We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keys hotel Moshi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Keys hotel Moshi”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here last week when I was climbing kili. I stayed in the huts outside and the rooms inside. The outdoor huts were okay, a few lizards were inside but it was clean. It had aircon which was real nice. The indoor rooms looked nice, with a small tv, two beds, en-suite etc. No aircon as standard though, just a fan. The mattresses are just foam and weren't quite long enough for me. Friendly staff and free continental breakfast. The pizza's they make are amazing. There's a main road outside which is really, really loud.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    70
    53
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
30
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I and my husband often stay at Keys hotel in Moshi when we come to Moshi and Arusha to do our shopping. Staff is very friendly, accommodation your needs and the hotel has got an nice feeling about it. .An old fashioned hotel. A swimming pool which is good and relax around. Breakfast is good and dinner is reasonably priced. The hotel is situated in a quite area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here before and after climbing Kilimanjaro. It seemed expensive at $90 but this seems to be the going "tourist" rate in town. The rooms are decent and clean with hot water. The WiFi and cable TV were down the entire stay, though they assured us that the technician was coming. The women at the front desk are friendly. The restaurant staff struggles with English which makes it difficult to order. The pool makes it a nice place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is the hotel we stayed in before and after Kilimanjaro climb.
Staff are wonderful-very polite, very helpful, accommodating and always with warm smiles. We left our non mountain bag here for the climb. We were welcomed back at the end of the climb with a refreshing glass of watermelon juice and our bag ready to be carried to our room. The garden and the pool are well kept. There is a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The room is very basic, clean but it has a working hot shower-an important thing after 6 days camping on the mountain. The only minor negative is the restaurant service-slow and the Wifi coverage is limited. The pizza-delicious, fresh oven baked. Overall, perfect hotel for climbers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This small hotel was the ideal base from which to embark on our Kilimanjaro climb and then a safari. Our tour company, Karibu Adventures, arranged for our stay. The staff and management were very friendly and accommodating and our private hut was clean and comfortable. We felt at ease leaving our extra luggage in their secure storage while we were gone. When we returned from our climb, one of the staff offered to clean our muddy boots for about $1.20 USD and we also took advantage of the hotel's laundry service which was pricey but well worth it.

The room rate is very reasonable and the hotel's restaurant serves good inexpensive food (especially the wood oven baked pizza) and cheap cold beer. My husband appreciated the large screen TV in the bar which had an all soccer channel running all the time. Locals and guests gathered to watch the matches daily with plenty of cheering. A full breakfast, with eggs to order, sausage, bacon and all the cereal, breads and fruit you can eat, is included in the room rate. Free wi- fi (when it's working) is available in and around the front lobby.

Lovely well kept gardens and a large pool add to the pleasure of the experience. It is also a great place to meet other climbers and to share stories and tips before and after your Kili climb. The hotel is located within walking distance of banks and shops. One disadvantage, more to the city than to the hotel, was that it was not safe to go out after dark, thus we ate almost all of our meals at the hotel.

We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Moshi, especially if your trip is to include a Kili climb.

Room Tip: The hotel offers regular inn-style rooms and also has private huts. Staying in a hut allows you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbezzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

stayed recently with family. Expectations were modest but not quite met. Basic hote and basically clean and clean sheets etc, but half the lights in our rooms were missing. Electricity rather unstable anyway. Food in the restuarant was disappointing-to-poor and service positively glacial. Butter strictly rationed for some reason. but endless tea & coffee. Best feature was probably the bar with a wide range of soft drinks and beer all served cold and with good cheer. Location so-so. Atmosphere in the hotel generally good depending on whether people sumitted, or not!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Keys Hotel was our stop point and saty in Moshi before and after our Mount Kilimanjaro Climb. It is located at a convenient location, with amenity shops nearby. The hotel has cabana rooms which is excellent for trekkers and safari goers. This enables one to wash up and clean our equipment after the climb and safari. African Spoonbill Tours is a good agency to be linked with for Kilimanjaro Climb and Serengeti Safari and Goronggoro Conservation Area. Their services are professional and arrangements for client good. The owner himself, Pius Momburi oversees each group and meets each team upon arrival in the hotel. African Spoonbill is open to feedback and makes their best effort. They have good guides for both trekking and safari.

Room Tip: The cabana rooms for Keys Hotel. African Spoonbill Tours for trekking and safari in Tanzania.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekker5290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.6 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
222 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.3 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road

Property: Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
Address: Uru Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing