We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise a few month ago?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 51 Moshi B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise a few month ago?”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It was a very nice place to stay, especially considering the price (20 $ per night). We had the impression, that it used to be a very well maintained property with very nice furnishing. However it now looked kind of unkempt. The garden with wet cushions with ghekkos in ot, broken curtains, broken lamps,... The whole place was managed by some very nice and helpful young ladies, but the person who seemed to own the place (and emailed to us) never showed up. Unfortunately the ladies couldn´t speak a lot of english and therefore weren´t lots of help for information about the area, taxi etc. Eventually the young ladies did a great job managing the whole place on their own, but you could feel the lack of someone who is looking after it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LRBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry The Hibiscus was not up to your expectations as we en dower to provide an environment to make all guest comfortable and I would like to address some of your comments-

Arriving in Moshi in high rain season has it's downfall and will have an effect on the garden and the wildlife, The lizards will try to hide in the garden cushions and yes the cushions should be brought inside sometimes however in flash rains the staff forget and get caught in the rain.

The rooms you were allocated to are checked before guests arrive and I am unsure of your comment 'broken lamps and broken curtains' if you could please specify in a private message as we have had guests in your allocated rooms after you left with no complaints.

We have an information board right in the main living area with all trusted taxi numbers on, a Moshi map and guide and other helpful information of things to do in the area.

Sadly I cannot be at The Hibiscus at all times, however I am always reachable by telephone which the staff are happy to lend guest their phones and email to answer any queries or complaints that guests may have and always try to resolve matters as quickly as possible.

Rebecca and all the staff at The Hibiscus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    41
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
37
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Hibiscus is a very nice place to stay. This time I was traveling alone and I was just looking for a place like this one. Small, clean, quite, comfortable, safe with very nice garden to relax and 5 min walk to center of Moshi. Breakfast was very delicious, with lots of fresh fruit! Rooms are comfortable, clean and nice. I stayed in the room with the bathroom inside, hot water was available.
Wifi was available, but not working every day, the signal was quite fine but sometimes there were no passwords available to get connected - it is payable, 2000 TSH/hour. But center is close, so you can jump in one of internet cafes.
Overall I would recommended for stay to single travellers, couples and families!



Best regards!
Spela

Room Tip: Even rooms w/o bathroom are very nice and shared bathrooms are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving feedback for the Hibiscus we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we try communicate with the WIFI provider the best we can however sometimes his response is not as quick as we would like.

We are glad to welcome you back next time you are in Moshi.

From all The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was my second time at Hibiscus, and it was just as wonderful. Feels secure and very friendly. Staff was lovely. We were even allowed to host some friends on the porch one afternoon, as if it was our own place - so nice! I will continue to stay and and recommend the Hibiscus highly to anyone!

One small note - they seem to have changed internet providers, and this one was much more unreliable than the one I used on my previous visit. It required some contacting of the owner and resetting of passwords, etc. which was inconvenient. Internet is generally a problem in this area, but next time I think I'll consider purchasing a modem stick for internet myself, rather than paying for time on shared networks.

Room Tip: Room 5, for families, is very nice with a small daybed and king size bed. I'm not sure of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_du_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving another positive review for The Hibiscus.

We have replaced the ceiling fan in room 2 due to the noise, sadly the previous WIFI provider pulled out of Moshi and are looking into other options we can provide our guest with.

We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to Moshi.

From all The Staff at The Hibiscus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here because Hostel Hoff, across the road, was full. We were so impressed by the room. Large bed with mosquito net, and we had our own bathroom, though not all rooms do.
It was also a good price for us at $20 USD each including breakfast.
It was clean, friendly and the breakfast was typical of a tanzanian hotel.
We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Hibiscus is a lovely place to stay in Moshi. It is across the hiway from downtown, so is relatively quiet at night. The place is very clean, beds are comfy, a good fan in every room, and there is lots of HOT water. Everything a weary traveler could want. They supply a plentiful breakfast of toast, jam, chapatis, fruit, juice, coffee and tea and you can purchase additional items if you want more. Severina will also cook lunch or dinner for you upon request - her chicken and rice is delicious. They will also do laundry for $5 per load. There is an inviting garden and a nice, breezy porch for whiling away the afternoon before your big adventure. Severina and Neema were lovely, welcoming hosts. Just be sure to bring a flashlight, because there are frequent blackouts in town. But they lit candles for us and everything was fine.

Room Tip: rooms in the back (#5 and #6) are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane_rains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was traveling with friends in Tanazania and used the Hibiscus as our home base. We stayed 2 nights before going out on Safari, then 2 more nights when we came back. Went away for 3 nights and came back for 5 more nights. This is a LOVELY place to stay. Small, away from the hustle and bustle of town, but a short walk to all services. Our stay included breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, chapati, toast, coffee, juice and tea. The staff will make eggs upon request. The gardens was relaxing and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. They did our laundry, for a fee and my clothes have never been that clean before! I would recommend the Hibiscus to anyone who travels to Moshi. Do be aware that this is Tanzania and the power comes and goes. The staff provided candles and solar lights when we had no power.

Room Tip: There are some security lights outside that illuminate some of the room (we hung blankets over the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aknitter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaKMoshi, Owner at The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and decided to stay for longer, thank you for bringing to our attention about the security lights, we will look into this to see how we can improve the darkness of the rooms at night.

From all The staff at The Hibiscus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Felt safe in this neighborhood, about 10min walk to shops. Some rooms have ensuite bathrooms and some don't. Breakfast was fine. If you are leaving early, ask the night before and they will make you an early breakfast. They can also do laundry. They stored our luggage for free while we climbed Kili. Wifi was available (fee) and very, very slow! Much better to go to an internet cafe in town if you need that. They charge 2000Ts for a bottle of water that costs 800 in the store and usually 1600 in a restaurant! Good standard for a guest house in Africa at a good price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aplustc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.4 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
38 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 68 in Moshi
79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tembotamu B&B
Tembotamu B&B
#1 of 51 in Moshi
181 reviews
4.9 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#2 of 68 in Moshi
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast
Address: St Margaret's Church Road | Near the Freemason hall / Pare Avenue, Moshi 7403, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hibiscus A friendly run boutique Bed and Breakfast within walking distance from the town center we are situated in a peaceful residential area. The beautiful tropical garden is just the ideal background to the glaciers and snow of the Kilimanjaro.All thirteen bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms, offer western comfort with an African feel. Our helpful staff will endeavor to make your stay a memorable one.You will enjoy your breakfast in the shaded garden or on your balcony entertained by the songs of the morning birds or have a cool drink under the stars beside the fire pit.The weather will be always on your side, mainly sunny with occasional showers, all year round.With its central location, The Hibiscus offers you a quick easy access to the local shops, restaurants and swimming pools.We are happy to share our experiences, provide guides to local attractions, connect with reputable safari companies and give help to volunteers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Hibiscus Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hibiscus Bed And Breakfast Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing