We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great part of my Mt. Kilimanjaro Marathon experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great part of my Mt. Kilimanjaro Marathon experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here a couple years ago when I traveled to Moshi to do the Mt. Kilimanjaro Marathon. I had a great time - the rooms were nice, the grounds were kept up really well, the food was delicious, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I was there for a little over a week and got to know the chef and some of the other employees pretty well. They would always go out of their way to make sure that I was enjoying my stay. The location is also really nice - it's on the edge of town, so things are a little more secluded and quiet, and like others have said, when the skies are clear, it offers great views of Mt. Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    80
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
46
50
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great place, good location, very nice people, nice rooms, great food, always on beck and call.
Would highly recommend to stay here. The drivers that took us around in the jeep for the 7 day excursion were also really good. Everyone knows english very well and there were no issues.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Manish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent Indian food, friendly staff, quiet clean and beautiful hotel with great amenities and excellent rooms. Also it offers good views of Kilimanjaro if and when skies are clear. But the place is in the middle of nowhere and very hard to find anything around besides some beer at a very small local bar around the corner of the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harsh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was clean, the rooms were large and modern for Tanzania. It had a nice pool area and it was excellent value for money with all meals included (the food was fantastic)!

I stayed here after climbing Kilimanjaro and it was ideal to chill out as it was quiet and comfortable. I liked that it was slightly away from moshi town centre so it wasn't noisy but to get there you would need to get a cab. The lovely receptionist was happy to handle the cab booking for me.

Room Tip: Around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank averageexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

super stay at mountain inn while doing our kili climb. ideal place for base for the kili climb. both shah tours and mountain inn experience was memorable. food was fantastic and had great party after successfully summit the kilimanjaro. they even had birthday cake ready for one of our group member.


Remee's guidance through out was so help in our success. Thanx !!!

udayan patel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank UDAYAN PRABHUDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We really appreciate the time you have taken to review us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the celebrations after the climb, the stay and the food at Mountain Inn! Congratulations on your achievements up Kili and we look forward to having you and your whole group back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely place to stay and ideal for Kilimanjaro Trekkers! Staff took great care of us both before and after our climb. There was hot water for all 17 of us when we got back from climbing Kilimanjaro which was excellent! I would definitely recommend Mountain Inn

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seneesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to review us! Great to know that you had a pleasant stay at Mountain Inn. The water is heated with solar panels and we're glad you enjoyed it! Karibu tena (welcome again) to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Amazing trip. Fantastic friendly hotel.
Would recommend to everyone.
Climbed Kilimanjaro for Charity and was recommended this hotel.
Clean. Good food. Great staff.
Great customer service.
Amazing is all that can be said. Amazing place. Amazing people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rachael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain-Inn-TZ, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. It's a pleasure to have amazing guests like you too! A big congrats on your charity climb up Kili. We hope to have you back soon and thank you for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0.9 mi away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
133.7 mi away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
0.8 mi away
Q Wine Hotel
Q Wine Hotel
#10 of 16 in Moshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Property: Mountain Inn
Address: Taifa Road | Kiborloni, Mnazi, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Moshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Inn is the perfect base hotel conveniently located: - 5kms from Moshi town on the road to Marangu / main gate to Kilimanjaro National Park- Approximately one hour to Marangu gate - Half an hours drive to Mweka gate- Approximately one hour to Kilimanjaro International Aiport. Mountain Inn has 24 spacious en-suite rooms (singles, doubles and triples) allowing preparations before and after a Kili trek to be easily handled. Our restaurant is one of the very few in Moshi that serves freshly prepared meals including breakfast, lunch and dinner with a set menu, a la carte menu and an Indian menu by our experienced chefs. The small fully stocked bar and gardens are a popular place for meeting fellow trekkers. Services & Activities: Free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, massage & more! Itineraries planned by Shah Tours and Travels include accommodation at Mountain Inn unless otherwise specified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shah Tours - Mountain Inn Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi
Mountain Inn Moshi, Tanzania - Kilimanjaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing