We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Surprise - Very good Accommodation with Views to Die for !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived here after driving from the Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge and entering the Ngorongoro Conservation Area. Our appetites were expecting spectacular scenery and this Lodge provided amazing views over the Ngorongoro Caldera/ Crater. It is a stone faced building built right into the edge / rim of the Crater and presents wonderful views across the whole valley. Yes with binoculars you can see a whole range of animals.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious, yes with traditional facilities , but perhaps not 5 star, but good quality and very comfortable accommodation.
Restaurant was of a good standard with buffet food for dinner and breakfast , drinks were served in good time and at reasonable prices. After dinner an excellent night of drummers and dancers and acrobats provided very good entertainment.
We were greeted by Maasai dancers and singers on arrival, it was spectacular. We were on middle level of the hotel / Lodge and had a good view , but believe the 3rd level would have been even better.
Please be conscious of the walk from reception to rooms and various levels of stairs need to be negotiated.

Room Tip: Be aware of the distance to walk from Reception and Dining areas to rooms and that there are stairs...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
There are newer reviews for Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The rooms are really good and unless I'm mistaken, all overlook to the Ngorongoro Caldera. Food is good and while unlike in other Serena Lodges the main course is not served off a buffet and are quite small for mains, you can ask for a second main... so you're not getting out hungry.

Stayed there twice for one night each, once we were in the lower floor, awakening with an extremely good looking sunrise, overlooking the unbelievably great looking caldera, while a Buffalo was having his breakfast 3 feet from our porch!!! Second time was in the higher floor, where you have a better view on the caldera, and fortunately also on a herd of cows with its Masai shepherd.

There's quite a walk from the reception to the rooms with steps on the way, make sure you ask for a porter to help you with luggage...

Room Tip: Second floor room have better views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syuval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was not a real luxury hotel, but the rooms were clean and the view was amazing. There were limited toiletries and towels provided. You could also not lock the window in the bathroom, which meant to did not feel that secure. At 7 am someone knocked on our door from housekeeping to see if we were up – we were then! This happened to our friends as well and seemed totally unnecessary. The staff walking down the corridors were also all chatting late at night, which meant with the open bathroom window it was not that restful.

Highlight from me was watching the acrobats and drummers – good evening of entertainment.

Room Tip: Just put a do not disturb on the door.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealWomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had an amazing time at the Ngorongoro Lodge. We came as a group after climbing Kilimanjaro. Our guide was Dao. He picked us up in Arusha. He brought us to the hotel from Arusha. It was a long drive but he was very informative along the way. He took a detour for a shopping and other small pit stops. We stayed at the lovely Serena Safari Lodge. The staff were very accommodating. The rooms overlooked the crater and was a breathtaking view.
Dao was so helpful and made sure we got to see everything we possibly could see. I don't believe we missed seeing any animal as he would drive around until we found what we were looking for. He answered all our questions and made sure we had the best couple of days.
He suggested we go early one morning and brought us a picnic breakfast where we proceeded to have breakfast by the hippos. On the way back, he brought us to a Maasai village and waited patiently while we spent almost 2 hours looking around. He took us to get blankets when he found out that a couple of us had our bags delayed. We strongly recommend asking for him as a guide; he enhanced our experience on the safari.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSomerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was the best hotel on my safari. The views from every room are amazing, all look over the vast crater. The showers are powerful, rooms comfortable and warm.
Food was plentiful, with mainly table service. The evening entertainment was enjoyable.
Due to the location, the hotel has been built with changeable weather in mind and all routes are tastefully under cover.
I want to stay here and enjoy the view forever.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMM22101963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We spend two nights here in between two camping safaris. The staff was great and made us feel at home. The connecting rooms we wonderful with outstanding views if the crater. The food was a bit disappointing. The were wonderful shows in the bar at night and nice sunrises over the crater in the mornings.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank rafe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is really luxury. Bue i did not like the architecture. it gives an impression that the hotel is built from pebbles. The corridors are cave-like and dark. The view from the rooms is marvellous,
The entertainment, Masai and Mexican-African music could not be less authentic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivar_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
10.1 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
423 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,597 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
171 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
96 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 51 in Karatu
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: £306 - £610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the jagged rim of the crater, wreathed in morning mist, camouflaged in river-stone and cloaked in indigenous creepers, the Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge is a triumph of ecological and architectural fusion. Sensitively constructed so as to take nothing from its environment whilst affording endless vistas over the heat-shimmering reaches of the crater below, the clustered boulder-built buildings of the Lodge hug the crater rim, linked by rope-lashed timber walkways that skirt the buttressed roots of ancient, liana-hung trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing