We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better and more honest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 50 Moshi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could be better and more honest”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This place have beautiful environment, nice staffs, very good quality bed ...
and we appreciate they still give us a room when we went on wrong date as we booked,
but we were disappointed .

1)They served a bottle of water in room in we first stay, but when we went again after 1 week,the staff took away our water ,she told us "when you back from safari or second time stay, you can't have water,you have to buy " because the owner said this to her.
Even the owner Rebecca explain it's their hotel's rule , we still feel uncomfortable , unfair, and totally can't not understand.

2)Their price was in US dolor, but when we pay in $US , they have no $US to change, even just $20。 because the owner Rebecca did't work or stay there, just go everyday to take money away, doesn't leave any money in hotel. she said she worry to be stolen.
So the staff change me in TZS finally, and the changing rate is the worst I have ever met in Tanzania. I feel it's a selfish an dishonest behavior.

When I went to other hostels in Tanzania, they always change the same currency as I paid. and always change dolors if their piece was in dolor.(I thought it is a common sense in the world)

3)They tell me that we have our own locked toilet, but it seems they didn't tell other guests that is not a share bathroom, so other quest made our bathroom dirty and stole all our toilet papers twice.

4) The location is dangerous to walk after sunset.

5)They sell wifi coupon, but the staff can not answer you any question when wifi have problem. (and it usually has problem)

I complain to Rebecca , she said sorry and tell me they will do some change. I hope when you come, they already become better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleking0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry you felt you could'nt express your dismay at the time of your stay and would like to address some of your complaints-

The Hibiscus is a budget BnB and we do our best to provide the best service for the price which is charged this includes only providing free water on the first night of guests stay.
We did not charge you for water on the second night which was taken.

The location of The Hibiscus is very safe and we only advise caution for our guests walking in the evening around Moshi to take a taxi.

Each room allocated with bathrooms in the hall all have keys to lock their own toilets/shower room.

Our records show that your bill was paid with TSH and USD combined, we happily take TSH eqv and the rate on the day was 1.6 in town the exact same in which you were charged.



At The Hibiscus we shall try to communicate our policies better in the future so futher confusion is avoided.


Regards

The Hibiscus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    41
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
37
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After my road trip to Dar es salaam, I headed back to Moshi and stayed in The hibiscus lodge.The hibisus is a excellent place to stay.Very neat and beautiful rooms.Staffs are very friendly and helpful.High speed internet is available there.The rooms are very spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooja p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here a few nights while recovering from a safari. For $40 US a night you can't go wrong here. It's close enough to downtown Moshi (a 10 minute walk) while being in a quiet residential area. Rooms are clean, grounds are beautiful, and the staff make a really tasty breakfast. Dinner and lunch can be requested if you give them a few hours notice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshuasmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Wonderful small guesthouse with clean, spacious, nicely decorated rooms. Very good service by the lovely staff throughout our 4 nights stay. Not too far from town, so walking is perfectly fine during the day. Internet is available, but at a little cost, and breakfeast is for free. Pancakes are delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmahoroNeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed at Hibiscus couple of nights before and after my Kilimanjaro Hiking and safary trip in middle of September. This hotel is clean and well decorated with spacious rooms. The place is very quiet but not too far from Moshi center so it is in walking distance to every places in town. The staff is wonderful, especially Ms. Savaria who was really kind and helpful in any thing that I needed.
I stayed 1 night in a room with the shower does not work properly (very little water come out while shower) but I was changed to another room in the next day. After all this hotel is a lovely and friendly hotel and I would recommend it to anyone who choosing to stay in Moshi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masaki, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at The Hibiscus for one night last weekend and would thoroughly recommend it. It is clean, tastefully decorated with pleasant, helpful staff. Rooms were very comfortable with lovely bedlinen and towels and great pillows. Bathrooms were spotless and plenty of hot water to wash off the dust of Moshi! A walk into town took us about 20 mins but being uphill on the way back we took a taxi. Breakfast included fresh pancakes, toast, fruit or eggs if you wished and there was a good choice of teas and coffee and fresh juice. Dinner could be pre-ordered or there was a Chinese takeaway menu but we didn't try these options this trip. The garden was a calm, relaxing place to rest and there was a good selection of books to borrow. There was an askari at night and the plot was well secured. We didn't try the internet so cannot comment on that. We did not have any power cuts. We would recommend this as one of the better places to stay in Moshi and we look forward to revisiting again sometime.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel was a great base for all our Tanzanian adventures.
The place is very clean and safe and in a good location close to Moshi centre. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Coffee and tea are available all day as well as a large collection of books to borrow for your adventures on Kili, safari or elsewhere in the area. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank UrosAbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.3 mi away
Tembotamu B&B
Tembotamu B&B
#1 of 50 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
Address: St Margaret's Church Road | Near the Freemason hall / Pare Avenue, Moshi 7403, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hibiscus A friendly run boutique Bed and Breakfast within walking distance from the town center we are situated in a peaceful residential area. The beautiful tropical garden is just the ideal background to the glaciers and snow of the Kilimanjaro.All thirteen bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms, offer western comfort with an African feel. Our helpful staff will endeavor to make your stay a memorable one.You will enjoy your breakfast in the shaded garden or on your balcony entertained by the songs of the morning birds or have a cool drink under the stars beside the fire pit.The weather will be always on your side, mainly sunny with occasional showers, all year round.With its central location, The Hibiscus offers you a quick easy access to the local shops, restaurants and swimming pools.We are happy to share our experiences, provide guides to local attractions, connect with reputable safari companies and give help to volunteers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hibiscus Bed And Breakfast Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing