We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for crater safari stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for crater safari stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very nice rooms with view of crater. Friendly staff, above average food, nice lounge area. Great location for visiting the crater. Hotel supports the local Maasai primary school, which we were able to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    399
    123
    36
    9
See reviews for
255
486
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaucluse, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here on a small group safari, and this meant that we arrived late and left early and barely had time to enjoy this wonderful lodge. I loved my large, beautifully decorated room and the bathroom, and of course the view of the crater from my balcony. The pre-dinner entertainment (one night Masai dances, one night acrobatics) was a treat, and I thought the food was excellent. It is quite a big lodge, and very popular with larger groups, so it can get a bit noisy and congested at meal times. I would have liked to spend an extra day just so as to relax in the lodge once all the tourists had left for the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lutzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Serena Safari Lodge is like a little castle tucked away in the mountains around the Ngorongoro Crater ! After driving around the crater our family of 4 reached the lodge around 4pm. As everywhere in Tanzania and Kenya we were welcomed with hot towels and a fresh juice. The staff were warm and helpful. We were escorted to our rooms which were interconnected. Both rooms had a view of the crater and the alkaline lake. The rooms are comfortable and the turn down service included placing hot water bottles in our beds. It was fab to snuggle into a warm bed with the old fashioned hot water bottle!

The lodge had evening entertainment in the bar/lounge area. Again the view from here was fantastic! The ambience created makes you feel tucked away in a warm and safe corner of the world! We loved the atmosphere! People came dressed spiffy for pre meal drinks which was followed by dinner. The meals were well presented and wholesome. Our Africa safari was fully paid upfront so all the meals were included in the stay and only alcohol was an extra.

It is good idea to have warm clothes as it gets chilly.

A nice place to stay for a night! We were thrilled that the rooms had no TV!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to face the crater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyaDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is very well situated in relation to the crater. The view is excellent. The general experience of being in the hotel is very positive. I liked it better than what I expected from the photos.
The food is not great, but it is abundant, clean and healthy, important points when you are in Africa.
It's quite cold in the evenings and early morning, so take some warm clothes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavivita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A wonderful hotel located on a crater ridge, spacious rooms, with no tv and no ac( which is typical for all the lodges in the area). In the evening at the lobby bar there is a live performance by maasai tribe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lillu2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is built right on the rim of the Ngorongoro crater with an outstanding view of the crater below. The rooms are not luxurious but thew are a good size, clean, well appointed and nicely "themed" as the Serena Lodges usually are. Sunrise from our room balcony was truly a sight to behold. Service is friendly. The big complaint about this hotel is the food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all served buffet style and everyone eats at the same time. Lines at the buffet are long. Items finish quickly and some are not refilled and the quality of the food is not good. Most things were not tasty at all, others were outright inedible. Bread rolls were so hard we were bouncing them on the table. We visited several Serena Lodges and found the same thing. Hotel nicely themed, lousy food. They all serve the same things, the same menus, the same items in the buffet, so if you spend several weeks on safari like we did and stay at the different Serena Lodges, you en up sick and tired of the food.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view of the crater
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22travelMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Where do I begin? Okay, the architecture is interesting. Something like the stone age meets 1975, but it's not bad. And, the shower has the strongest water pressure I've ever felt. That's nice after a day of driving in the dust. Of course the view is amazing, and every room has that view. However, the food is slightly above terrible. Think Days Inn. Also, this place is 7500 feet above sea level, so it's quite cold. I didn't pack enough warm clothes and they barely ever turn on the radiators in the room. Everyone in my 7-person group was freezing both in our rooms and in the dining room. We couldn't wait to leave to get warm! I also had mold on the ceiling of my room, which was just great. The fact that the walls were so thin that I could hear conversations in the hall and men using the toilet in surrounding rooms was just the icing on this cake.

Room Tip: All the rooms have fantastic views, but I don't believe that any are wheelchair accessible. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryLeeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
7.7 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
24.7 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#15 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the jagged rim of the crater, wreathed in morning mist, camouflaged in river-stone and cloaked in indigenous creepers, the Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge is a triumph of ecological and architectural fusion. Sensitively constructed so as to take nothing from its environment whilst affording endless vistas over the heat-shimmering reaches of the crater below, the clustered boulder-built buildings of the Lodge hug the crater rim, linked by rope-lashed timber walkways that skirt the buttressed roots of ancient, liana-hung trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing