We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Lodge for People Wanting Luxury Safari Experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lodge for People Wanting Luxury Safari Experience”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights and all of us (my husband and I and our friend with her teenage daughter) absolutely loved it. Our flight was delayed for two hours, when we arrived at the airstrip , our guide was waiting for us with the nicely packed sandwiches. We immediately felt better after a long delayed flight. As our jeep approached the entrance of the lodge, the manager led her staff danced a welcome Masai dance with drinks and warm towels. All this together with the breathless crater view turns our day into a much pleasanter one. We also liked the interior decoration of the lodge, the rooms as well as the lounge area. It is a mix of African and perhaps middle eastern/Turkish which is exotically luxurious and pleasing on the eye. When we returned from safari the next day, a warm bath filled with rose peddle with a bottle of champion was waiting for us. We enjoyed every minute of our stay here. Needless to say that this is not a cheap place, on the contrary, but it worths it to have once in a life time experience at a unique place like the Ngorongoro Crater.

Room Tip: All suites have the beautiful crater view as well as a comfortable sized balcony. Our suite and our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrushaGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    66
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
148
354
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this property. The rooms were phenomenal with plenty of room to relax and enjoy a romantic getaway. The staff was very good at accommodating you every need and surprising you with some great memories. One afternoon after a long and eventful safari we return to find our super butler provide us with a hot bath and Champaign to comfort our tired bodies. The guides are very knowledgeable and I must admit they have extraordinary eye site. I would highly recommend a stay at this &beyond property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Having been told this place was classed as opulent by the travel company are expectations were high.we had just had 4 amazing days and nights at Kliens Camp and were excited by the prospect of even better.
The lodges are tired and desperately in need of updating , ours had broken glass in windows ,loose wood with nails sticking up on the balcony,
The furniture on the balcony was shabby torn and had broken arms not my idea of opulent!
Having arrived after a 7 hour journey at 3pm we were told if we wanted to go on a game drive we needed to leave immediately as the crater would not allow entry after 4pm. We needed to freshen up and have something to eat so we declined and went to the restaurant. Admittedly the food is of a good standard but we asked for Rose wine and were told no only white or red.
I then tried to book a massage as suggested on our arrival but was told they were fully booked that day.
Next day we went into the crater we felt that we were in some sort of Disney resort it was awful too many people in too many vehicles literally fighting at times to get the best view. We had enjoyed such a wonderful experience at Kliens both accommodation and safari I cannot begin to describe how disappointing we found the crater and the lodge.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaOnSafari, Manager at andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Sue G,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am so sorry that andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge did not live up to your expectations. Reading your review was certainly a surprise as we usually receive the highest praise for this lodge. That said, we love hearing from our guests, as this is the only way we are able to ensure that the standards we set for ourselves are being met and, where necessary, any issues there may be, are fixed fast! And speaking of issues; please be assured that the points you have raised have been taken most seriously and addressed by the team at the lodge. Our contractors have arrived and replaced the cracked glass window to which you refer. We prefer to use local suppliers whenever possible and as such, we were waiting upon our local upholsterer who, we are happy to say, is now in the process of recovering the outside chairs. Over and above that, we have an imminent delivery of many more replacement items such as new scatter cushions, umbrellas for the rooms, crockery, cutlery, linen and other smalls to bolster the look and feel of the lodge. I am sure you will be happy to know that there is a plan in place for a relative refurbishment to be carried out at this lodge in 2014. This is a magical lodge and we would love to see your return, once the changes are complete. I was most embarrassed to read that you were told there was no Rosé – I can only think that there was some confusion with the team perhaps, as we always stock a most delicious Rosé – my apologies. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
The game experience in the Crater is very different from andBeyond Kleins Camp and guests expecting private viewing are often disappointed. That said, the actual viewing is excellent and guests often come back to the lodge with remarkable stories of unheard of interaction between predators and prey. We are working hard to try and find ways to ensure that guests staying with us are least impacted by the number of vehicles on the Crater floor. We have had great success in going down earlier in the morning and avoiding the picnic site over peak lunch hours among other initiatives.
I was delighted to read that your other andBeyond experience lived up to your expectations – thank you for your kind words!

Looking forward to welcoming you back
Sam-On-Safari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A grand and fabulous lodge. Beautiful and wonderful staff. Friendly and warm welcome each time we entered lodge. Decorated as if in a dream.Food and service staff grand.Still thinking about it , weeks after our stay.Not to be missed !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was the fist lodge my husband and I stayed at while on safari and I must say that it brings tears to my eyes to look back at this pictures. This lodge was absolutely gorgeous and the service was amazing. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone that can afford as the location, views, service, food, and special extras were amazing. We were surprised mulitple times a day with honeymoon extras and those added touches made our stay here unforgettable. Thank you to the wonderful staff. Our butler KK was the best.

Kind regards,

Chris and Melissa

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 426melissar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is unlike any other safari lodge we have encountered. Founded in 1935 it continues in an Art Deco eclectic theme that could seem out of place but actually works quite well. The bungalows are along the rim of and over looking a magnificent volcanic crater. They are very large with a massive bed, fireplace (it gets cold there), desk, makeup table, tub, rainshower, and two balconies. You could come just to stay in the room, but there is more, game drives.

The lodge has a sitting room for cocktails and appetizers. The dinning room is formal with high back chairs & tablecloths. Some dress (informally) for dinner, but safari clothes work as well. Unfortunately, the food on lodge was not up to expectations.

When leaving for the drive, you descend about a 1000' into the crater. At first it seems desolate, but it is full of wildlife living in desert, savannah, forest, marsh, lake and river. There can be considerable driving on rutted dirt roads, that can be dusty and jarring, but it is well worth it. Within the crater is every species common to Tanzania except the giraffe. We made a short 3 hr introductory drive the first day, and then a 9 hour drive, that included breakfast & lunch picnics in the crater. We saw everything we wanted to see, except the leopard, but we did see black rhino, cheetah, elephant, and ten lions, in various activities.

The Crater is a unique location that should not be missed. As long as you are adventuresome and really there to see wild animals in a totally natural habitat, any complaints in other reviews should be ignored. If you have a low threshold for discomfort you should pay attention to those complaints.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with friends as part of our trip this year. The location is superb, our two lodges were next to the main building and looked right out over the crater. We had zebra grazing on the lawn right in front of us. What an experience to lie in your bath tub which had been prepared for us whilst we were out on the game drive and filled with bubbles and decorated with rose petals and look out through the full length window into the crater. Oh and don't forget the bottle of champagne place in the ice bucket as well. If you were cold your butler would light the log fire in your bedroom and the wonderfully comportable beds have electric blankets to make sure you stay nice and cosy at night (it is high so nights can be cold) The lounge and dining room also have log fires burning in the evening, you really feel you have been transported back to an earlier elegant age. The food is exquisite and all of the staff are so friendly and knowledgable. The one problem at the moment is that the road back out of the crater is closed so there is a long drive back to the lodge at the end of the day but the road should be open again before too long

Room Tip: Try to get lodge 3 or 4 as they are right next to the main building and have unrestricted views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leopardloverWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
7.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
12.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Property: andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance, each stilted, handcrafted banana thatch suite at andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is adorned with graceful antiques and unforgettable opulence. Ensuite bathrooms, with a centrepiece of fresh roses, feature huge showers and chandelier-lit bathtubs, while floor-to-ceiling windows ensure breathtaking views from all around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Crater Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Ngorongoro Crater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing