We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facility, and wonderfully run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor at Ngorongoro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Manor at Ngorongoro is a beautiful site and facility, with spectacular views. It is extremely well run, with excellent food, and all the amentiies. The manager, Roddy Meiring and his wife are wonderful. Roddy went far beyond the call in helping us deal with a minor medical problem. I recommend the Manor enthusiastically and without reservation. If you have the chance to go there, don't miss it !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank billsporch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Manor at Ngorongoro at the end of an amazing trip to the Serengeti organized by Africa Dream Safaris (an awesome outfitter). Driving up to the Manor, you go through lush coffee plantations. You are welcomed at the charming reception area with a cold towel and a refreshing drink. You are checked in and taken through the gorgeous lodge (wide-planked floors, library, dining room, all looking like something out of Downton Abbey) to your room. Your room has a sitting area, a fire place, a European bathroom, and luxury linens. You are provided sherry, coffee and tea service, and biscuits. It also has its own private patio.

The managers are warm and helpful. The staff's service is impeccable and friendly, the facilities offer everything you could imagine (riding stable, pool, spa services, beautiful gardens), the food is wonderful. And the setting is gorgeous. I've stayed at the Ritz and the Georges Cinq in Paris, Hayman Island in the Great Barrier Reef and the Shangri-La in Hong Kong, and the Manor at Ngorongoro ranks right up there with the best of the best. My only regret is that we were only there for one night!

Room Tip: The rooms are all spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Exstreeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Manor. Room was clean, staff very friendly, great service, wonderful food and gorgeous grounds. Lots of special attention such as locally grown and fresh coffee brought to your room in the morning, wonderful picnic lunch to enjoy on the Crater (other tours were jealous of our lunch spread) and then a nice hot drawn bubble bath to enjoy on return from the Safari. Nice to sit out on a porch, enjoy a fire with a view over vast coffee plantations and sipping a glass of Merlot. To top it all off, was wonderful to find hot water bottles in our bed to keep us warm at night. Would definitely return and keep one day open to enjoy the grounds, take a horseback ride and relax and read a book.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilleand11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights and loved this very special place. As our name implies we are a 5-star diva travel family and this place exceeded all of our expectations.

Location--yes, about 1 hour from Ngorongoro crater but really not a big deal. The drive over was fine. Yes, the road getting to the Manor is a bit rough. Welcome to Africa! The road was fine and certainly not atypical or any worse than many of the roads on safari.

Rooms--fabulous. Our family of 4 (2 kids ages 14 and 11) stayed in a 2 room cottage. While there was no internal connection between our 2 adjoining rooms, going back and forth across our lovely patio overlooking the coffee plantation was easy (and with such a view!). The rooms are as amazing as the pictures and very comfortable and immaculate.

Environs--breathtaking grounds and vistas.

Staff--wonderful. You are "assigned" your own waiter for the length of your stay. Very nice touch...he learned exactly what we wanted and it made tipping much easier.

Hotel amenities--top-notch. Wifi in the main house was good, fast, and free (like it should be). The billiards table and the massive projector TV (where several us gathered to watch the world cup) were awesome. Laundry was excellent, same day, and free (like it should be). Went horse back riding--a little more rugged than my kids had done previously but still recommended. My wife enjoyed her spa treatment as well.

Staff--excellent as to be expected. The couple from Zimbabwe who run the place were lovely.

Meals--delicious (and my kids always found something to eat!). Time of meals was flexible and never felt it was a bother to show up a little early. Our waiter "Little John" was so nice and on-point with everything. All is included including soft-drinks, bottled water, and basic alcohol (like it should be).

Safari to Ngorongoro--just perfect. Our guide Hamisi was top-notch, friendly, and made a perfect day. The picnic lunch provided from the Manor was unbelievable in its quantity, quality, and variety...with tables, fold out leather safari chairs, table cloth, real silverware, real drinks.

A wonderful family memory. Strongest recommendations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5StarDivaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the minute we arrived until we reluctantly left we were pampered, fed and made to feel at home every minute. Everyone was ready to make this a once in a life time experience. After a long day on a photo safari it was nice to come "home."

Room Tip: Any room will be the right room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Harvey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Manor at Ngorongoro was spectacular! I believe it's one of the finest experiences we've ever had - the facilities are beautiful, the grounds are serene - looking out over the coffee plantation - I felt like I was in a movie set! The staff were so attentive and courteous and gave 150% - from the waitstaff to the housekeepers - the special touches that make you feel welcomed and cared-for. Our butler, Peter, was so attentive and gracious - the food was excellent. Our guide for the safari, Adam, did an excellent job and served a lovely lunch down in the caldera. I recommend this beautiful place without any caveats or reservations. We wish we could have stayed longer - definitely would have taken a horseback ride and a tour of the plantation - I'd also like to explore the surrounding countryside and villages. We only stayed 2 nights - and I truly wish we'd booked 4!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank precia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The location is amazing , high on a hill surrounded by coffee plants. The actual hotel "rooms" are actually individual English cottage style villas with their own terraces and lounging chairs. We were there at the end of June which is their winter, so it was a bit chilly at night, but while you are at dinner, they light the fire in the fireplace in the bedroom. We thought the manor was very old, but is actually less than 10 years old, but has been decorated in such a way that it feels like a period hotel. The hosts were charming and Shariff took excellent care of us. The crater is stunning , and is about 15 minutes outside the park, although it takes longer to actually drive into the crater. We highly recommend this hotel which is part of the Elewana chain, with which we were very impressed.

Room Tip: They all have excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank joyceOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
10.8 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
691 reviews
3.5 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
109 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,648 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 51 in Karatu
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor at Ngorongoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Ngorongoro

Address: Ngorongoro Road | Shangri-La Estate, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: £747 - £1,383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor at Ngorongoro 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area within the 1500 acre, Shangri-La Estate, The Manor at Ngorongoro is reminiscent of a elegant, up-country farm home in the Cape Dutch-style of architecture. The Manor at Ngorongoro, with its 20-luxurious guest cottage suites, is one of the first luxury safari experiences in the region to fuse East African safari hospitality with old world Afro-European architecture, and décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The Manor at Ngorongoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor At Ngorongoro Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing