We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a welcoming place!”
Review of Tembotamu B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tembotamu B&B
Ranked #1 of 54 Moshi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a welcoming place!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our stay at Tembotamu in September 2013 got off to a bad start: we got sick on the airplane in. It was so, so nice to finally arrive at Tembotamu after a long journey and have Sandra look after us. We immediately felt at home. Sandra took great care of us and arranged for our plans to be changed.
We had booked a trip to Kilimanjaro with her, as well as a six day safari. She arranged it in such a way that we had a couple of days at the B&B to recover, we went on safari after that and ended with the Kili-climb. Sandra really saved our holiday (actually our honeymoon) by rearranging everything! She will do everything she can to make your stay as enjoyable as she possibly can. Really, you won't find a more welcoming host anywhere. She will drive you into town, arrange trips for you, cook you dinner, etc.
We loved every minute of our stay at Tembotamu. The safari and Kili-climb were both great as well. Very well organised, the guides and cooks were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
55
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Tembotamu back in November 2013. Sandra was very helpful from start to finish, helping provide directions, set up trips, cook us meals. She is a great cook and makes you feel like a part of the family. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The B&B is located about a 20 min walk to town or a $5-10 cab ride, so if you want to be out of the craziness of downtown Moshi, this is a great option. It was very reassuring to know we'd be returning to Tembotamu after the long trek up & down Kili! Thanks for the hospitality, Sandra & Frank!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at Tembotamu before and after my Kilimanjaro climb, great place to stay, very close to town and Sandra can organize you everything you want and it is all fantastic. I recommend this place to everyone! Enjoy! It's perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms not in the main house are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I stayed with Sandra for three nights while we were in town to run the marathon. In short time she became more of a friend than a host. Her breakfasts were amazing and she was helpful in making arrangements for whatever we needed. Although it was a 20 minute walk to town (or a $5 cab ride) we enjoyed the peacefulness of her location and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

If you are looking for a quiet, comfy place this is definitely the spot to go to. Rooms have everything you need, surrounded by a beautiful garden. The hostess is very friendly, will help you with everything you need and serves the best breakfast in Tanzania! She can also make dinner, which is a bit expensive compared to Tanzanian prices, but you will not be dissapointed. We also booked our Kilimanjaro trip through them. Due to illness and other problems we had a very troubled climb but they helped us out in a great way. So unless you want to stay in the city centre surrounded by a lot of backpackers you will not find a better place than Tembotamu!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjoerdUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights before and after climbing Kilimanjaro, and we had a great time! Sandra is very mother like and when you stay at her B&B you feel like you're in a welcoming home. She cooks amazing breakfast/dinner and takes time to sit down eat with the guests. This B&B is a nice welcome relief from the craziness that comes with being in Tanzania and the hospitality is second to none. The whole time I was climbing the mountain, all I kept thinking about was how I was looking forward to coming back to Tembotamu and having a Tusker beer in their beautiful courtyard! The rooms do get a little hot at night, but they cool down by the morning...but it's also Africa. The only qualm I have is that it's a healthy walk from downtown Moshi, but they will arrange for a driver to take you to town ($10 round trip). I highly recommend staying here if you happen to be coming through Moshi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I just stayed one night, but it was a good start of my trip through Africa. I was looking for a nice place to stay not so far from Kilimanjaro Airport. Sandra arranged for a transfer and welcomed me late at night. The room was comfortable with a large bed and mosquito net. The next morning I was leaving early, but not without a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
1.1 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
226 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.4 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
1.3 mi away
The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#1 of 69 in Moshi
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembotamu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembotamu B&B

Property: Tembotamu B&B
Address: Off Uru Road | Third Road to the right past Keys Hotel, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tembotamu is a family run B&B. We are located on the rural fringe of Moshi town: a 25min walk to the bustling centre of Moshi.Our separate guesthouse, with private bathroom, can sleep 5 persons, and the main house has one double and one twin room, each with private bathroom. In our relaxed atmosphere you can relax inside around the family table or outside in our garden, taking in a view of Mt Kilimanjaro.For breakfast we provide an alternative to the common omelette breakfast: cereal and yoghurt, toast with homemade preserves, fresh fruit, pancakes, French toast and wonderful Kilimanjaro coffee! Light evening meals are available: for example burgers, omelettes, toasted sandwiches.A full dinner can be provided with half a day notice.Children are most welcome.There is ample room for car storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Tembotamu B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembotamu B&B Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing