We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice daytrip from Moshi: coffee & waterfalls”
Review of Materuni Tours

Materuni Tours
Ranked #3 of 118 Tours in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a local tour company based in Moshi town providing safaris and mountain trekking (Mt Kilimanjaro and Mt Meru) as well as cultural day trips at highly competitive rates. Day trips include a coffee tour and hike to the spectacular waterfalls at Materuni, hot springs, Lake Chala and a Kilimanjaro day hike. Our company focuses on ensuring we develop individually tailored packages, catering to your specific desires and needs. For all your Tanzanian travel plans, contact Materuni tours to ensure your experience here is unforgettable!
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice daytrip from Moshi: coffee & waterfalls”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had some days in Moshi to relax and booked a daytrip with Materuni after friends of ours did the same a year before. We took de Dalla Dalla to Materuni village with our guide Ramadhani which really adds to the experience. It is just like sitting in a public bus, but the bus is crowded and you don't have a lot of room to sit ;) It is nice to get a glimps into local life and transport.
It was fun and interesting to learn more about the proces of growing and making coffee, we really enjoyed participating and playing with the kids at the coffeefarm. Afterwards we walked to the waterfalls (which is a short hike, not hard at all) and had our lunch there. It was fun to talk to and share stories with our guide, a nice day away from the city!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank szonjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MateruniTours, Owner at Materuni Tours, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks so much for this great review of the Coffee and Waterfalls day trip. We're glad you enjoyed the 'authentic' experience of the dala dala! I hope you had a lovely time during the rest of the trip and that we can welcome you back to Moshi again one day. All the best, Ambrose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Kilimanjaro! Hot springs and Maasai”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Five of us from Australia had the best time climbing Mt Kilimanjaro and could not have done it without our amazing team at Materuni Tours. Before we left we were stressed and nervous not only about the climb but also our lost baggage from our flights, Materuni tours were so helpful retrieving our bags and getting organised for our climb. We did the 6 day hike on Machame route. I was so pleasantly surprised arriving at our first camp being greeted with fresh popcorn and hot tea, felt like 5 star camping! With 5 of us hiking we had a fabulous team of 18 taking care of us. They showed particular concern to our health with daily checks morning and night! I took all the advice they gave and made it to the top despite having a cough before leaving. Its so worth the final push and this team is the best to help!

we were also lucky enough to visit the Moshi hot springs and a local Maasai tribe, despite last minute plans everything was so well organised!
Great company - amazingly helpful and not pushy!
LOVED IT!! cant wait to come back and do Serengeti!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MateruniTours, Owner at Materuni Tours, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Georgina! Thanks so much for your kind words- your group was truly a pleasure to work with. Despite initial worries with the lost bags and your chest cough you were super tough and made it to the top- congratulations! We are all looking forward to welcoming you back again and showing you a little more of Tanzania. All the best, Ambrose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“kilimanjaro trek, hot springs and maasai”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

the main reason we went to Tanzania was to climb to the roof of Africa, and we couldn't have had better guides! everyone on the mountain was so amazing at making sure we were coping with the trek, and they paid close attention to our health and well being. We had an amazing 6 days on the Machame route. The summit was AMAZING but definitely wouldn't have made it without all the support from the guides and the rest of the team.
and just wait till you taste the FOOD! 5 star*****
spur of the moment we also decided to do a trip out to the hotsprings and to a Maasai village. They were also able to organise this extremely last minute!

did i mention that they also helped us find our lost baggage (airlines fault) the day before the hike?

They truly go above ad beyond!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MateruniTours, Owner at Materuni Tours, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Nicole, Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review- we are so happy that you had a great time here and that your whole group was able to make it to the summit together- great work! Hope that you had a wonderful time in Zanzibar to relax following your climb and we look forward to welcoming you back next time for safari! Karibuni tena!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Materuni Falls & Coffee Tour”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ambrose was extremely welcoming to my group and even gave us a lift into town one day from the hostel we were staying at. Accommodations were arranged for us each step along the way and the guides spoke very good English. Would recommend Ambrose and his company to any of my friends travelling to Moshi in the future! Make sure to make the mbege stop - local Chaga banana brewed beer!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grayson_Sasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MateruniTours, Owner at Materuni Tours, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi! Thanks so much for your review and taking the trip up to Materuni Village with us.. our guides Mrema and Joseph really enjoyed showing you our local culture (inclduing the banana beer, mbege, of course!). We look forward to welcoming you back again, or any friends from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Materuni Tours Kilimanjaro Trek”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Amazing climb up Mt. Kilimanjaro. A group of five of us climbed the mountain with Materuni tours, who supplied a team of 18 people including guides, porters, and even a chef. The summit is definitely a challenge but most of the trip is closer to glamping with porters carrying all your gear, running ahead to set up camp and cooking three course meals every day. Food and service were amazing, and the guides paid close attention to our health and safety throughout the trip. The mountain itself is indescribable. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tristantristantrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MateruniTours, Owner at Materuni Tours, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words and for choosing us to climb to the Roof of Africa with - your team was fantastic to host here in Moshi and we were so glad you all made it to see the sunrise from Uhuru Peak. Karibu tena (welcome again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Materuni Tours also viewed

Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
Moshi, Kilimanjaro Region
 

Been to Materuni Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing