We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional rather than charming; reception staff unfriendly”
Review of Parkview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parkview Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Reviewed 18 April 2011

A decent enough place to stay for a night or two, but fairly charmless - no garden, a small swimming pool in full view of al the rooms (therefore apparently unused) and a cheaply furnished dining room with the ubiquitous widescreen permanently tuned to CNN. The rooms are large and serve the purpose. You have to pay for internet access, which is all too common in Tanzanian hotels (but not in Rwanda or Ethiopia). It sends an unfortunate signal about petty money making when you have already paid plenty for the room. Once you get online, however, the wi-fi speeds are good. The rooftop space is strangely unused but has an excellent view of Kili and could be turned into a bar/restaurant with a bit of imagination. Lastly, I found the receptionist rather arrogant and happier to deal with drivers and colleagues than give guests proper attention and respect.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Parkview Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

We checked into this hotel at about 4pm and found the most unfriendly reception I have ever encountered in Africa. We requested for a room with a double bed and were given 2 joined single beds!!! These beds had very tiny beddings that seemed to have been slept in. The curtains fell apart on trying to draw them, and the phone was not working. After walking to the reception, the curtain rails and phone were repaired, but our room could not be changed.

We chacked out the following day and moved to another place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SengaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Good hotel to stay, but clearly bearing in mind that the alternatives are not great and that this is a developing country. Also stayed at the Lutheran hotel for one other night, which was much worse than Parkview Inn, even though it's the same category according to Lonely Planet guide and indeed not that much different in price.

A good place to stay and take a hot shower in a relatively clean room after climbing Kilimanjaro. Reasonably good food in the hotel restaurant (which closes at 9pm for those planning to arrive late in Moshi).

On room quality - although the bed was made, the sheets looked like someone had slept in the bed and the rest was just covered over. Otherwise a clean room, has mosquito nets.

Great view over Kilimanjaro from a terrace on the 4th (or 5th) floor of one of the buildings in the complex.

What is reasonably helpful is that the hotel has a relatively good exchange rate if you're paying in USD for extras / evening meals (important as some restaurants in town have rediculous FX rates sometimes 20% above what you can get in the bank).

I would stay again in this place if back in Moshi for some reason.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukaszadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed at the Parkview Inn before and after our Kilimanjaro climb and Safari. The hotel is actually quite nice, centrally located and with nice views of Kilimanjaro from it's (curiously unused) rooftop terrace. The rooms are clean and comfortable, particularly the ones in the new annex. The one thing that spoiled it for us and the reason why I can't recommend staying at the Parkview Inn is that the service was the most unfriendly I've ever come across. The two receptionists in particular were lackadaisical at the best of times and downright rude at others. On the morning we left for the Kili trek, I was accused of stealing a towel and had my bags searched. Unsurprisingly, the towel wasn't in the bags (mainly because I hadn't taken it) and noone even bothered to apologise or help me repack.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Not the friendliest service. Room very nice with modern amenities. Easy to walk around the town. Good restaurant. Pool nice but hardly anywhere to lounge in the sun.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

This hotel is near the Bristol where I usually sleep when in Moshi. For a change I tried this time hte Parkview where some business contacts were ataying as well. The first room which I was shown did not have a functioning A/C but the 2nd one had. All appliances were working and the room was clean. There is a little swimming pool as well. There isn't much vegetation in the yard. Usually you so not find booze there but for some long-time guests they always have some bottles of chilled beer, but not officially on the menu. My contacts advised me not to have dinner there but anywhere else. Breakfast was not so good, lack of variety. The coffee was lousy. Imagine that in the Kilimanjaro region some of the best coffee on this planet is grown! Summary: when I visit Moshi again I'll lodge again at the Bristol!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serengeti55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

It was my first stay in Moshi, and the hotel was arranged by our local staff in Dar es Salaam. The room was cozy, clean and comfortable. The meals were good enough. The only one thing to improve is the reception. If the hospitality at the reception gets better, they will have many more guests and reputation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.3 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 17 in Moshi
237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 17 in Moshi
45 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ameg Lodge Kilimanjaro
1.9 mi away
Salinero Kilimajaro Hotel
0.8 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Inn

Address: Aga Khan Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range: £64 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in Moshi, Tanzania on the foothills of Mount Kilimanjaro, Parkview Inn offers unprecedented levels of quality and comfort at reasonable prices. Our rooms are specifically designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Parkview Inn offers rooms that combine luxury, comfort and convenience. The hotel features many facilities and services including backup generator, electric fencing and air-conditioning to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Parkview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Inn Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing