We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location with beautiful view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location with beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel located just on the top of the Ngorongoro crater.
What to say? Excellent view, perfect location, just 30 min drive to the bottom of the crater.
Only thing to mention maybe even though it sounds obvious is that it is a BIG hotel belonging to a big Group (Serena) and therefore it is usually crowded and not really charming...
Having said that, it is a perfect place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoulouGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    398
    123
    36
    9
See reviews for
255
486
42
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is well planned out with great views of the caldera. The food is good and the decor is nice. I preferred the other serena hotels we stayed in to this, but mainly because of the location. No complaints here, but probably won't be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seeing_the_w0r1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I celebrated my 60th birthday while staying here on safari. The lodge is a unique property built into the side of the rim. All rooms face the crater so you can watch the fog lift in the morning or sit on your patio and watch the antelopes graze at sundown before heading to the bar for entertainment and a drink before dinner. The first night the entertainment was an African version of Cirque de Soleil style acrobats. The second night it was local Masaai singing and dancing. Both were quite worth it. After dinner you can relax by the fire pit and share your stories with other guests before retiring. Excellent rooms, service and experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the crater. It's impossible to pick a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed 1 night at this hotel. The room was fine. The meals were buffet style. As this was our second stay at a Serena we knew what to expect and wasn’t disappointed. The view of the Crater was amazing. The entertainment at night was nice. No complaints

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Unique lodge on side of crater, lots of walking from front lobby to the room, lots of
Large bedroom with a great balcony and great view of the crater. had fog in the morning and looked like a planet scape. really unique, room had unique animal paintings on stone walls and bedding and drapes .lamp like old oil lamp. large shower. free internet , safe in room. great service for porters.
only negative was the slow service in restaurant and only fair service with servers. food ok buffet all the time and found again only fair.
bar area lovely. great fireplace, and entertainment. snacks provided , warm cashews.
electricity went off every day for a short period of time. was difficult when we were charging batteries for cameras etc. \
also restaurant allowed a smoker to set up her dining table at the bottom of the stairs to the main restaurant. The smoke billowed up the stairs and it was offensive. It was a non smoking restaurant and bar but they allowed this one woman to chain smoke at her table. I complained but was told o well that is the way it is. stairs

Room Tip: we were in room # 2 far from reception but a good location for crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiefrombrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very unique lodge set on the side of the crater with amazing views. After a long day of Safari in Lake Manyara we were enchanted to arrive at this beautiful lodge! The balcony off the room was our favorite part where we sat both in the evening to star gaze and the morning to watch the sunrise! The air was crisp and the robes were warm. The bed was very comfortable and spacious. We ordered coffee to our room in the morning but it never came. The food at dinner was average, but the breakfast quite good! Very charming lodge none the less made entirely out of stone. Would definitely stay here when at the crater - its a must see!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the upper level and the view was spectacular. I think they are all good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crenee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I felt apart from the bush and didn't experience the sounds of the animals. Actually no animals around. However, there was a fabulous view of the Ngorongoro Crater. But too far to really see animals. Room was fine with 2 twin beds and a large bathroom. Patio with chairs

Room Tip: No elevator. I walked up stairs and stayed in room 41. Had to walk quite a ways to get to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acey071368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
7.7 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
24.7 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#5 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#14 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the jagged rim of the crater, wreathed in morning mist, camouflaged in river-stone and cloaked in indigenous creepers, the Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge is a triumph of ecological and architectural fusion. Sensitively constructed so as to take nothing from its environment whilst affording endless vistas over the heat-shimmering reaches of the crater below, the clustered boulder-built buildings of the Lodge hug the crater rim, linked by rope-lashed timber walkways that skirt the buttressed roots of ancient, liana-hung trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing