We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - Zara tours were fab”
Review of Springlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springlands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel - Zara tours were fab”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel (although fairly off the beaten track). Zara tours arranged everything including transfers from the airport and to Kilimanjaro before and after our climb.

The hotel had everything you needed, a/c, hot water, free Wi-Fi, comfy bed, Kit store while climbing, gear store if you needed anything extra, nice restaurant and small but clean pool. The food at the hotel was good and one of the guides from Zara walked us around to a local orphanage which was very humbling.

Definitely would recommend Zara tour and their packages.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zainab A, Owner at Springlands Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Tom,

We are very thankful for sharing your experiences on our overall facilities and services specifically a/c, hot water, free WI-Fi, comfy bed, Kit store, gear store, restaurant, pool, Food, Staff and everything else you have enjoyed.

At, ZARA we are committed towards providing you with the best experience in every aspect of your trip with us. We mostly appreciate your recommendation out there.

You are most welcome and looking forward on serving you once again.

Yours very sincerely,
Zainab Ansell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    170
    106
    37
    21
See reviews for
69
108
83
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I did not really know what to expect this being my first trip to Africa. The people at this hotel are exceptionally nice and very helpful. Dont plan on many western amenities. The pool is clean and refreshing. Be careful with leaving the windows open at night or make an effort to use the nets provided. The dinner and breakfast buffet were very nice.

Room Tip: As with many other Africa hotels the layout is confusing. I did not really like room 29 seemed too c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zainab A, Owner at Springlands Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Heather S,

We are very thankful for sharing your experiences on our overall facilities and services specifically Staff, pool, Food and everything else you have enjoyed.

At, ZARA we are committed towards providing you with the best experience in every aspect of your trip with us. We highly appreciate your recommendation out there.

You are most welcome and looking forward on serving you once again.

Yours very sincerely,
Zainab Ansell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Super service from all (reception, cleaning, guides, waiters etc.). A friendly and familiar atmosphere.
Clean rooms, nice swimming pool and cozy and beautiful garden with lots of corners to sit.
The food (buffet) is a little repetitive if you stay for more days. But fresh and nothing disturbed our stomach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vibeke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zainab A, Owner at Springlands Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Vibeke J,

We are very thankful for sharing your experiences on our overall facilities and services specifically reception, cleaning, guides, waiters, pool, garden, Food and everything else you have enjoyed.

At, ZARA we are committed towards providing you with the best experience in every aspect of your trip with us. We highly appreciate your recommendation out there.

You are most welcome and looking forward on serving you once again.

Yours very sincerely,
Zainab Ansell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends before and after climbing Kilimanjaro. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff took care of our needs and provided us with everything we needed to get ready for our climb. After we returned they had ice cold beers ready for our celebration. The food was better then I expected and the pool was nice and clean. I also got a massage at the spa upon returning from our trek.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekulznerol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Springlands Hotel is an excellent start base for Kilimanjaro or going on Safari. There is a lovely swimming pool and there are plenty of outdoor areas for meeting others for drinks and sharing tips and stories, they have a very international clientele! The food is fine and served buffet style, the service at reception and throughout the hotel is excellent, the staff are very helpful and friendly. I felt safe in the hotel, but walking the mile up the dirt road to Moshi was no problem either. Recommend coffee at The Grand Union Cafe!
Anything you've forgotten for your trip can be rented and there are storage facilities for things you don't need to take with you. I would definitely stay there again and recommend Zaratours for climbing Kilimanjaro, their guides and support crew are wonderful! : )

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entrance where it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My 13 year old son and I just returned from a 7 day trip up Kilimanjaro on the Rongai Route with Zara Tours. Springlands Resort was the launching point for our trip and also our sanctuary upon return from Kilimanjaro. We booked everything directly through Zara and they made it very easy, handling all aspects of the trip except airfare. It was a fraction of the cost of the other tour operators out there and had we not found Zara through my son's 7th grade teacher, we could not have afforded the trip. We spent an extra night upon arrival to acclimate to the time change and explore the town of Moshi.
For Africa, Springlands is first rate. The rooms are clean, the staff very attentive especially Ginoka and Musa in the dining area. The food was average, but were not expecting the Ritz and we did not get sick. The fresh fruit served was delicious. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom and shower facilities perfectly adequate. Wifi available in the garden and common area worked mostly to keep family up to date, but I would not rely on it to conduct business(you are on vacation in Afirca after all). We walked into town with Victor who enlightened us on the way of life in Moshi, a truly wonderful experience and included in the stay just tipped him upon our return by shuttle which was $1. If you are expecting a five star luxury experience don't go to Africa.
The climb and trek around Kilimanjaro National Park was an amazing experience. We are fit, used to altitude and used to backpacking without support. We had 2 guides, a waiter, cook a few porters. We carried only our day packs and our other bags were handled by the porters. the food on trail was exeptional. Our cook, August, made better food on the trail than I make myself and I didn't have to make it! We were served at least two courses with each meal and they always included fresh fruit. Our tents (sleeping tent, eating tent and bathroom tent) were already set up when we arrived at each camp. Having your own bathroom tent was a huge plus as the park facilities are adventurous to say the least and I did not see any of the other outfitters offering this service. We had warm water to wash with before every meal and very attentive waiter in Bruno. Summit day was strenuous, but exhilarating and the experience of going from 19341 feet to rain forest with monkeys in 24 hours was truly a unique experience you will not find any where else.
I would highly reccomend Zara and Springlands to anyone interested in a Kili climb. I spoke to others who also went on Safari with Zara during their stay and they nothing but positive feedback on the whole experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We only stayed one night, before going on safari. It is a nice hotel, and we had no complaints. The breakfast is spare and in no way luxurious. The staff is friendly. The road there is bumpy, but that only prepares you for the bumpy roads on the whole safari.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moshi
2.3 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Karatu
193 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
170 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
110 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springlands Hotel

Property: Springlands Hotel
Address: Pembo Road | Pasua Area, Moshi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springlands Hotel, located on the Southern slopes of Kilimanjaro near Moshi in Tanzania, is the ideal base for mountain walking trips and safaris to Kilimanjaro and all Northern Tanzanian National Parks. Our hotel offers excellent value and high quality at competitive rates. It has a large swimming pool, an airy dining area set in pleasant gardens, and indoor and outdoor bars. The rooms have spacious en-suite facilities with showers, mosquito netting, and fans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springlands Hotel Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing