We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honey Badger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Honey Badger Lodge
Ranked #1 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Park Ridge, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

A group of us stayed at the Honey Badger for three days. The rooms are large, clean and bright. The staff were all very nice and friendly. They had fun and interesting cocktails everyday. Breakfast was fresh with lots of fresh fruit and juices and omelet choices. The pool looked beautiful but I never had the opportunity to use it. The grounds were beautiful with views of Mount Kilimanjaro and monkeys playing in the trees. I would defiantly recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. We very much enjoyed hosting you and your group. Honey Badger is a great setting for groups as we have so much space for people to spread out and relax. Thank you for your warm comments and we very much hope that we can welcome you back one day,
Warmest regards
Jenny and Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    75
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
87
42
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Honey Badger must have some of the best staff in Africa. We were there for ten days and saw how they dealt with some very difficult demanding clients with smiles and patience. Yes the internet was hit and miss in February but that was due to the freak weather conditions. The Honey Badger is an authentic place to stay with quality service. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for once again taking the time to review our lodge. We always enjoy hosting you and are already looking forward to your next visit. We have worked on the internet issues and have moved the satellite so that the weather is less likely to disturb the signal. We are glad that you enjoy our staff, we are proud of our hard working team.

Once again we look forward to welcoming you back,
Warmest regards
Jenny, Joey and the whole family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We arrived late our first night from our 20+ hour flight. The road leading to the lodge makes you wonder where the heck you are going (rough). When we arrived the staff were aware enough to see we were exhausted and allowed us check-in in the morning.

The morning was wonderful. Monkeys playing around our room, lush gardens, everything seemed to look great. Our room was more then adequate, the included breakfast was more then expected, and seemed very personable. I was extremely happy with our choice. When we returned from our hike, a few annoyances creeped in which we didn't see early on. But to simplify….

Why you should stay here…
- they have a pool…period. Rare in these parts, it was a great place to wind down.
- overall, clean rooms. The gardens were great as well.
- The pizza! They should have this everyday!! So good.
- The breakfast…never disappointed us.
- A few of the staff were great. Never got any names, but one tall skinny guy working in the evenings was very aware of any issues. We liked him, and he spoke good english.

Some of the small issues…

- Service was very hit and miss. It seemed like anytime we needed something, the staff was either counting money on the desk, calculating "something", counting bills…and so forth. We really had to make an effort to get their attention. it was particularly hard to get our checked baggage when needed.
- The pool was ALWAYS full of 20 something European "volunteers". They took all the beds, and the focus seemed to be taken away from the full paying customers. In my opinion, this hotel needs focus…on either volunteers for the orphanage, or serving the actual customers paying FULL board. Also, the pool over the weekends was FULL of kids. Just a heads up the pool is public to anyone for a fee.
- Internet is very hit and miss, though I understand this can't be fully controlled, it was just one of our annoyances.

Would we stay here again…probably, when comparing to what we heard from others, this place is right up there with a few others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlechilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge at such great length, we very much value your feedback and candid comments. We are glad you enjoyed your rooms and the gardens as well as the other aspects of our lodge. we would like to take a small moment to reflect on your important comments that you highlighted. Firstly the service - we hear what you are saying concerning our staff taking some time in each shift to organise the paper work, currently they do this whilst at the bar, however we do appreciate what you are saying and have addressed this with the team. They will no longer do this while in front of guests. Secondly concerning the influx of volunteers over the weekend, the weekend you were here in question was a particularly busy time (as it was very hot and our pool is often cited as the best in Moshi), and this is the first time we have had this comment. But as you mention it is a hard balance to make between allowing the Moshi community to enjoy the place as well as catering to our very important lodge guests. Our priority is of course with the lodge guests and we are now closing the pool to non residents when he lodge is full, further we are continuing to discuss the way forward with this issue and it is likely that during the high season our poolside will be for residents only. Thank you for your views on this. Finally concerning the internet, we are working on this and as mentioned in another response we have taken a number of steps to improve this service as we know how important the internet is to our clients.

We are glad to hear that enjoyed your stay enough to want to come back and enjoy Honey Badger again and of course we warmly welcome you.

Warmest regards,
Jenny and Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Honey Badger and the experience was tremendous. The facilities and food were great. Rooms large, excellent beds, wonderful relaxing pool.
During our stay we took part in three one day excursions (coffee plantation, caves and waterfall, 1day on Kilimanjaro) all of which were great. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly, lunches and water were provided. Amos, who manages the tours, did a great job meeting with us before each event to brief us on what to expect and to ensure that everything was in place for a great event.
The highlight however was the 6 day camping safari that they organized for us. The four of us were the only people on the tour. This created a great experience avoiding the challenges when you take a large group with differing expectations. They provided a driver/guide for us as well as a cook. And all the camping equipment required (they arranged for us to rent sleeping bags so the at we did not have to bring them with us). The experience was awesome. George, the guide and driver, has to be the best around . He was extremely knowledgeable and patient. His patience and knowledge resulted in us having some exquisite wildlife sightings. We saw the big 5, the big 9, and the 5 ugly. The big five included 13 rhinos, totally amazing. His driving skills allowed us to have some great photo opportunities.
The staff were great, efficient and attentive. Honey Badgers commitment to give back to the community, and management's commitment to their staff were clearly evident and added to the quality of the experience. We would love to go back.
Thanks Amos, Joseph, Jenny, Anderson,Amos, George and Rama for giving so much. It was the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: We had the free standing cottage. It is a bit bigger than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Manager at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and to share your Honey Badger experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip and thank you for the details that you include in your review. We really feel that you capture the essence of what we are striving to achieve, namely a quality personalized yet professional experience tailor made to your requirements and including a genuine African flavour. We very much enjoyed hosting you and are happy that your trip met your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back sometime and wish you all the very best,
Warmest regards
Jenny, Joseph and the whole Honey Badger team


About Us | Careers | Business Listings | Mobile Upgrade | Review Express | Advertising
© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved. TripAdvisor Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our
Submit


About Us | Careers | Business Listings | Mobile Upgrade | Review Express | Advertising
© 2014 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved. TripAdvisor Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... (more)
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
site... (more)
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
family enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed hosting you. We very much appreciate your detailed comments and are grateful that you highlight aspects of your trip that are so important to us; namely a personalized high quality service whilst also offering a real homely feel and an authentic African experience.

We hope you had a comfortable journey home and of course welcome you, your family and your friends back any time,

Warmest regards
Jenny, Joey and the whole Honey badger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Honey Badger, yes, is nice with a very friendly staff. It's a bit pricier than other Moshi options but you get your money's worth: rooms are big and clean, the bar and pool are great and the kitchen makes good food.

Its location is a bit of a downfall though. It's a GOOD 6km out of town - over an hours' walk (or a 10,000 TSH cab ride). There aren't really any other restaurants within walking distance and HB only offers one meal choice for dinner (a met and veg option) for 15,000 per person (which was much more than we've spent on dinner anywhere in Tanzania). So you're either stuck ordering appetizers for dinner or spending the 15,000 per person on their offered dinner option. (They do serve pizzas on the weekends).

If you want to book any tours, you're stuck going through them or hiring a cab into town to find something on your own. (we found cheaper options for tours in town).

After two nights here, we moved to town for our budget's sake.

So, if money isn't really a concern, absolutely stay here - it's great. (The out of town location is an advantage as there aren't any tour guides hounding you here like you'll find every time you step onto the street in Moshi town).

In searching for other places to stay in Moshi, we noticed a few of the out of town lodgings offer a daily (free) shuttle to town or bicycles so guests could get to town without paying so much for a cab. Those would be great ideas for HB!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. We very much appreciate receiving your feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to respond to a few of the issues that you raised. Firstly our lodge is exactly 6kms from town and only costs 50 US cents to reach town on public transport which can be conveniently taken from the end of the road. An option many of our guests enjoy. Secondly concerning the food, we are glad that you enjoyed the food. In line with us being both environmentally and community conscious we have opted for a set menu which reduces the waste that is caused by a larger a la carte menu, something that just seems wrong given the community in which we live. However should any guest not like the option on a given day, our kitchen is flexible and can make different options should they be asked. Your comment on the price surprised us, our 3 course, hearty meal costs less than $10 per person, something that you cannot get in town anywhere else. Finally concerning your comments about tours being cheaper in town. It is possible to find cheaper trips in town, we can guarantee that these will be from unlicensed touts and companies. Such operators are able to do this owing to the lack of overheads, registration fees and often unfair remuneration of their teams. As one of Moshi’s reputable and fully licensed companies we are committed to providing a quality guarantee not just to the clients but to our staff and to the communities to who we visit.
We once again thank you for taking the time to review our lodge and we wish you all the very best
Warm regards
The Honey Badger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have to be honest the only reason we booked the Honey Badger was because of the name, but it turned out to be better than expected! Great rooms, friendly staff, delicious food and drinks, and relaxing pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Really sorry you didn't get to see a Honey Badger for real,( there not the friendliest of animals anyway) but glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, You are welcome back anytime. Karibuni
Jenny & Joey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here with the family and grandchildren over christmas prior to going on safari. ttis a really great place to chill out. Great rooms , great pool and really nice environment. The staff are really helpful and can arrange any trips for you. Short taxi ride into Moshi. Would be a great place to recuperate after a Killy trip. We were there for 6 days and the food got a bit boring . If they addressed the food choices it would be difficult to fault this place

Room Tip: room size can vary so check out and ask to move if you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1dickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and found us a relaxing place to rest after your climb. This is what we intend to achieve for all our mountain climbing and safari guests as well as those who just want a break away somewhere that they can feel at home and get a real sense of African hospitality. We are sorry that you found the food a little boring and of course take your comments on board. At Honey Badger we offer a fusion of African and international cuisine, in order to reduce wastage and to encourage a family feel we use a set menu (which changes daily) and where possible encourage our guests to dine together to share stories and experiences. We also have a snack menu and offer pizza at the weekends. We are currently reviewing our menu and are intending to include more choices on the set menu but also do encourage our guests to speak with our team should they not be happy with the choices that we put on offer each day. We are continuing to train our kitchen team (many of whom are locally hired and not professionally trained) on different dishes and to expand our options. We try and be as flexible as possible to the needs of our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we warmly welcome you back to the lodge whenever you can,

Warmest regards
Jenny, Joseph and the whole Honey Badger Teanm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
3.7 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.5 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
134.7 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.5 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
5.4 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Badger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Badger Lodge

Property: Honey Badger Lodge
Address: Moshi/Dar Es Salaam Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Badger Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is a family run, solar powered oasis situated just outside Moshi town (Tanzania) with breathtaking views of Mount Kilimanjaro. Our grounds are spacious and gardens are lush providing guests with a lovely natural relaxing environment. Our location enables guests to experience rural life in Tanzania and therefore feel they are more in touch with the country they are visiting. We are THE BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION OPTION IN THE REGION. We offer tailored made mountain climbing and safari packages and a wide variety of local and cultural tours and activities. These include: coffee tours, trips to visit waterfalls, hot springs, caves and blacksmiths. forest and village walks, African banquets, drumming and dancing shows, cooking, drumming and dancing lessons and more. The best part is, when you choose to support us you are inadvertently supporting local community development initiatives. The directors of Honey Badger have over 12 years of experience in the field of community development and public health and are working hard to ensure Honey Badger is an integral part of the community and its development. We also have volunteer placements for those interested in staying longer and getting involved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Honey Badger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Badger Hotel Moshi
Honey Badger Lodge Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing