We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moshi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lutheran Uhuru Hostel
Ranked #31 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
St. Lucia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

First night our AC was turned off. We were told the power went off but later told that they were simply trying to save money and turned it off. The room was average size but not very clean. The staff was friendly but not efficient. After verifying that they accepted CC beforehand -- I was told at check out that the CC reader was broke forcing me to pay cash.

The food was pretty bad and the waiter never got the orders correct.

Careful at the internet cafe -- they sell minuets -- but at the end of each day all unused minuets expire. Order days not minuets.

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
4
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have stayed at the Uhuru twice and both visits have been very good, but it is the caring and personable staff that makes it like a home away from home. Front desk workers are friendly and never miss a chance to smile and greet guests, Nelson is attentive and helpful with logistics of tourism and accessing activities in the area and the food service staff is helpful and kind.
Rooms are clean, utilitarian and roomy enough. Grounds are green, pretty and well maintained with many spaces for sitting or meeting people, including the great Killi viewing spot. Both restaurants are serviceable with some very good options including mixed juices, soups (especially the pumpkin!) and grilled meats at The Green Bamboo.
Overall a great place to spend time in Moshi.

Room Tip: Recommend the wing across the back of the property for a/c and views. Sometimes the monkeys are noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here for one night after a long trans-Atlantic flight. This is not luxury, but the room was far better than the name "hostel" would suggest. Double bed, bedding was warm enough. Basic and simple furnishings include a desk, phone, and the balcony opened up onto a garden. Bathroom had hot water and was clean. Breakfast offerings and the main reception are not as nice as the rooms, but as a basic transit point, this Lutheran Uhuru is a good option. It's also a drive from town, not walkable. Communication and booking with the staff was very easy as my emails were replied to very quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Kili lookout is by far the best asset of this hotel (it's not a hostel). The rooms are comfortable and showers provide hot water (just be sure to switch it on!). Mosquito nets are a little small for the beds, but do the trick nonetheless. Hotel is kept clean. Price is a little much for what is provided.
Breakfast is pretty good - you can get eggs any way you want them done. It is a little bit outside of central Moshi, but there are great areas to explore around. There is a bar with a tree fort sitting area close by. As you walk out of the hotel, turn right and it is about 5 minutes down the road - impossible to miss!
Be warned it is a dry facility and there is no alcohol available for purchase or allowed on property.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer155021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Two pet peeves:

The restaurant: Incredibly slow service and unprofessional staff but overall good food.

Toilets: Not clean enough. Need proper soap dishes and the soap..well that's just another story.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana31Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The hotel is located a short distance from central Moshi (1.5km) however provides an excellent base for climbing Kilimanjaro. The hotel, although dated, offers comfort and cleanliness together with a good breakfast. Plentiful parking and beautiful tranquil gardens offer a peaceful haven near enough and far enough away from the bustle of Moshi but the overwhelming warmth of the staff, particularly Rachel on reception will make you feel like a visiting friend! As party of the church complex no alcohol is served or permitted on the premises but with stunning views, beautiful gardens and the Green Banana BBQ restaurant you won't mind foregoing the booze for a couple of days!
I look forward to revisiting! Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaRLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Clean hotel, good design to accommodate all needs of a traveler and very affordable. The restaurants especially the barbecue place is fantastic. Keep the good work. Really recommended for everyone to taste.

Room Tip: New buildings rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.0 mi away
Q Wine Hotel
Q Wine Hotel
#10 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Siesta Inn Hotel
New Siesta Inn Hotel
#9 of 50 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stella Maris Lodge
Stella Maris Lodge
#2 of 65 in Moshi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lutheran Uhuru Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutheran Uhuru Hostel

Property: Lutheran Uhuru Hostel
Address: Near Moshi-Arusha Road, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Lutheran Uhuru Hotel Moshi
Lutheran Uhuru Hostel Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing