We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hibiscus, Moshi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 61 Moshi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at the Hibiscus for two nights and it was ok, clean room, nice breakfast which was not included in the price. The staff was polite and helpful.
The reason I did not stay longer is because of the location of the BB, too far from the centre and in a dark part of town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we are glad you found us clean and pleasent.

Breakfast is included in our nightly fee, we do however have an additional menu for guests wanting a wider selection full english breakfast, bacon sandwiches etc

Warm regards

Rebecca and all the staff at The Hibiscus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for one night - and found it excellent, relaxed, welcoming. Staff excellent and the food was good. Bed lovely and comfortable with a good mossie net. Room was large and the garden is lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluemoonBrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time your in moshi.

Rebecca and The Hibiscus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Its a clean and cozy place, especially when you are about to go climbing or on Safari. The staff is very friendly, you can get your clothes washed for 5 USD per load, and they try to help in any way they can. Wifi is not included in the room price, but nobody expects that at a Budget B&B. The breakfast pancakes were awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindawien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we are pleased you found us welcoming and cozy.

All the staff at The Hibiscus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This place have beautiful environment, nice staffs, very good quality bed ...
and we appreciate they still give us a room when we went on wrong date as we booked,
but we were disappointed .

1)They served a bottle of water in room in we first stay, but when we went again after 1 week,the staff took away our water ,she told us "when you back from safari or second time stay, you can't have water,you have to buy " because the owner said this to her.
Even the owner Rebecca explain it's their hotel's rule , we still feel uncomfortable , unfair, and totally can't not understand.

2)Their price was in US dolor, but when we pay in $US , they have no $US to change, even just $20。 because the owner Rebecca did't work or stay there, just go everyday to take money away, doesn't leave any money in hotel. she said she worry to be stolen.
So the staff change me in TZS finally, and the changing rate is the worst I have ever met in Tanzania. I feel it's a selfish an dishonest behavior.

When I went to other hostels in Tanzania, they always change the same currency as I paid. and always change dolors if their piece was in dolor.(I thought it is a common sense in the world)

3)They tell me that we have our own locked toilet, but it seems they didn't tell other guests that is not a share bathroom, so other quest made our bathroom dirty and stole all our toilet papers twice.

4) The location is dangerous to walk after sunset.

5)They sell wifi coupon, but the staff can not answer you any question when wifi have problem. (and it usually has problem)

I complain to Rebecca , she said sorry and tell me they will do some change. I hope when you come, they already become better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleking0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sorry you felt you could'nt express your dismay at the time of your stay and would like to address some of your complaints-

The Hibiscus is a budget BnB and we do our best to provide the best service for the price which is charged this includes only providing free water on the first night of guests stay.
We did not charge you for water on the second night which was taken.

The location of The Hibiscus is very safe and we only advise caution for our guests walking in the evening around Moshi to take a taxi.

Each room allocated with bathrooms in the hall all have keys to lock their own toilets/shower room.

Our records show that your bill was paid with TSH and USD combined, we happily take TSH eqv and the rate on the day was 1.6 in town the exact same in which you were charged.



At The Hibiscus we shall try to communicate our policies better in the future so futher confusion is avoided.


Regards

The Hibiscus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After my road trip to Dar es salaam, I headed back to Moshi and stayed in The hibiscus lodge.The hibisus is a excellent place to stay.Very neat and beautiful rooms.Staffs are very friendly and helpful.High speed internet is available there.The rooms are very spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooja p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here a few nights while recovering from a safari. For $40 US a night you can't go wrong here. It's close enough to downtown Moshi (a 10 minute walk) while being in a quiet residential area. Rooms are clean, grounds are beautiful, and the staff make a really tasty breakfast. Dinner and lunch can be requested if you give them a few hours notice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshuasmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Wonderful small guesthouse with clean, spacious, nicely decorated rooms. Very good service by the lovely staff throughout our 4 nights stay. Not too far from town, so walking is perfectly fine during the day. Internet is available, but at a little cost, and breakfeast is for free. Pancakes are delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmahoroNeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 18 in Moshi
242 reviews
1 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
8.4 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#3 of 18 in Moshi
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
More Than A Drop B&B
More Than A Drop B&B
#2 of 61 in Moshi
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 75 in Moshi
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast

Address: St Margaret's Church Road | Near the Freemason hall / Pare Avenue, Moshi 7403, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range: £31 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hibiscus A friendly run boutique Bed and Breakfast within walking distance from the town center we are situated in a peaceful residential area. The beautiful tropical garden is just the ideal background to the glaciers and snow of the Kilimanjaro.All thirteen bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms, offer western comfort with an African feel. Our helpful staff will endeavor to make your stay a memorable one.You will enjoy your breakfast in the shaded garden or on your balcony entertained by the songs of the morning birds or have a cool drink under the stars beside the fire pit.The weather will be always on your side, mainly sunny with occasional showers, all year round.With its central location, The Hibiscus offers you a quick easy access to the local shops, restaurants and swimming pools.We are happy to share our experiences, provide guides to local attractions, connect with reputable safari companies and give help to volunteers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hibiscus Bed And Breakfast Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing