We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to Springlands Hotel for the 19th time!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springlands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back to Springlands Hotel for the 19th time!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I have been taking friends climbing up Kilimanjaro and on safari with zara tours since 1998 and though the Hotel and company (now 6 properties 750 employees) has grown over the years the Zainab Ansell and her employees always bring me back. It is a private hotel so you cannot just drive up and get a room, so you have something in common with every guest there, climbing kili, Zanzibar, or safari with zare tours. I climb Kilimanjaro for the 21st time June 20-25, my last climb in January was fantastic and this time I am taking friends out on Safari first and then up Kili. I will go back again in September 2012 to take 4 other groups. Remember though you are in Tanzania not the your home and we do have some sporadic electricity problems and some of our roads are not as smooth as your main street, but you will have the "Bucket List" adventure of your life!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kilimanjaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zainab A, Owner at Springlands Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Hi,
We Sincerely appreciate the comment you posted on the Trip Advisor Website, Springlands hotel page. We are waiting to host you for the 19th time and you are welcome to book any activity with us in future.

Regards,

Zainab Ansell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    165
    103
    36
    21
See reviews for
69
105
80
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We arrived in moshi quite late at night on Friday, May 4, 2011. It was late night and finding the hotel was a nightmare. We pulled up at the gate and asked the gentleman who stepped out if there was any availability he said yes. As we were about to enter with the car another gentleman stepped out and said they could not offer us lodging as we were locals in Swahili. My husband is from Tanzania and speaks there language we were shocked and dismayed at what he heard. He questioned the guard whether this was a usual practice and his answer was, Yes. It was a nasty experience, a hotel in the middle of Tanzania not for black people. Am so happy we were turnedx away and did not spend any money in this racist establishment!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AmaterasuOm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miasuntz, Owner at Springlands Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Hi,
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we caused you and its unfortunate that you were provided with misleading information concerning how business is conducted at our hotel, as it is not our custom to send guests away. However, it is unusual for us to receive walk-in clients as Springlands hotel is a private hotel and requires guests to have pre-booked a package with us either Mount Kilimanjaro hiking or safari. We have hosted several Tanzania groups who booked a package with us , so we do host black people in our properties. As a result we will be conducting further training with our front gate attendants so that they can provide the appropriate information required to our clients.

Best regards,

Zainab Ansell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at Springlands Hotel as part of our Mt. Kilimanjaro trip that was organized through Zara Tours. The hotel is a good one, clean, well maintained, accommodating staff, spare equipment for the climb, and good food (their tomato and cheese sandwich is to die for!).

A good place to stay before embarking on your Kilimanjaro climb!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amtrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My safari experience through Zara Tours surpassed my expectations! Mama Zara, Rahma and their professional team delivered exemplary service, smiles and wholesome tasty meals during my 5 day excursion to Lake Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorogoro and Tarangine National Parks. The debriefing was short and to the point. Our guide (Mohammed) was extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife, professional, prompt, attentive and exuded a keen sense of humour. He was so helpful and on many occasions offerred to take tricky pics of the animals for me. The safari was well organized; the jeep was sturdy and well maintained. The staff at the Serengeti in the wild campsite were excellent hosts, especially Freddy, the assistant manager who lit a huge campfire each evening where we communed, listened to the wailing of the hyenas, basked in the vast beautiful starlit sky and revelled in homespun tales! As a novice camper, I was overjoyed at the hot water shower, huge bed with mosquito netting and camper chairs outside with a lantern. Meals were buffet style, varied and nutritious! I think it's noteworthy to recommend that a thermal lunchbox (with icepack) is used during safari to minimize bacterial infection to replace the cardboard carton. Hopefully they will followup on my suggestion. My 2 day experience at Highview Hotel - a gorgeous property set on huge rolling hill acreage was memorable too. The rooms were comfortable, clean and the view was extraordinary! Surrounded by coffee plantations, organic farms, Maasai presence crafting and selling their exquisite artwork, a local group of young people who entertained and enthralled with their evening performance - drumming, musicians, contortionists, acrobatics, dancing, singing - what a bonus! The manager, Leila and her staff were very attentive, affable and professional! They are constructing an on-site spa to add to the amenities - what a splendid addition! As a single woman, I always felt safe and secure during my entire 5 day safari! Thank you ZARA TOURS!!

Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmigi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairobi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Springlands as part of our Mt Kilimanjaro climb with Zara tours. It was perfect for what we needed before and after our trip (which we greatly enjoyed and would strongly recommend). The rooms were clean, cool and safe and all the staff extremely friendly and supportive of us. The WIFI services were also excellent. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miasuntz, Owner at Springlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Hi,
we sincerely appreciate the comment you posted on the trip advisor, Springlands hotel page. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your tour with us and you are welcome to book any activity with us again.

Best regards,

Zainab Ansell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here with 3 friends the night before and night after we climbed Kilimanjaro with Zara tours.
Zara, the tour operator, picked us up from Kilimanjaro airport so there was no transfer fee. The hotel is basic, but perfectly suited our needs. The grounds and gardens are lovely and relaxing. The pool is ideal to catch some sun and contemplate the climb and talk to others who are just back from their mountain trek. The rooms were clean, the mosquito nets effective; there are big fans to keep you cool. The food in the restaurant is buffet style and tasty. Staff are friendly.
Wifi was freely available throughout our stay.
The key point for me, was that the process of preparing for a climb is very well organised - this is what they specialise in. There is a briefing at 5pm the night before; there is storage for luggage not required on your trek; scales to ensure mountain luggage is less than 15kilos; private safes to leave small valuables in while climbing, and a well equipped hire shop for last minutes items you might have forgotten.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljs3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miasuntz, Owner at Springlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Hi,
We sincerely appreciate the comment you posted on the Trip advisor, Springlands hotel page. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and you are welcome again to book any activity with us.

Best regards,

Zainab Ansell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Everything about this place is abselutly avarage, you can survive a Night here but there are so many nice hotels in Tanzania so why bother.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Groenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moshi
2.3 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.8 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Karatu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
132.1 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
2.1 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springlands Hotel

Property: Springlands Hotel
Address: Pembo Road | Pasua Area, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springlands Hotel, located on the Southern slopes of Kilimanjaro near Moshi in Tanzania, is the ideal base for mountain walking trips and safaris to Kilimanjaro and all Northern Tanzanian National Parks. Our hotel offers excellent value and high quality at competitive rates. It has a large swimming pool, an airy dining area set in pleasant gardens, and indoor and outdoor bars. The rooms have spacious en-suite facilities with showers, mosquito netting, and fans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springlands Hotel Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing