We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful oasis with a great view of Mt. Kilimanjaro!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi
Ranked #13 of 48 Moshi B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis with a great view of Mt. Kilimanjaro!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here while in Moshi. It is a Christian based hotel, which meant no alcohol, which was fine with us. Management is extremely friendly and will try their best to accommodate you. We were able to leave our luggage there while we were on our Kili climb and safari. You have to pay for Wifi, which worked most times. They have rooms with and without air conditioning, so be sure to specify what you want. The rooms were clean: nice beds, bathrooms with hot showers and functioning toilets. We really enjoyed the gated compound. It was tucked away with a lush courtyard and beautiful views of Kili. We also loved the grilled meat that the on site restaurant, Green Bamboo Cafe, served.

Overall, it was simple, quiet and comfortable! Good stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I'm not sure if I would stay at this place for long stay. I stayed in this place at the beginning of my Kilimanjaro climb. The room is decent enough but the bathroom really needs an upgrade. The breakfast was basic but they have really nice BBQ restaurant inside the complex. The location is not really good to explore Moshi but nothing to explore in the town anyway. On the other hand, because it is located in the residential area, the hotel is really quiet. It has a balcony to enjoy the view of Kilimanjaro.

So, overall, it will be a decent place to stay for short time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The rooms do have airconditioning, good beds and a clean bathroom with shower. So normal comfort. Dining room is simple, chairs a bit too hard to sit on for a long time. Food is quite ok, fresh and healthy. I'd say a good 2 star level for a reasonable price. Safety also ok. Wifi available for a payment.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the Kilimanjaro. when there are no clouds, it is a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have a kind of bitter-sweet relationship with the hotel. The rooms are in dire need of an upgrade, the bathrooms need new fittings last year... The suites are rather poorly furnished with very outdated spartan furniture, some of it unnecessary, towels need an urgent change... the breakfast is basic, meals are ok, the bbq quite pleasant. your reservation will be honored, rates are very pocket friendly. beautiful, secure, quiet location but a lot more can be done, management seems trapped between running a hotel and a youth hostel... gate closes at 10.30pm... so much for a hotel.... for some reason, i always find myself cheked-in, maybe its the location... the rooms are quite basic.... very basic... not bad if you are not looking for luxury....

Room Tip: For a couple, a suite is more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The location of this hotel is convenient as it is not far from the town centre. I was disappointed with the conference facilities. Management should look into upgrading the presentation equipment. AC would have been beneficial and calming especially in the afternoon when it was hot, humid and after having lunch! Food was same throughout and a bit boring. Sometimes there wasn't enough food for all the participants despite the fact that they had number of people they were to cater for!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

It's a good choice if one needs reasonably priced accommodation, in a peaceful, green area of Moshi. There is a new wing and an old wing. When we were there in March the new wing was full so we had to stay in 'Kibo', the old wing. I wasn't too happy about that , but it turned out to be a very comfortable night stay. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable.
There is a pleasant big garden, a restaurant specialising in grilled meat - not for me as I am a vegetarian!!! and an internet room
After breakfast, as we were returning to the room, we caught a glimpse of snow and then when we went to the special lookout area, we were thrilled to get a clear, wonderful view of Kilimanjaro.
I recommend this to anyone vsiting Moshi for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards Kilimanjaro and if you prefer to pay less, go for the older wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAISURYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel is in a nice location on the edge of Moshi with nice views of Kilimanjaro. I stayed here for a business meeting in March of this year. The room was clean but in need of refurbishment. The taps on the basin and shower didn't work properly, the furniture was old and tired and several panes of glass were missing from the vented windows which made security of things left in the room a bit of a concern. Service was variable - staff in the hotel's restaurant and especially the hotel's driver were very friendly and helpful. However, staff on reception were moody like you were inconveninencing them asking for keys or to change money. Food at the Green Bamboo Barbecue was nicely cooked but none of the staff seemed interested in serving us and we had to ask twice just to get a menu. Overall, however, its an OK place to stay in Moshi, its cheap and in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Moshi town.

Room Tip: Choose the newer Mawenzi wing as this is the newest and has better rooms including air con (the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0mbard0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.5 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
0.9 mi away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#3 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilimanjaro Grand Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi

Property: Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi
Address: Kilimanjaro Road | Moshi Shantytown, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Also Known As:
Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing