We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kilimanjaro trip .”
Review of Marangu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marangu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have just returned from two night stay at Marangu Hotel followed by seven night trip up Kilimanjaro and a final night at the hotel . The family run hotel organised our trip and Desmond and Seamus did an incredible job of briefing us and arranging a perfect climb from guides to cook all faultless .
We arrived at 11.30 pm to be welcomed by receptionist ,chef and waitresses to be told that dinner would be served when we were ready ! UK hotels please note .
Desmond and Seamus were incredibly helpful and all the staff were exceptional and so friendly . I foolishly left my wallet on the dinner table containing several hundred dollars to have it returned to our room within 5 minutes . Tanzania is a very poor country and this would have represented about a years salary to the waiter who returned it .
I mentioned this to Seamus who fully expected this to be the case .
The catering on the climb was unbelievable . A sample dinner was excellent soup followed by roast chicken , roast potatoes and spinach and then fresh fruit . All this cooked in a tent !!
I cannot recommend the Marangu Hotel highly enough , fantastic service at a reasonable cost .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Yes, in the morning you will see the Kilimanjaro from the very nice and large garden.

I think this hotel has seen many people and better times as well. The rooms are rather basic and the toilet-bathroom almost creepy.

Breakfast was abundant and good. The dinner was really abundant but not tasty, over-fried potatoes, basic chicken and cake containing some cream. The daily fish & chips was really disappointing.

The pool was a bit dirty as well because the wind blows dust and leaves into the water. The bar has some atmosphere and nice oldish decor. Beware of guides outside of hotel. Some of them know where to go while others do not – we had a not so pleasant experience with the latter.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jusaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We can't recommend this company enough. They have been operating since 1930 as a family run business and to me the values they hold currently is likely to be the reason they have been serving the adventurous tourist that wants to ascend Africa's highest peak.

They were recommended to us by a lady who used them to climb Kilimanjaro a few years before that we met in Sri Lanka a year ago.

From the first communication with them via email to the last verbal before we left not one time did we not see or feel that there was 100% transparency and honesty.

We trekked the Marangu Route over a 5 day period. I did ask about doing it in 6 days to help acclimatise but was told not to bother as if you were to acclimatise to the book it would take about 10days. They didn't have to say that as a 6day trek would be worth more to them than a 5. That made us feel that we could trust them.

They supplied documents that told us what to bring and checked the items we brought. Some of ours weren't up to the expected standard or requirement so they supplied us items from their store which I expected to pay hire for on our return only to be told there would be no charge as, I quote, "It's what we do"

We were also advised to leave all passports and cash etc at the hotel in their safe. They said take minimal cash to buy something when you return to the gate if you fancied. Like a coke or something. Some other climbers we talked to weren't given this option so had to take everything with them.

The tipping side of things was all very structured and you were assisted by the hotel. It's basically $100 per climber divided between the crew. We were two so that the amount we had was $200 in the budget. We had a crew of 8 (2 guides, 1 chef & 1 helper, 4 porters). Tbh as the days went on and we saw the work all these guys done we increased our tips to $480 (once it was calculated). We broke the mould a bit with the structure of who got what. But this was based on our feelings of who was there for us more, if you know what I mean. We were worried that we might put noses out of joint with our actions but were told by the hotel to do as we felt was justified and if they compare tips that's their problem. And that tips are an extra as they get their salaries for the work they do. A good way to avoid this is, as suggested by the hotel, keep that part of trip short and sweet. You go have a beer or two in the hotel garden, make a few speeches, and you might get a song.

Most of the crew were fine with their tips. A couple of them asked for more with a few excuses. We held firm as we had given them double what's expected. We told this to the Hotel and they said sorry and apologised but it wasn't their fault. I guess some of the crew thought that we would be even more generous after a few more beers inside us.

Other climbers we met were not given the option of leaving money behind so carried everything with them. I thought that was not good. Also it meant that you could get hassled for tips during the climb. One party we talked to were given a form telling them the expected tip which totalled $580 between two of them! Nearly three times more than the standard. And also that they heard that once the tips had been received items/bags went missing.

If anyone asks me who I’d climb with it would be Marangu, in fact we plan to do then climb again one day along a different route and these will be the guys we go with no doubt!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uncle-Jayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I couldn't recommend Marangu more. Our experience there truly was the highlight of our entire trip, which also included five days on the mountain and five days of subsequent safari (Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Serengeti).

We stayed two nights at Marangu before our climb and one night after. This property is absolutely beautiful and the staff wonderfully kind. Under the careful management of Desmond and his family, we were taken care of from the second we arrived until the second we left.

The staff went above and beyond in every capacity -- from helping rebook my parents on their canceled flights to ensure we could start our climb on time (!!), to digging through the pantry to find crackers for my sick sister, to simply always greeting us with a smile.

The rooms are lovely. Very comfortable and very clean. The meals were excellent (we're still dreaming about the curry we had one evening!). The grounds are stunning (ask nicely, and you can play croquet). This is the perfect place to relax for a few days before a tough climb.

That said, Marangu also organized an excellent climb for us. The guides, porters, chef and wait staff were total pros. Under their keen and thoughtful assistance, our entire family of six reached Kibo summit, no worse for wear than when we started. We were exceptionally well cared for on the way up. Truly would not have made it up without this team. We have Marangu largely to thank for organizing such a tremendous group of people (and the debrief that Antony gave us in advance was indispensable).

You can tell Marangu is a family-run property, full of pride and love. The entire staff makes it their duty to ensure that everyone leaves happier than when they arrived. We're incredibly grateful.

(Can you tell we had a great experience?)

Room Tip: Request a room away from the bar. It shuts down early, but you may get some post-summit folks who wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexisanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Through Marangu Hotel our large group had an incredible climbing experience. By following the guidance of the hotel and climbing staff, we were all able to summit! Throughout the experience guides, porters and anyone staffed by the hotel or climbing company were very pleasant and accommodating. They were also very responsible, taking special care of each of us throughout the journey. The hotel area was safe and beautiful, I highly recommend this hotel for climbing Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed for two nights at Marangu Hotel and climbed Kilimanjaro through the hotel. The overall quality of the experience the hotel provides is amazing. The rooms were comfortable and had working showers, the grounds were beautiful, the staff was effective, the food was good and plentiful (breakfast was provided), and the directors were incredibly informative regarding the climb. Would recommend to any friend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is amazingly beautiful with botanical gardens and bars. The even better part was the climb. The guides were extremely helpful and responsible. They paid careful attention to everyone's health conditions and were willing to answer all the questions. However the negative part about the hotel is the internet connection. They charge 1 dollar per 30 minutes for the wifi but the signals are really really bad. It's even hard to send an email.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyTxT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
13.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
242 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
14 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Aishi Machame Hotel
Aishi Machame Hotel
#2 of 17 in Moshi
35 reviews
13.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 17 in Moshi
51 reviews
14.4 mi away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marangu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marangu Hotel

Address: PO Box 40 | Marangu, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marangu Hotel is set on 12 acres of beautiful garden and has been open since 1932. We have been organising climbs of Kilimanjaro, on all routes, for over 80 years. The original farm buildings (now offices and reception) were built in 1907 as part of a coffee farm before being converted in 1932. Guest accommodation is provided in cottages around the gardens, and meals are prepared with vegetables from our own gardens and home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marangu Hotel Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing