We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt. Kilimanjaro and Honey Badger Lodge”
Review of Honey Badger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honey Badger Lodge
Ranked #1 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mt. Kilimanjaro and Honey Badger Lodge”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Honey Badger was AMAZING. Wonderful staff, beautiful grounds, safe and comfortable. Internet access. The food is outstanding.

They also arranged our climb of Mt. Kilimanjaro. We had two great guides Nikko and David with Milestone, who are hired regularly by Honey Badger. (Ask for them, they're THE BEST.) They have an almost 100% success rate--in all the hundreds of times they've been up the mountain they've only had 2 people didn't go all the way to the peak, which is an incredible record, so they will get you to the top! They met us at Honey Badger the day before for orientation and went through everything with us. We had a cook and 13 porters for 3 of us. Food was amazing. We even had a dining tent with a table and stools.

Also Honey Badger offers cheap and amazing massages by Tracey. She even took us around town when we got back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing our lodge. We are so glad that you enjoyed your climb with us and also at how highly you rate our climbing team. We guarantee satisfaction on all our activities so are driven to achieve just that. We hope that you are both well and of course welcome you back to come and visit whenever that may be possible.

All the very best
Joey, Jenny and the Honey Badger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    76
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
79
89
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moshi, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Honey Badger has absolutely everything you could hope for in a hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and loved it all. The staff are so warm and friendly, the food is fabulous and the pool is amazing! It has such a nice vibe, very relaxed and friendly and you just feel completely at home. Moshi itself is a cool little town with lots to see and do, but it can be a bit stressful and it's nice to be able to come back to your hotel and just chill out. It's run by a really nice family and they do everything they can to make you feel at home!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our lodge and also for the highest acclaim that you give us! We are truley flattered and of course immensely proud. We work hard to ensure all our guests leave Honey Badger and their trips with Milestone Safaris with a smile on their face.

We hope we can welcome you back soon
With our best wishes
Joseph and all the HB and Milestone crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, excellent staff and opportunity to get involved in lots of local volunteering projects. Staff are warm welcominf and try to teach youo their local language. Rooms are beautiful and the pool an bar area are luxury in the nddle of the African village od Msaranga. Internet access and electricity is pretty great for African standards. I loved this place, perfect distance from the town (10mins in taxi) in a safe area with beautiful views of kilimanjaro and a great ppace to.meet other travelers from all over the world!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind words and for the time you took to review our lodge. We are delighted that you found our place "perfect" and that you were able to really relax with us. That is of course our aim.

We hope that one day you can come back again or if not then of course please recommend us to your friends and family so that we can continue to host people in comfort and style.

Warmeat regards
Jenny and Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I visited Honey Badger for the first time last month and really loved the atmosphere. Leafy and green and lovely! The staff are friendly, professional, smart young Tanzanians. The pool is gorgeous on a hot dusty day, cool and bubbling through with clean water. You may find a small troupe of harmless monkeys in the pool room nibbling on a bit of banana peel and playing with the curtains.

My room was clean, with a simple colourful design, mosquito net and spray, though there are few mosquitoes about.

The food is tasty reasonably priced, with Western options like pizza but also incorporating local specialties like chapatis and vegetables (my favourite!). And a lovely bar with huge tree-stump bar stools accommodating any sized bottom, with an array of drinks and some excellent cocktails.

Can't say enough about Honey Badger!!! I love the balance they have struck between local empowerment and training and excellent service. I also like that there are local cultural activities on offer.

Had such a relaxing stay and highly highly recommend for anyone looking for a chilled out spot from where to take safaris and trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicity T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Asante sana for your review and for highlighting some.key areas of our work. We are delighted that you not only enjoyed our place but also the great team of people we are fortunate to work with... Joseph and I passionately believe in investing in people and are committed to build capacity in our staff not only professionally but also for them in the personal lives so that they and their families' can develop and grow.

We hope that you will one day come back and visit us and wish you all the beat with your future ventures

All the very best
Jenny and Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Fabulous place to stay! Nice family run business tucked at the end of a road with great service. Would highly recommend. Great facility, clean rooms, comfortable beds and excellent food. People who worked there were friendly and really worked hard to please you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annekraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star rating and your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Of course we would always love to welcome you back so if it is possible to travel to Tanzania again please do not hesitate to get in touch.

With warm greetings for all the team
Jenny, Joey and the whole crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I just spent a great week at Honey Badger Lodge which I will never forget!
The room was a beautifully furnished and spacious African style hut offering all I needed for a pleasant stay.
The Lodge also offeres a wide range of different activities such as safaris, mountain climbing and other tours and the booking procedure is very uncomplicated. I was very happy participating the "Moshi Forest Tour", "Waterfall Trip", "Chemka Hot Springs" as well as a day trip to Mt. Kilimanjaro. All trips are definitely worth the money!! Never seen such beautiful places in my life before...
Moreover I spent some relaxing hours at the pool which is kept clean carefully by the staff and enjoyed loads of meals at the restaurant. Food was very delicious!!
And last but definitely not least the staff... never met such friendly people before!! From the very first minute they treated me rather as a friend than any guest. Special thanks to Gisela, Angel, Daudi and Anderson and the rest of the Honey Badger Crew for having so much fun!
Definitly will come back to Honey Badger Lodge again!
Wish you all the best,
Vera

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We so appreciate the time you have taken to write this review and for your very kind words and of course your opinion about us being number 1. We would also very much like to be reinstated at the top spot! Thank you also for your kind words about our staff, our team very much enjoyed having you here and of course welcome you back whenever you can.

Warmest regards
Joseph, Jenny and the whole Honey Badger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Had high hopes for the place after returning from a dusty safari. Sadly several aspects did not live up to me and my gf's expectations.

We were put in the large hut room 5. The bathroom was separated from the bed by a simple mud wall with no doors which spread a moldy smell in the room. The mosquito net had large holes which let through all sort of insects and my gf got several bites. The food was quite bland (maybe we were unlucky that night? The safari food tasted better) and the staff was very inflexible with the breakfast time (latest 0930 which kind of ruined our idea to sleep in). WiFi was super slow but perhaps not directly their fault.

On the positive side the shower was great, bed was nice and we got a late checkout around noon, pool seemed very nice.

Location out of town, cost around 6$ one way. Unless you're going for the pool then I recommended one of the top ranked guesthouses in town instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoneyBadgerLodge, Owner at Honey Badger Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that your stay at the lodge did not live up to your expectations. Of course we are also sorry that you did not mention any of these concerns whilst you were here at the lodge therefore enabling us to address them then and there and therefore ensuing you enjoyed the standard that we expect at Honey Badger. We are surprised that you did not enjoy our highly acclaimed 'honeymoon suite' (a name given to it by our guests), we have investigated your claims concerning the moldy smell and the holes in the net and find neither are a problem. The nets are in tact and are all treated with insecticide thereby increasing their effectiveness. The room is located in our lush gardens and perhaps the smell you are referring to was the earthy gardens after some of the heavy rains we are currently experiencing. Concerning the food and the flexibility of the timing for breakfast, again we are surprised by both comments, our kitchen is as flexible as it can be and has been known to offer breakfast as late as 10.30am. Obviously they still need to have time to set up for lunch and there are very few hotels that we know that serve breakfast right up until lunch time. Finally, many people enjoy our location out of town, the journey takes only 15 minutes and takes you away from the pester of the bustle. You recommend that people should choose a 'top ranking guest house in town' - we are not sure where you are referring to as there is nothing that matches our lodge on space, quality and price within town.

As a final word, whilst at Honey Badger we do very much appreciate getting feedback from our guests (as you can see we respond to all our reviews) however it does surprise us when the first we hear of issues is on a review and not brought to us directly so we can actually do something about it.

We hope that you will be able to travel back to us one day and enjoy the experience that so many others enjoy
Warmest regards
Joseph and Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
3.0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
222 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
3.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
110 reviews
3.0 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
170 reviews
8.3 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#2 of 69 in Moshi
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Badger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Badger Lodge

Property: Honey Badger Lodge
Address: Moshi/Dar Es Salaam Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Badger Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is a family run, solar powered oasis situated just outside Moshi town (Tanzania) with breathtaking views of Mount Kilimanjaro. Our grounds are spacious and gardens are lush providing guests with a lovely natural relaxing environment. Our location enables guests to experience rural life in Tanzania and therefore feel they are more in touch with the country they are visiting. We are THE BEST VALUE ACCOMMODATION OPTION IN THE REGION. We offer tailored made mountain climbing and safari packages and a wide variety of local and cultural tours and activities. These include: coffee tours, trips to visit waterfalls, hot springs, caves and blacksmiths. forest and village walks, African banquets, drumming and dancing shows, cooking, drumming and dancing lessons and more. The best part is, when you choose to support us you are inadvertently supporting local community development initiatives. The directors of Honey Badger have over 12 years of experience in the field of community development and public health and are working hard to ensure Honey Badger is an integral part of the community and its development. We also have volunteer placements for those interested in staying longer and getting involved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Honey Badger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Badger Hotel Moshi
Honey Badger Lodge Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing