We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”
Review of Marangu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marangu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Two friends and I stayed in the Marangu hotel after spending a week on Safari (Roy Safari - also highly recommended) and I really want to recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable and relaxing place to stay before climbing Kilimanjaro or just taking in the national park. The hotel is located on the foot of Kilimanjaro and is one of the most relaxing places I have ever stayed with coffee and banana plantations surrounding it. The accommodation is made up of appartment -style houses set in amazingly well kept gardens. All the staff have worked in Marangu hotel for years so its like staying with a family. We chose to do a one day hike to first base and the hotel organised a guide for us. They have specialised guides for climbing the mountain and everyone returning said it was fantastic. The owners Desmond and Seamus, the cook and other staff were all so lovely and welcoming. I would recommend it 100% for a fantastic holiday and base for climbing. Gill

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtravels760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    63
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
51
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

A group of five of us stayed at this hotel before and after climbing Kilimanjaro. The hotel arranged everything including porters and guides who were excellent (if your lucky enough to get Fatieli and his crew you will definitely make it to the top). The hotel is in nice grounds that are peaceful and has nice views of Kili when the clouds are away. The pool didn't have water in it while we were there which was disappointing but the charm of the place and the staff soon made us forget. I got some snow blindness at the top of the mountain (make sure you wear sunglasses no matter what the weather is like) and the owner went out of his way to help. There's also some guys that hang out on the driveway that will walk you into town or for a walk to show you local life for $5. Well worth it. We had a 3-4 hour tour by a guy called Roddick who took us to meet locals and to a waterfall.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2010

The Marangu is a great hotel with beautiful gardens and very friendly helpful staff. The food is home cooked and very good and there is plenty of it. We stayed two nights at the hotel before and after climbing Kilimanjaro September 2010. Desmond, the manager, gave us a very thorough talk on the climb which was really useful. Our guides, cook and porters were employed by the hotel which makes sure rates of pay are fair and in-line with the Kilimanjaro porters association http://www.kiliporters.org/who_we_are.php. Our guides Joy and Sosta were great people with a huge amount of knowledge about the mountain and we felt completely safe that they were very experienced on Kilimanjaro; and they were also good fun. Christian the cook kept everyone very well fed and the porters Hasan, James and Goddfrey made sure that equipment was moved from camp to camp smoothly. The Marangu hotel and its staff helped make our Kilimanjaro trek a fantastic experience. Thanks. Steven Hipwell, Lichfield, UK.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenhipwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I would highly recommend the Marangu Hotel as a place to stay near Moshi. the hoel is well run, the staff is extremely friendly and accomodating, the grounds are beautiful, and the food is good too.

I went to Marangu to climb Kili and organized the trip through the Marangu Hotel. it was extremely well run and organized. The guides were solid and clearly cared for our safety and our ability to make the summit.

If you are going to Moshi - stay at Marangu. Thanks Seamus and crew for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoRatansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed here on our last night in Tanzania. I was expecting a backpacker rough and ready hotel. Instead I got a spacious, clean room with hot water and lovely manicured grounds. Be sure to hire a guide to take you on a walk in the rain forest/banana plantation and to the waterfalls. The laundry service is very cheap and they did an excellent and fast job. The food is good but not great. Desmond was very nice as was the rest of the staff. Next time I will stay longer and do a day hike in Kili National Park.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneG0772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAVEL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have been searching for so long an organsiation that is serious for such a unique experience as kilimanjaro climb.
I HIGHTLY recommand Marangu hotel for their serious concern. You have a real brieffing Desmond explains every details that seams not importnat but make you feel great. A person of their staff come and double check all your clothing and eventually will lend you some if they think you are missing some important clothing for such an expedition. The team, cook, guide, porters are very professionnal and so nice.
On our ways we did discuss with others in the Huts, Marangu Hotel have take us serious. No hesitation, your next step should be to book with them.
The hotel is also nice, the restaurant ... I cannot say I am French and I am demanding on it so i will skip the topic since I cannot be objective enough I guess. They do their best to please you. they even offer me to send me some gift that I would have like so much to have once they will be soming to UK...
where do you find that ?
Once again go for Marangu if you want to feel secure about your kili climb and have a nice quiet reste in a very clean and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jardindebacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Stayed here on my last night in Tanzania. The rooms were airy and clean, the food was not great, but good enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NastiaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
13.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
229 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
14.0 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#5 of 16 in Moshi
173 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#10 of 16 in Moshi
111 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 71 in Moshi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marangu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marangu Hotel

Property: Marangu Hotel
Address: PO Box 40 | Marangu, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marangu Hotel is set on 12 acres of beautiful garden and has been open since 1932. We have been organising climbs of Kilimanjaro, on all routes, for over 80 years. The original farm buildings (now offices and reception) were built in 1907 as part of a coffee farm before being converted in 1932. Guest accommodation is provided in cottages around the gardens, and meals are prepared with vegetables from our own gardens and home baked bread. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marangu Hotel Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing