We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life long friends made”
Review of Honey Badger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Honey Badger Lodge
Ranked #2 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The Honey Badger hotel is a safe, clean, and quiet place that is family owned and gives back to the community in many ways. My stay was only that of a few weeks in Tanzania but i had spent enough time to get to know the staff and i must say that these are some of the nicest people i had met. Manu, Anderson, and Daudi realy helped work with my situation so that my group was well taken care of.
Their dorms are decently priced for the quick stay and the rooms are awesome with more than reasonable rates as well. Thanks again guys!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank lyvewyrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our lodge and our staff. We will certainly let the guys know what you said and i know that they would be happy to have you return whenever you can. Thank you also for taking the time to reply, we really do appreciate feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Been back to Honey Badger again, it just gets better! Rooms have been personalised, and a great improvement is there is a safe in the room now. Soaps were from local women's group which is a lovely touch. The cocktails get better too, as well as the pizza's - a lovely treat when so far from home. I'll be back again soon. I did a couple of safaris/trips arranged by Amos, and they were just right for me, and perfectly organised. It really is a home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to do this, again! We are glad that you liked the improvements we have made, and keep making. Also we are pleased to note that the trips Amos arranged for you fitted your requests - we will let him know. We will be happy when you return as the cocktail menu keeps changing too and needs testing - again. Best Wishes Mannu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Hands down, the Honey Badger is the most comfortable, relaxing, and enjoyable place to stay in Moshi. From spacious rooms to a refreshing pool, the facilities are amazing. But what really made the experience worth while was the care that the staff worked with. I felt like family and was treated as such. Thank you HBL for a great place to stay and I will 100% be back soon. To any traveller, I fully recommend this resort and encourage you to contact me at jackson.mcdonough@hotmail.com if you have any questions or concerns about the place! I would be happy to share my knowledge! Couldn't imagine staying any where else!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feed back and we are really glad that you had a good stay with us, and even better, that you plan to return. We will pass your comments on to our staff and look forward to seeing you again whenever you can make it. Best regards Jenny & Joey
PS glad that Kilimanjaro put on a good show for you, she is often quite shy and hides behinds the clouds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed at the lodge for 10 days in july this year while on a school trip. The service was amazing and Jenny and Joseph along with the other staff were very welcoming and friendly! The rooms were lovely, clean and nicely decorated, not to mention the pool area which was so pretty. Plus just a 2 minute walk to the end of the road there is an amazing view of Mt Kilimanjaro!! It was amazing and i will definitely be returning as soon as possible!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Rhona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feed back and we are really glad that you had a good stay with us, and even better, that you plan to return. We will pass your comments on to our staff and look forward to seeing you again whenever you can make it. Best regards Jenny & Joey
PS glad that Kilimanjaro put on a good show for you, she is often quite shy and hides behinds the clouds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed at the Honey Badger Lodge before & after Kilimanjaro trek, staff couldn't have been more friendly & helpful, from the initial online booking which was handled very efficiently by the Manger Mannu.

Stayed in two different rooms during my stay, both done out in African style, very comfortable, & loved the little touches like the filtered water to cut down on plastic bottle usage & the handmade soap made by a locals women's project.
Good value for money, large tasty breakfast included in room price with endless supply of tea/coffee.

Booked an airport pick as arrived on a late flight, staff from the lodge were waiting for me outside arrivals.

Great bar & food ordered throughout stay was fantastic, I recommend the pizza's
Lovely well kept garden & grounds for relaxing, with a popular swimming pool also used by day visitors.

While the hotel is situated on the outskirts of Moshi it's only a 10min taxi ride away from the town centre.
Electricity supply can be variable in Tanzania, there was a number of power cuts during my stay, this is no fault of the lodge which handled the problem very well by using solar panels to power lighting in rooms.

Was made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, had toothache after Kili trek & without a second thought staff organized a taxi & accompanied me to a local clinic to get it checked out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzungujamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay with us, and we are happy that you enjoyed it so much and took the time to do this review. Hope that the tooth ache is now gone for good and that you get the chance to come back to see us at Honey Badger - you will be most welcome anytime. jenny & Joey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had a great time! Not only are the lodges, the pool, the food, the surroundings great, the best part were the people! Everybody was so sweet and very willing to make everybody as comfortable as possible.
only difficult part was that is somewhat outside of moshi town, so taxi's are neccesary.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to do this review. We are always happy to hear feedback and we will certainly pass your comments on to our staff. We hope that you are able to revisit us again sometime in the future. Jenny & Joey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for four nights after a Kili trek. Jenny, Joseph and their fabulous staff made our stay a truly personal experience. On arrival, we were given a drink and a lovely flannel to refresh ourselves and then taken down to our room.
The rooms were traditional African rooms in style - the beds had mosquito nets which was needed as I was eaten alive in the evenings outside. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms basic but perfectly functional and there was plenty of storage. The only downside was that there is no air conditioning and it was, at times, unbearable hot. But this is a property that prides itself on producing the majority of energy it uses and so, along with the community projects the Honey Badger supports, you kind of feel that you are part of it in going without a few little luxuries.
The location was not an issue to me. I prefer to experience some of the country I've come to visit and so to stay in a commercial hotel in the centre of Moshi was not my thing. The Honey Badger is a 5 minute taxi ride into down ($5) and so not an issue. The staff are happy to arrange a car for you and the driver will come back for you whenever - there is no issues.
Walking trips can be arranged from the lodge - everything from Kilimanjaro to waterfalls and inbetween. It was fabulous to be able to wander out of the gate and be in REAL Africa. The locals were friendly and we didn't feel threatened at any point.
We booked a day safari trip to Arusha which was excellent and our driver, Nixon, was the best African driver we'd experienced (others tend to dice with death). We had a fabulous day and although there is no lions, etc in Arusha, it was a great experience in the limited time we had. We sat overlooking the lake eating our lunch, with hippo wallowing in the background one way and giraffe striding across the plain the other. It was perfect.
The food is of excellent standard - breakfast is included in the rate and is of a high standard. Lunch is from a simple menu but with plenty of choice and dinner is a fixed 3 course affair that you have to order by 4pm. Dinner is served at 7pm, all together with other guests - it's a real family affair. When we stayed, we had the pleasure of Joseph's mother dining and she is a real character - it all added to the atmosphere and made it personal, which is lacking in so many places these days. If you didn't like the main meal on offer, there was no fuss, they were happy to fix you a sandwich or something simple.
The bar was open all hours - basically, if you wanted a drink you could get one. The barmen and security staff were fantastically entertaining (we learnt how to dance like a Maasai warrior) and they showed us fascinating photos of life back in their tribe. We also learned some simple Swahili and had great fun teaching them some English.
Finally, the pool area. The pool area was beautiful with wooden hammock style loungers with cushioned pads on top (tremendously comfortable) and the pool was pristinely clean. It was very therapeutic to sip a drink while watching a lizard or monkey at a short distance.
There was nothing about this place that I disliked - it was fabulous and I will be back.

Room Tip: Sleep quality is reduced purely because of the intense heat we suffered some nights. As I said, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback and your comments, We really do appreciate to hear from our guests. Glad you were able to enjoy the family feel of Honey Badger, it is what we try to share with our guests. The hot nights in Moshi only last for a few months of the year and it seems you hit the hot ones, 'pole'. As you already said, we do try to be environmentally conscious and therefore we opt for fans, which I hope you found helped a bit. We enjoyed having you to stay and hope that you will be able to visit us again sometime soon. Mama Lucy was thrilled to hear you found her entertaining. Karibuni Jenny and Joey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
3.1 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
242 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
7.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 17 in Moshi
50 reviews
12.2 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#2 of 17 in Moshi
35 reviews
4 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 75 in Moshi
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Badger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Badger Lodge

Address: Moshi/Dar Es Salaam Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Price Range: £43 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Badger Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is a family run, solar powered oasis situated just outside Moshi town (Tanzania) with breathtaking views of Mount Kilimanjaro. Our grounds are spacious and gardens are lush providing guests with a lovely natural relaxing environment. Our location enables guests to experience rural life in Tanzania and therefore feel they are more in touch with the country they are visiting. We are THE BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION OPTION IN THE REGION. We offer tailored made mountain climbing and safari packages and a wide variety of local and cultural tours and activities. These include: coffee tours, trips to visit waterfalls, hot springs, caves and blacksmiths. forest and village walks, African banquets, drumming and dancing shows, cooking, drumming and dancing lessons and more. The best part is, when you choose to support us you are inadvertently supporting local community development initiatives. The directors of Honey Badger have over 12 years of experience in the field of community development and public health and are working hard to ensure Honey Badger is an integral part of the community and its development. We also have volunteer placements for those interested in staying longer and getting involved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honey Badger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Badger Hotel Moshi
Honey Badger Lodge Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing