We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cheap but awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Backpackers Paradise
Ranked #24 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Graz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very cheap but awesome”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed there two times- all in all 4 nights. one night per person is 12000 TSH so its very cheap. The rasta-style of the hotel looks very good, the staff is also extremly friendly and helpful - especially one guy called mosses :)
There is free wifi, which is not very usual in other hostels, and you can additional order breakfast if you want. The room was very clean and all had mosquito nets. there was also hot water, which is also not really common in other places. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamika_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
7
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

stayed there for almost two weeks and I felt at home!! The place is pretty new, so everything is in a very good condition..! Clean, fast wifi, free kitchen and hot water in the shower!(the first we had in 2 month!). the staff is perfect and helped me to find a place to volunteer in Moshi.. Several tipes of rooms, dorms for 14$ pp. the only problem- the dorms are really small.. But I still highly recommend!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinorush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This place has an excellent host in Mosses and an ever lively collection of visitors. It is terrific if you are looking to meet fellow travelers and don't mind the fact it is not always peace & quiet. Rooms are okay

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This place is perfect for backpackers: a communal kitchen, dormrooms, etc. We were travelling as a couple, so booked a double ensuite in the main building. Their was a miscommunication and we ended up in a self-catering room in the seperate (dorm)building. Not a nice room, but we accepted it because we didn't want to search for another place at that moment. This room was not what we expected so it was a bit of a disappointment. The staff was really nice though and we had a good time chatting with Mosses and his coworkers. The location is very central, close to Indoitaliano restaurant, Materuni Tours, Pamoja Cafe (all recommended). A short walk to 2 supermarkets and the main street. We spent the last night in a room inside the main building and that was actually a really nice one!

Room Tip: Try to get a room inside the main building if you are a couple or looking for nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szonjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at the Hostel and what a pleasant experience it has been.
The hostel is very clean and secure, the interior is done with taste, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a staff member 24hours a day, who is available to help with any problems. The Hostel has a ccv camera system, that is watched, and if any problem, even in the street in front of the hostel occurs staff deals with it.
The Owner Rasta is such a pleasant person, and he took us to his vegetable garden, and showed us around town. Even bought our team that climbed Kilimanjaro a bunch of flowers to congratulate us. He also owns “I Curio” a shop around the corner with the biggest variety of souvenirs, at the best prices in town. And the best part you do not need to negotiate a price from them as the price is already low.
There is free WiFi available and also a small kitchen where you can make coffee and also some food for yourself, it has all the kitchen utensils that you need.
A Fridge with ice cold local beers and cold drinks are available for the guests, with very good prices.
It is very close to the centre of town, and you can easily walk to nice restaurants and shops.
I will recommend this Hostel to all my friends planning to stay in Moshi.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back are more quiet then the street facing ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmarentia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

When I came to Moshi in May of this year I looked at several budget hotel/guest houses, and Backpackers Paradise was the best for quality/price.
There are 4 single/double occupancy rooms in the main building with en suite bathroom. Bathrooms have new tile and nice mirrors. The common areas are quite luxurious compared to other hotels in the same price range I have been to.
The general decor is elegant and pleasant. The owners of I-Curios directly supplies all the furniture and interior decor for the place as it used to be their home.

The terrace offers a pleasant view of town and Mt. Kili when the sky is clear.
There is a kitchen for guests to use, which was great for me, because I lived there for 2 months and couldn't afford to eat out every night!

The staff is friendly and ready to answer all your questions safari, climbing, local market and cultural activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilianaFeb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

For a Backpackers in Europe this would be a very good place to stay. For a Backpackers in Africa it is excellent. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The dorms are actually ensuite. The decor in the common areas is stunning and they have free internet. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scal_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
1.4 mi away
Rafiki Backpackers & Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
226 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
41 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 69 in Moshi
163 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#2 of 69 in Moshi
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Paradise

Property: Backpackers Paradise
Address: Ghala Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpacker's Paradise is beautiful hostel located on a quiet street in the heart of Moshi Town. Decorated with an impressive collection of East African art, staffed with friendly English speaking locals, and centrally located in town, we are confident you will love this place as much as we do. We offer our guests a selection of private, self-contained rooms and dorm rooms with private or shared bathrooms for some of the lowest rates around. We have several communal areas, including a rooftop with a view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. We also have a kitchen for our guests to prepare meals and there are several great cafes, restaurants and bars nearby we can recommend. We look forward to welcoming you to Moshi. Whether you are staying one night or one month we are sure you will feel right at home with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Backpackers Paradise Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing