We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable with a view of Kilimanjaro”
Review of Parkview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkview Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable with a view of Kilimanjaro”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Well located across from a park, within easy walking distance of the center, restuarants, etc.; some rooms have good views of Kilimanjo. Breakfast was fine. Many people seem to use it as a base for hiking up Kilimanjaro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Kilimanjaro on the 2nd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    81
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
31
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed here for pre and post kili trek. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Bath available upon request. Restaurant was ok, there was no milk at breakfast which was poor. We also had to pay for a cab in advance when it was booked to take us to kili airport. Very strange indeed. The hotel manager was friendly but some of the receptionists were a bit sullen. Good value however and provided a decent shower when back from kili along with a nice cold beer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The hotel is ideally located for access to central Moshi and provides a good base for climbing Kilimanjaro. The hotel offers comfort and cleanliness together with a good breakfast. Parking, wifi and the pool all add convenience but the overwhelming warmth of the staff, particularly Emma and Anna and the rest of the ladies on reception will make you feel like a visiting friend!

I look forward to my next visit! Thank you.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have trouble with stairs ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaRLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my brother and his wife in 2011 when we climbed Kilimanjaro. You've got to give this hotel a 5 star rating when you accept that it is in Moshi, and then, that you also accept you aren't staying at the Ritz Carlton! Oh, and for the price, I'm not sure what else you could even expect as it was great value. The rooms were clean and the bed let me get some great sleep after my flight there, and an even better night's rest after our successful climb. You meet plenty of incredible people that are nearly all there to make the climb up Kili and you can pick up plenty of tips before you set off (and share tips when you get back down).

The food was decent but trust me when I say they are in no rush to get the food out to you. Many people order their food, then head outside for a couple of cold beers and hang out for an hour or so before venturing back inside. Breakfast was also included in our stay and was decent.

The view of Kili (if you get lucky with the clouds parting) is amazing from the terrace at the top of the main tower.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed at the Parkview Inn before and after a trip to Kilimanjaro. We found it to be clean, quiet and had friendly staff. A good value. Close to city center of Moshi on foot. Security wasn't an issue. Pool area was clean, court yard was well kept and kitchen served quality meals. Kitchen area was also very clean. Restaurant had a decent menu with lots of choices. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms which face the court yard/pool area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Over the years, I have stayed at the Parkview at least 10 times. Each time, I have been pleased at the cleanliness of the rooms, the quality of the food, security, and the personable and attentive service. With great views of Kilimanjaro from the second floor (which for many is their first glimpse of the mountain after flying in at night), the hotel has a great breakfast, laundry service, and because it is downtown - has easy access to banks, gifts, and restaurants. Dinner is good too out by the pool. Plus the Kili is cold! I always recommend it to travelers and my clients.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank responsibletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here both pre and post Mount Kilimanjaro climb. Everything was excellent from the staff, rooms, beds, pool to the restaurant which served up very tasty, reasonably priced food with cold beer (not easy to get a beer with your meal in a lot of places in Moshi). Fantastic. There is also a great view of the mountain from the sitting area on the top floor (which seemed rarely used). The hotel is affiliated with a company organizing Mount Kilimanjaro climbs but we organized our own trek with ‘Diamond Glacier Adventures’, who I recommend very highly (see full review in the Kilimanjaro National Park – Mount Kilimanjaro section).

Moshi itself is a smaller, cleaner, friendlier version of Arusha, worth a stroll around. Most folk are here to prepare (or recover) from the climb.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.3 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
1.9 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Q Wine Hotel
Q Wine Hotel
#10 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Inn

Property: Parkview Inn
Address: Aga Khan Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally in Moshi, Tanzania on the foothills of Mount Kilimanjaro, Parkview Inn offers unprecedented levels of quality and comfort at reasonable prices. Our rooms are specifically designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Parkview Inn offers rooms that combine luxury, comfort and convenience. The hotel features many facilities and services including backup generator, electric fencing and air-conditioning to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Parkview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Inn Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing