We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could have stayed for more than one night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
543 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed for more than one night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My stay at this lodge was much too short. The grounds were beautiful and the views were amazing. The lodge is located outside of one of the crater gates- it took at least half an hour from the crater floor to reach there. The location is particularly convenient if you are coming from or going to Arusha.

The cottages were very nice and included a sitting room, bedroom, and deck. They also have all of the conveniences you would expect in a hotel including free wifi. The weather was much cooler here than I expected so I appreciated the double sided fireplace. Meals in the lodge restaurant were wonderful. There were a limited number of vegetarian items on the dinner menu so the chef prepared a menu especially for us, which was delicious. Breakfast was wonderful as well. I did not try the spa but the menu looked very tempting.

Overall, this lodge has all of the conveniences of some of the more popular lodges near the crater but in my opinion is a lot more interesting and beautiful than staying in a standard hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    43
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
118
173
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at the Exploreans for only 1 night. That is our biggest complaint to ourselves! The photos don't do this place justice at all. We knew and heard from reviews that this place was worth staying at more than a lot of other lodges in the Conservation area. You really do need to be there to truly experience the views and the exceptional service.

This was honestly one of the very few 5-star hotels that my husband and I have ever stayed with. Maybe that is why we were so easily impressed. But I think it is valid to say that we were thoroughly impressed mainly because when you are here, you are perched on top of the crater in the most lush forests and to think that you are fully and beautifully provided for in the middle of nowhere is just incredible.

The first thing that impressed us when we arrived was the pruned landscape. The flowers are bright and so perfect, the lawn was trimmed perfectly, the paths were clear and clean. It was paradise! When we arrived, we were introduced to the place and briefed on all the services that were provided, including a spa on the premises. The dining room was spacious and very professional. The food was the best of all the lodges on our trip. We were so stuffed after the multiple-course meals! Our time here also marked the near-end of our honeymoon safari trip. We treated ourselves to a body and foot massage at the spa, which was PERFECT after being in the bush for 9 days prior.

Our room was HUGE and included a large porch with a dining table. We had two fireplaces that kept us warm during the chilly Ngorongoro night. For our honeymoon, the staff so kindly laid out a nice dessert, wine, and flower in our room for us to also enjoy when we arrived and also when we returned from dinner. I'm not sure if this was the honeymoon suite that we had, but because our 'hut' was situated lower on the hill than the other huts, we were in full privacy on our porch when we stepped out. We had filled out a survey at the end of trip and the only thing that we suggested to them was that they install more wall hooks. Such a minor complaint!

Everything about the place was spectacular. When we departed, the manager came out to meet us and see us off. He was very proud of the beautiful property and his staff. I would definitely return on another very special occasion. Thank you for such a memorable time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sodapop81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge is a breath taking resort with huge stand alone 2 room cabins and all the amenities including a private deck.
The staff was excellent! The food Great.
Mixed feelings?? We were on safari and never dreamt we would stay in this luxurious of facilities!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lodge for two nights during a safari to the Ngorongoro Crater. The lodge is very closer to the entrance to Ngorongoro Crater, just about five minutes from the gate.

The staff were absolutely wonderful - everything from our welcome, to the bartenders and restaurant servers, reception, etc - they were all very helpful, friendly, attentive, and lovely to talk to.

We loved the attention to detail - lovely scented towels, turn down service with a hot water bottle, choice of scented pillows for sleeping, and fresh juice for our arrival. The suite was beautiful and spacious, with a nice fireplace, very comfortable bed, and a great bathroom, shower, and good view from the back porch - we were in awe of the whole place. The pool was lovely (though a bit cold!), with a nice view of the forested landscape surrounding the lodge.

The food was delicious, including our boxed lunches for safari - neither of us could finish our safari lunches, they kept us very well fed!

Stanley, the manager, made it a point to personally welcome us and ensure we were happy with everything. When we checked out, he was there to say goodbye and wish us well on our travels.

We highly recommend staying at this lodge when visiting the crater. We are hoping to return to Tanzania again and we will absolutely stay here again if we have the chance to do safari again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at this lodge in February 2014, as the last pit stop on safari trip. We had spent a long day touring and were pretty weary as we arrived. Any fatigue quickly disappeared with the warm welcome by the manager Stanley and his staff. Those eucalyptus scented towels were a welcome and refreshing treat!. Our jaws dropped at the rooms. The rooms are huge, with a living room space (including fireplace), a large bedroom, bathroom and deck. The service was attentive and very friendly. The pool area is beautiful and overlooks the forested countryside. The food was delicious. It was the PERFECT place to stay while visiting the crater. We had stayed in some lovely spots along the way but this was the best. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Arriving at this lodge, after staying at a fine camp facility, still felt like reaching a naturally wonderful facility: well kept, well run and with generous services. We will gladly go back to enjoy the well planned and beautiful lodging, and the overflowing services. All together as close to A+ as possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wagih A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed there in Jan 2014, during the low season. It is top rated. I've stayed at a lot of luxury hotels, and this one is definitely up there. There is only 20 suites. A couple if them have a close view of the rim where animals often cross. There are quite a bit of stairs to them since they are away from the other 18. We booked the all inclusive package. Got greeted with hibiscus juice when we arrived and thorough briefing on what we could expect. The location is only 5-10min from the ngorongoro crater which was also a selling point. If I had suggestion, it would be to improve the coffee. The staff service and was impeccable. Mr Stanley, the lodge manager made it a point to meet us. Recommend the lodge, especially if you plan a safari nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
7.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#5 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#14 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
39.5 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#11 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge

Property: Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area 6222, Tanzania (Formerly Exploreans Ngorongoro Lodge)
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50 acres of virgin Tanzanian bush in the Ngorongoro volcanic landscape, this all suites wood log cabin style retreat is located a few steps from the Game Reserve Gate and 20 minutes drive away from the Ngorongoro Crater that is said to have the most dense concentration of wildlife in Africa. This all inclusive property features 20 spacious private log cabins with fire place, a restaurant, a bar and conference facilities. Indulge in moments of relaxation at the swimming pool or at the Mvua African Rain Spa after a full-day game drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing