite. I don`t like AC, and fan was enough anyway. The breakfast is excellent. A nice chill-out place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kissmagdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The room was filthy, from the dirt on the walls to the slime in the bathroom, from the bugs in the "wardrobe" to the nasty, nasty sheet over the mattress that I care not to remember that I slept on. Yuck.

Not to mention the A/C broke, on, so we actually froze since there was no real bedding to speak of.

We arrived the same night as the Kilimanjaro Marathon, so all of the other hotels were booked. Otherwise we absolutely would have left.

Not to mention the termites swarming all over my hair during dinner at their restaurant...

Stay somewhere else. Anywhere else.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

The only thing this hostel has going for it is the manager, who is professional (hard to come by in Africa) and beyond helpful. The only problem is she's never there!

Go for the AC rooms as the fans are small, loud and just blow around hot air. And it's HOT in Moshi. The 'restaurant' menu has a very good looking selection of food; however, if you order something you're more than likely going to be told it's unavailable (the manager did tell me they were in the process of changing the menu). Also, it appears to give you two breakfast options. But, you really only have one - a fried egg, bread, one sausage, and fruit. Not sure why they list an option "B".

One night my friend and I came back to the hostel to see that all the tables/chairs were removed from the common area and were being used for some kind of family reunion/event at the front of the house. It was awkward, we were paying to be there yet felt like we were intruding on someone's family. The staff was not there to attend to us that night, and if we wanted something had to interrupt the event. It was strange.

The morning after the 'party' NONE of the staff showed up to work. There was no one to make breakfast so all guests were just sitting around waiting. Finally, around 9am one of the guests called the manager who informed us she'd send someone (not hard because they seem to live at the hostel). They apologized and said they'd been working late the night before.. ummm.. you still have to show up to work!!

Also, the shuttle never operates according to the schedule so don't depend on it. There were a couple days the shuttle was not in service - no explanation given either.

This hostel has a lot of potential. Unfortunately, the incompetent, apathetic staff ruins what few positive qualities there are. I've traveled a lot throughout Africa and do not have high expectations - especially in budget travel environments. However, Twiga was the epitome of unprofessionalism and disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaROK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwigaHome, Public Relations Manager at Twiga Home, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Since February 2012 there is a permanent manager at Twiga Home, July who is around 7 days per week.

The problem with the restaurant occured because the permanent and lengthy electricity cutoffs in Moshi made it hard to store any food items. As freezers and fridges require a lot of electricity, we cannot run them on the emergency power generator. This problem has been solved already with the help of ice pack elements that we brought from Europe (not available in Tanzania) which guarantee that food can be stored at hygienically safe temperatures for up to 48 hours even without electricity.

We are not offering Twiga Home for conferences any more as this interfered with our accommodation guests, so we stopped conferences altogether.

The shuttle service is now operating as published.

There is always a learning processes in any new business, but we are trying hard to improve and apologize for any inconveniences caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Outside of town, so u'll need taxi or shuttle, which you can arrange at the hotel. Food and room are so-so, at night you can hear dogs fighting in horror... its very creepy. Staff is kind and friendly.
[u]But I especially recommend that you ask about Steven.[/u] Its the young local guide who takes you in the forests under Kilimanjaro, on the vay he shows you different plant that locals use, then u visit home of his friend Oscar and make your own coffe including roasting and smashing seeds... very nice!
Then if u want, Steven takes u to the waterfall and if u have guts u can swim under it or even go behind the waterfall! The feeling of that is incredible! If u want, he can show u even the local pub and drink banana wine or banan beer with locals. So worth every dollar!
So ask about Steven and u'll experiance true nature of sub Kili Africa. 6 stars for him!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
2.1 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.0 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tembotamu B&B
Tembotamu B&B
#1 of 48 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twiga Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Home

Property: Twiga Home
Address: Soweto Area, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twiga Home is a friendly and new budget accommodation in Moshi/Kilimanjaro. We have 14 clean and modern rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, hot showers and ceiling fans. There are AC and non-AC rooms. We offer free Wi-Fi and free town shuttle transfers. We are located in a quiet residential area with an attractive garden and 24 h security. Our outdoor bar and restaurant offer international and African dishes, drinks and refreshments at very competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Twiga Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twiga Home Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing