We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt like home”
Review of Honey Badger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honey Badger Lodge
Ranked #1 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“felt like home”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I stayed at the Honey Badger Lodge for 3 weeks whilst doing volunteer work with the Second Chance Education Centre which is behind the lodge. From the minute that I arrived I was taken care of (my bags didn't show up with me and Jenny, the owner immediately gave me some of hers) and felt as though I was part of the family straight away. The staff became my friends and Jenny & Joey were the most amazing hosts. The whole atmosphere of Honey Badger was awesome - the grounds make you feel as though you could either spend the day being pampered and sitting by the pool (or conversely do one of the many activities in Moshi that the Lodge offers), the rooms are comfortable and the food was so good I wanted to take the Chef, Florence, home with me. As a solo traveller not once was I by myself. There was always travellers coming through with great stories and everyone sat together at dinner time like a big community, as if we hadn't just met the day before.
Working at Second Chance Education Centre was one of the best things I have ever done in my life - the kids were so beautiful and wanting to learn about everything they could get their hands on. There is no doubt that i'll be coming back to the school and Honey Badger. Thanks so much Jenny, Joey and Amos!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
We miss you already! The students have asked after you already as well. Thank you for your hard work volunteering and for bringing a smile to so many people's faces. We wish you all the best in your future endeavours and look forward to seeing yourself and your family back here in a few years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    78
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
80
92
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I have recently returned from Tanzania and spent a few nights at Honeybadger. We don’t often bother to write reviews (pure laziness on our behalf) but felt compelled to do a quick write up after our fantastic stay at this lodge. We stayed in one of the private rooms which were great, very comfortable and clean. The pool area was like a welcome oasis in the desert, a great place to unwind and enjoy a bit of downtime before our Safari and Kili adventures which the owners of Honeybadger arranged for us (thanks Joey and Jenny)! What we really liked about the lodge was its community commitment, helping the local schools to benefit from tourism in the area. We had the opportunity to meet some of the students (hello Irene and Mercedes!!) who also helped to make items for sale in the gift shop, a great idea of how the local communities can work together with business owners to help better their own circumstances. I can’t say much more than what a breath of fresh air, would certainly recommend the lodge to any travellers passing through. Thanks again to all those who made our trip so enjoyable and stress free!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamsyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thank you for choosing to come and stay with us. We are so glad you and your husband had chance to unwind and relax. It was a pleasure to meet you and to organise your trips for you, we loved your enthusiasm for getting involved and our staff very much enjoyed getting to know you. We really hope you will be able to come back again in the not so distant future... next time to the summit!!! (although the day trip was a good alternative on this trip!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed there for a week whilst doing a climb to the Kili Base Camp, safari in Ngorogorou and also the the secret hot springs. All were good recommendations from the lodge owners Jenny and Joey who couldn't be more helpful, they really know the area inside out which stopped me making the mistakes I normally make.
the lodge itself had a nice new swimming pool (unexpectedly) and a friendly bar/restaurant area which made it easy to meet other people who all had tales to tell about their climb or adventure. It's the sort of place you can go to by yourself and it doesn't matter, super friendly vibe. The locals who work there really enjoy being there and the school the lodge supports next door means you feel good about where your money goes for a change!
Fab place and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikevyver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thank you for your review, we really valued your visits. Joseph and I, as well as all our staff LOVED having you here, especially when you got behind the bar to serve us!!! And not to mention when you showed the local school your skills on the frisbee pitch! We look forward to welcoming you back here again one day. Many many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed here as a solo traveller just last week. I loved it from the get go. It was beautiful and relaxing and the owners Joey and Jenny made sure that they spoke to you to give it a very homely feel. I organised my Kili trek through the lodge and it was fantastic. They were very responsive and catered well to my needs. I also participated in a cooking class at the lodge which was great fun. I doubt that you could get better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We very much enjoyed having you here. You did so well on your trek and came down looking as fresh as you went up!!! Looking forward to seeing you again when you pass through on your overland truck travels. Enjoy the travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We enjoyed our time there. It is good value for money, with nice facilities. Electricity outages are common in Africa, but most of the time there is hot water for showers and power to charge your laptops.It is a great camping site for overlanders passing through, and a good place to meet people and hear interesting travel stories.
The owners, Joe and Jenny, are most welcoming and provide lots of information on anything you need to know.
It's definitely a place to come back to if in the area.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OneFunkyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thank you for your review and kind words about our campsite. We really enjoyed meeting you and really do hope one day you will pass through again. Many thanks, Jenny and Joey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed at the Honey Badger Lodge on the first and last night of our Kilimanjaro hike in a adorable little cottage. The rooms and facilities are spotless clean, pretty and decorated with much effort. The pool area, where you also can have breakfast and dinner is a great place to chill. We enjoyed the Kilimanjaro beers there and the outdoor shower in banana plants. They have internet and kids will love the "tortoise kindergarten" in the garden. All together a peaceful little oasis.

The owner Jenny knows who to call for flights, excursions and helped us out a lot. The family also runs the "Second chance primary school" behind the premises, which we visited. Great choice for all that want to support community friendly tourism.

Room Tip: We loved room no 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedptyltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thank you for your review, we very much appreciate your kind words about the lodge and our work. Your support continues to help us support the School and for that we are very grateful. We very much welcome you back to visit whenever you can. All the very best, Jenny, Joey and the family

PS we have had lots more requests for room 10!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Only nice words to describe Honey Badger!
1 . Jenny proved very nice from the first e-mail she sent me
2 . The lodge is a lovely place to rest after a trip in the Kilimanjaro area
3 . People are very kind and warm, all the staff is fantastic
4 . The safari they organized for us was perfect and we really loved it
5 . The coffee tour was a great way to get to know a little part of real life in Tanzania
6 . Last but not least, the second chance is a great school project and we are happy we could give a little contribution to it with our holiday @ honey badger.

Asante sana to Jenny, Joseph and all the staff there!

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and clean, the camping area too is comforable and safe within the lodge precints
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
We feel very lucky to meet people like yourselves. Thank you for the kind detailed review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and welcome you back to Tanzania and honey badger whenever you can make it. We really enjoyed hosting your trip and thank you on behalf of the staff and the school. Warm wishes to you both, Jenny, Joey, the family and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
3.0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
232 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
4.7 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#10 of 16 in Moshi
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
176 reviews
8.3 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#2 of 71 in Moshi
313 reviews
12.9 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 71 in Moshi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Badger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Badger Lodge

Property: Honey Badger Lodge
Address: Moshi/Dar Es Salaam Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Badger Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is a family run, solar powered oasis situated just outside Moshi town (Tanzania) with breathtaking views of Mount Kilimanjaro. Our grounds are spacious and gardens are lush providing guests with a lovely natural relaxing environment. Our location enables guests to experience rural life in Tanzania and therefore feel they are more in touch with the country they are visiting. We are THE BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION OPTION IN THE REGION. We offer tailored made mountain climbing and safari packages and a wide variety of local and cultural tours and activities. These include: coffee tours, trips to visit waterfalls, hot springs, caves and blacksmiths. forest and village walks, African banquets, drumming and dancing shows, cooking, drumming and dancing lessons and more. The best part is, when you choose to support us you are inadvertently supporting local community development initiatives. The directors of Honey Badger have over 12 years of experience in the field of community development and public health and are working hard to ensure Honey Badger is an integral part of the community and its development. We also have volunteer placements for those interested in staying longer and getting involved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honey Badger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Badger Hotel Moshi
Honey Badger Lodge Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing