We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap for a reason”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartebeest View Lodge
Ranked #18 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights but we were not satisfied at all. The room wasn't clean when we arrived (e.g. sheets were dirty, there was a turd from a bird in the shower, and an empty toilet paper roll in the closet) and the drain in the shower was pretty much out of function.
Also we still don't understand the 'view' part of the name.

We payed 50$ for two nights and even though we know it's cheap we were still disappointed. Of course we didn't expect high standards but there must be other and better options in Moshi.

The staff was friendly and the laundry service was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf A, Inhaber at Hartebeest View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Mrs. Caroline M.,
it is very bad to hear from you, that you was not satisfied with the Hartebeest View Lodge.
It is also in my opinion that the rooms must be clean. They may be simple, but they must be clean. This is a very important think!!!
I will talk with the housekeeping, that this was only one exception from the reality. Normaly they make a good work.
So please excuse this at this moment.
Many greetings,
Ralf Aschauer
Hartebeest View lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

The highlights:

1) Awesome view of Kilimanjaro,
2) Very friendly and accommodating staff,
3) Wifi that works well,
4) A kitchen / open plaza area inside that's great to hang out in.
5) The owners, a kind German family, are very helpful for setting up well-priced travel arrangements (i.e. safaris)


Possible issues:
1) There are no dorms so the budge aspect can be tougher (I ended up sharing a room with some friends),
2) It's a 10 to 15 minute walk from downtown so the first time out will be with a cab.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelburro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer zur rechten Seite sind ruhiger und besser ausgestattet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 09camping2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chechu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davdav74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
9.0 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.3 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#7 of 17 in Moshi
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#2 of 75 in Moshi
407 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 17 in Moshi
191 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 75 in Moshi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartebeest View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartebeest View Lodge

Address: P.O.Box 1474 / Arusha Himo Road, Moshi 14765, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Price Range: £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hartebeest View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartebeest View Lodge Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing