We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel & Staff on Beautiful Estate”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marangu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marangu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Staff on Beautiful Estate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We arrived late, but the staff made the necessary preparations to have it waiting for us in our room...and it was even still warm.

This is the kind of superb treatment (and food) you get at Marangu.

The hotel situated on an old coffee plantation is located very close to the base of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The grounds are well kept and pleasant to walk around on.

Extra points to Marangu for the most delicious coffee we had during our 2 week Tanzanian adventure.

The room we had was basic, but comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raverpoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    61
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
49
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was recommended the Marangu Hotel by a school in Dar Es Salaam who use them for their annual Kilimanjaro climb with students. I could not have been happier. I arranged my trip at very short notice and Desmond was super helpful. He slotted me into a group of other solo travelers for a very competitive price. Dora looked over my gear and provided me with things I was missing such as sleeping bag, warm jacket and extra water bottles. Seamus gave an excellent briefing on the climb and the guides were very patient and took great care to make our ascent slow and successful. The fact that the guides have all worked for the hotel for a very long time shows they are well looked after and during my stay they were running a first aid course for their staff. The hotel itself is a wonderful place to be, even if you are not climbing. It was so much history and the setting is beautiful and the food very good. I loved the bar and met some super interesting people there. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I've now used the Marangu Hotel as "base camp" for two Kilimanjaro ascents, once in 2007 and again in May of this year. They are a real gem. The hotel is warm and cozy in its own right and includes on site both a good restaurant and a great bar. The rooms are spacious and clean and everyone on staff friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Marangu also staffed and outfitted both of our 12 person Kilimanjaro climbing groups. They did a superb job for us in 2007 and exceeded all expectations in 2013. Tents had been upgraded. The food furnished on the mountain had become more sophisticated (it had always been plentiful) and the guides and porters (some the same for both climbs) were a great help in our achieving our goal. The pre-climb briefing was more than helpful in describing what we would see and experience and in helping us recognize the symptoms of acute mountain sickness and what we should do should they occur. I commend the Marangu Hotel to you for a casual stay in the Moshi area or as a support mechanism for climbing to the Roof of Africa.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the summit of Kilimanjaro. You might ask for one of these, though the mountain can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. The room was all we needed and the view of Kilimanjaro from our porch was stunning. The food was fine, but not exceptional, and the staff were delightfully friendly and helpful. Our walking guide, Philias [organized by the hotel], walked us to a standstill. His knowledge, grace and wisdom were exceptional. One highlight was the hotel's thick tangy breakfast marmalade; it's world traveling to Tanzania for that alone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynandMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Marangu was truly amazing. We arrived late at night after a long day of flying, we had a car waiting at the airport and a meal waiting in our room for our return. We were leaving to climb kilimanjaro with the Marangu group the next morning so we woke up to a beautiful morning, views of Kili, amazing landscaped property and a great breakfast where you had the choice of types of eggs and lots of fruit and meat and cereals, not to mention great strong coffee. We were briefed by Desmond and he was just great, very informative and encouraging, made us very excited to start the trek. Our group from Marangu could not have been more incredible and made our hike the most memorable and perfect experience (my boyfriend and I are in our late 20's and from Canada). Our guide Joseph and asssitant guide Santorine, as well as our chef Frank and all of the other members of our group were so welcoming and supportive. I became very sick on the day of the summit (of course) and Joseph and Santorine were my rocks, they helped carry my bag, kept pushing me a long but with a watchful eye and knew that I could make it. Joseph literally dragged me down the mountain when I did not think I could go any further. The whole crew was so experienced (Joseph has climbed kili over 200 times!!) and they truly were the reason we had success and a great time doing it. All of our porters were so nice and friendly, always cheering us on. Our waiter was the sweetest thing and always woke us up with a smile. The food at the hotel and on the climb was top notch!!! On the climb we always had so much variety with fresh fruits, vegetables, soups, meats..the whole balance you needed, we definitely never went hungry. Upon return back to the hotel it was so nice to relax outside in the beautiful bar with our crew and actual be able to take in the beauty of the property for a day. I would go back in an instant for the hotel and the crew!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

This, without doubt, is my favourite hotel in the whole world. It somehow has an atmosphere that is so relaxing that its impossible not to feel good there. The staff are attentive and beautifully mannered. Kilimanjaro can be seen from various parts of the hotel including the swimming pool where you can stare at it whilst swimming a length of the pool!
The food is very nice and the place is staffed by all local people though I believe the present owners' family has been there since the 1950s. Much of the food is grown on site and is I suppose, organic, though I've not seen that claimed. You can pick and eat mangos from the trees!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I have stayed at Marangu hotel three times and have enjoyed every minute of the time I have spent there. Twice I climbed Kili with 20 students and one stay was with my family. From celebrating having a drink on the beautiful lawn/gardens looking up at Kili with the guides, porters, cooks and support staff after a successful climb to a quiet night with the family enjoying dinner the Marangu hotel leaves positives memories.
The owners of this hotel have a vested interested in supporting the local community and are not after a quick $$$$. They are actively involved in the Kilimanjaro porters association and work with an experienced and knowledgable team. On both trips up the mountain (i am a teacher who twice climbed with 20 teenagers) I always felt in very safe hands. Both trips resulted in 19 of the students summiting which is an excellent indicator of the professional team leading us.
Spend some time at this hotel and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the lawn with a view of Kili from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarrodd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
13.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
13.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
12.7 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marangu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marangu Hotel

Property: Marangu Hotel
Address: PO Box 40 | Marangu, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marangu Hotel is set on 12 acres of beautiful garden and has been open since 1932. We have been organising climbs of Kilimanjaro, on all routes, for over 80 years. The original farm buildings (now offices and reception) were built in 1907 as part of a coffee farm before being converted in 1932. Guest accommodation is provided in cottages around the gardens, and meals are prepared with vegetables from our own gardens and home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marangu Hotel Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing