We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved It” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crater Forest Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crater Forest Tented Camp
harare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Loved It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our stay in Crater Forest was just good. We were having evening tea at our balcony, while enjoying the sunset over the forest of Ngorongoro. This is really a breathtaking sight. My husband and I loved it.
The tents are clean, and big enough, though the bathrooms are somewhat basic. We had to wait a long time before the water warmed up, but in the end we could both have a hot shower which was very welcome. It can become quite cold here in the night, so the staff lit our fire place in the room before we went to sleep. That was nice, though a little Smokey in the beginning.
The ride here was quite bumpy, but we were told that it is also possible to walk to the camp after your safari. So for anyone still going: we would recommend arranging this in advance!
The food was alright, we actually enjoyed it. The cutleries were clean, glass clean. We can’t really complain about anything. The highlight for me was the setting, overlooking this valley with tropical forest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in Sept 2012, a great experience.
A 30 min drive from the main tarmac road just outside the gates of the Ngorongoro Consevation area.
Driving past local residents going about their daily lives, through a coffee plantation, a bumpy ride but you eventually arrive to a warm welcome, a small camp, well set out. Seperate bar and restruant buildings, both next to the open campfire. Individual 'tents' are on stilted platforms with a 'banana leafed' roof above your tent.
Out tent had a double bed, all have flush loo's, shower with plenty of hot water, you might have to run the hot tap a while, every thing comes to those who wait!
Our evening meal was superb, 4 courses and some of the best food we had on our trip, no choice in the soup or starter courses, but a choice of 2 I think on the main and desert, then tea/coffee to follow.
We were offered and subsequently purchased some ground coffee from the plantation.
Massai 'warriors' escorted you along the dimly lit walkways from the restruant to the central loo's or back to your tent after dinner.
Like most places we visited there is no electricity between midnight and 5am. A small torch is reccomended and advised by most tour operators.
Again every lodge / tented accomodation we stayed in had UK style 3 pin plug sockets so we didn't need an adapter.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moshi, Kilimanjaro, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I spent a night in my stay there, it was the most annoying camp i have ever seen, it was on a rainy season and the camp is situated almost 25kms from the tarmac road, on the rainy season it will take you almost 2hours to drive to the camp if your lucky enough that your jeep doesn't get stuck in the mud for the whole day. The camp management is poor, the food not satisfying at all, the rooms are yet the most annoying of all, beds are separated, the toilets aren't clean, no mosquito nets and many other things to disappoint you, i will never recommend you to stay in this place during your holiday, no matter how low your budget is, you better camp at the crater rim than sleeping here, or else your are really excited of being dissapointed. Dont go for this one!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abubakar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Crater Forest Tented Camp, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your review of Crater Forest Tented Camp.

I hope that you will not mind if I pick up on and respond to a couple of the points which you raise in your review?

Just to clarify - the camp is situated only 10 Kilometers from the main road and even during the rainy season, the road remains passable as it is the same road used by the coffee growers and processors in the area to get the produce down to the markets and factories.

Due to our proximity to Karatu Town, all meats and vegetables are bought fresh from the village and of all our strengths at the camp, the food remains to be the most highly rated by our guests, followed by the rooms and management.

The camp has 8 twin bedded rooms as well as 7 double bedded rooms, so some rooms have twin beds while others have double beds - all rooms can also be converted to double beds on request or by providing this information at the time of booking.

It is not possible for Mosquitoes to survive in the high altitude of the Ngorongoro Crater and its environs and this is why most of the camps and lodges in this area do not have mosquito nets in the rooms. We however have coverings over the windows and all tent outlets to protect other types of insects from coming into the tent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels

Montreal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We arrived at the Crater Forest Tented Camp after about an hour long very bumpy ride from the Ngorongoro Conseration Area for an overnight stay before heading to Arusha the next day. The staff is very friendly and the food is quite decent; however there is not much to do in and around the tented camp - we tried to go on a walk but we were quickly warned by the Massai staff of the dangers of buffalo and so therefore we decided to stay within the camp grounds. Guided nature walks were available at a price of about $15 per person which we thought was a little pricey considering that the camp was located within rural farm land and coffee plantations. While the tents are relatively modern with flushing toilets and running water, the electricity in the tents was only turned on at about 6:20 which was a little late because it started to get dark at around 6:00 and the water took a very long time to warm up (about 5 minutes). The highlight of this camp, was definitely the 4 elephants that we saw grazing in the forested slope metres away from our tent. This was the closest view that we got of elephants and beat what we saw on safari in the Serengeti. However, in retrospect, we would not have stayed here because the hour-long bumpy ride was not worth it and there was really nothing to do in and around the camp.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the forested slopes behind the camp for a chance to see the elephants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We checked into this place during our African Safari trip and the first thing I noticed was that it was situated among coffee plantations high up in the mountains. We were brought to our tented hut and I will admit, the view from the back porch was magnificent. I then checked out the room and it was just 3 twin beds (we asked for 1 queen)...no mosquito nets...and the beds had posts made of hard wood logs which scrape your legs every time you pass them. The bathroom worked however we had NO HOT WATER and were forced to take cold showers then go out into the cold. It was very unpleasant.

I met the rest of our group in the main restaurant and ordered a drink. I literally saw a staff member take a dirty glass from a table, wipe it with a rag, and pour my drink into it!!!! I asked him to make a new one and watched him get me a new glass.

Later that night, dinner was served...we were not given a choice and it was just ok.

Breakfast was the real kicker...It took 3 attempts to explain that I just wanted a cheese omelet. It came and it was bad even thought it's pretty hard to screw up a simple order. I then glanced at the empty table next to me and noticed RODENT DROPPINGS all over one of the plates, silverware, napkins and everywhere...not 1 or two but literally DOZENS. The staff walked by many times and no one noticed it. It was enough to vomit. I could not eat my breakfast anymore and just wanted to get out of there.

If you're looking for a simple, tented place to crash and "rough it"...this is the place. If you'd like feel like you're at least safe, comfortable, and attended to...THIS IS NOT THE PLACE!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSuweidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

A friend and I stayed one night there. The setting is pleasant, the tents have an elegant rustic feel, some tents (but not ours) had a nice view on a forested slope with animals (elephants). However the ride to the camp was extremely bumpy for an hour and it wasn't worth it. The place was very cold at night, with no spare comforters, and management never informed us on how to call for help at night. That is a very serious problem in a place where wild animals roam around at night and you can't walk out on your own. Also, when we arrived, they had lost one of our reservations. They told us to sit outside while they were looking and simply forgot to tell us anything, they just kept us waiting. Finally, the food was very mediocre, it felt like being at camp as a kid with Maggi soup and hardened steak. Next time I would probably rather stay in Karatu.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ploumParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Based on the descent reviews we have booked this lodge for two days. After arival we first thought that things are pretty ok till they brought us to our tent. The beds where seperated (not nice on your honeymoon), many insects and NO muskito net. We have been at this accomodation for about 30 minutes and then we decided we dont want to spent two days of our holidays here so we moved out immediately.

The road to the crater forest camp is very sandy and when it rains it is very hard to drive this road. So if you think you can access the crater easy then you are wrong. It is much better to book a lodge wich is inside the crater, saves much time and you have great views in the crater.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinus-Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
7.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge
#18 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.8 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
St. Catherine Monastery, Camaldolesian Benedectine Nuns
2.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Forest Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Forest Tented Camp

Property: Crater Forest Tented Camp
Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crater Forest Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful tented camp at the edge of the Ngorongoro Tropical Forest.Enjoy romantic sun downers or twilight dinners on your veranda with theastonishing landscape views of the dense forest. Watch wildlife, likeelephants, roaming through the forest, hear the lions roar and listen to the magical sounds of the tropical night.The camp is set a 10 kilometer scenic drive away from the main road leading from the bustling commercial center of Karatu town to the famous Ngorongoro Crater. The camp is located on a highland coffee plantation at an altitude of 1,800 m, directly bordering the Ngorongoro Crater Conservation Area (NCAA). Forest Crater Tented Camp is operated as a small scale eco-friendly camp with 15 luxury tented rooms, on highly raised platforms with magnificent views over the Ngorongoro Forest. The rooms are spacious, stylishly furnished and have en-suite bathrooms with a hot shower and flush toilet. There is even an African-style fire pot in every room, to keep warm in those chilly upland nights. In the morning you will wake up to the sounds of the awakening forest, when the nocturnal wildlife makes way for a mistily rising sunlight. Rise and shine for a new day…Staying at Crater Forest Tented Camp will be an experience you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Crater Forest Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing