We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such friendly staff and relaxing retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lutheran Uhuru Hostel
Ranked #32 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The hotel is located a short distance from central Moshi (1.5km) however provides an excellent base for climbing Kilimanjaro. The hotel, although dated, offers comfort and cleanliness together with a good breakfast. Plentiful parking and beautiful tranquil gardens offer a peaceful haven near enough and far enough away from the bustle of Moshi but the overwhelming warmth of the staff, particularly Rachel on reception will make you feel like a visiting friend! As party of the church complex no alcohol is served or permitted on the premises but with stunning views, beautiful gardens and the Green Banana BBQ restaurant you won't mind foregoing the booze for a couple of days!
I look forward to revisiting! Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaRLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Lutheran Uhuru Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

Clean hotel, good design to accommodate all needs of a traveler and very affordable. The restaurants especially the barbecue place is fantastic. Keep the good work. Really recommended for everyone to taste.

Room Tip: New buildings rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I have travelled in and out of Tanzania for the last three years and have found that the Lutheran Uhuru Hotel is my make shift second home while living in Tanzania. After a long day in the city or working coming "home" for a delicious meal was the best part. The internet sometimes liked to test us every now and then, however, it is what is expected!

The staff make you feel welcome and I loved getting to know everybody!

The rooms could use some updating, however, when you are hot, tired and hungry this place definitely accomodates those needs!

I will definitely be using the Lutheran Uhuru again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a nice hostel in Moshi. It has good security and nice grounds with lots of space to roam. The staff was friendly and more than cordial. The rooms were basic and fairly clean. The bathroom was not as clean as it should have been and the shower curtain had a fowl odor. There was also mildew in the shower. We stayed in the older part (circa 1996) so make sure to stay in the newer rooms. They are nicer and have views of Kilminjaro if the clouds cooperate. We only had one short power outage. There are TVs in the room but only about 4 or 5 channels and usually only one or two in English. The TVs are locked in a small cage which doesn't make the room feel secure. The walls need to be scrubbed or repainted as do the floors. The balcony area was nice and is a good place to take a nap. You will have to get used to the smell of burning trash as they burn trash daily and the odor fills up the campus. The food is buffet style and is pretty good although variety was lacking. I stayed there for almost a week and enjoyed the tee time twice daily at 1030am and 4pm. You have your own hot water heater so use it sparingly. I unfortunately did take a few hot showers. Also make sure to turn it on early enough to allow the water to heat up. That would be at least an hour surely not the 10 minutes they claim.There is wifi and internet room for a price. You actually buy minutes to use and they expire a day after you first log on and the internet is slow. There is not much in the area to walk and see so drive if possible. There is a club next door which you can hear playing music loudly especially on the weekends. Make sure to eat at the Green Bamboo Restaurant, it is similiar to a Brazilian Restaurant. It is basically centered around MEAT. They do a good job.

Room Tip: Get the mountainview with the newer rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The first time we stayed, they had lost our reservation and were stuck in the older rooms, bit on the dirty side. The second time, the newer rooms were much nicer

Great views of Mt. Kilimanjaro.

Excellent grill at the restaurant, but other foods were ok...if they had them. No Pizza for you! Restaurant can be a little chaotic with the kids running around and the tables on the lawn, but once we found our waiter, service was excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the rooms with AC, these are newer and cleaner. Definitely worth tthe extra 5,0...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjcameron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

As far as Africa is concerned, I have stayed in worse, and I have stayed in far better. Like the other reviews, the towels are tiny. We had electricity 75% of the time, water 65% of the time, and hot water 45% of the time. Forget the wireless. It will be fixed tomorrow, if you know what I mean. The food is edible, unless you eat at the Green Bamboo, in which case the BBQ is excellent.

Room Tip: get the suite if possible
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallitorojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I have stayed at Uhuru during two visits to Moshi. Last time my comfortable room had a veranda with a fabulous view of Kilimanjaro. The compound is secure, the food is very good, especially at the new "Green Bamboo Barbecue". Breakfast is a basic buffet with eggs to order. The staff is very warm and friendly. New last year was wireless internet.

I will definitely stay here again.

They also arrange great safari adventures at a very reasonable cost. I have participated twice in Serengeti/Ngorongoro safaris arranged by Uhuru - both went great.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.0 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 17 in Moshi
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 17 in Moshi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 70 in Moshi
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#1 of 70 in Moshi
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutheran Uhuru Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutheran Uhuru Hostel

Address: Near Moshi-Arusha Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Price Range: £11 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi
Lutheran Uhuru Hostel Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing