We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, excellent service and a truly unique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Ngorongoro Crater is a must see when going on safari in Africa. A truly amazing place with unique characteristics because of the good supply of water and therefore lack of animal migration

This hotel is lying on the edge of the crater with views that has to be experienced to be understood. The hotel have a "old British colony hundred years ago"-feeling. Our room was very spacious and had a bath tub place in the middle of the room, overlooking the crater through big windows from floor to ceiling. Next to the bath tub was a crystal bootle with Sherry, two glasses and some fresh roses. Truly special feeling.

Some rooms are actually built AROUND trees with the tree trunk coming up in the middle of the room from floor to ceiling. Amazing to see.

Safari trips usually means early mornings and therefore we asked for a wake up call. Wake up service in this hotel meant (at least for us) staff entering into the room very quite, lighting up the fire place and placing a fresh cup of coffee next to the bed so you can slowly wake up in bed, looking at the sun rise, the fire place and drink your first cup of coffee. Truly amazing feeling for service, I have never experienced something similar in my life.

Amazing animal experiences in the day time and fantastic service in the night time. Food was great. What else can you ask for? Not cheap of course, but who cares when you get such an amazing experience. Go!

Room Tip: For a extra unique experience, choose the rooms with a tree inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cederstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at this lodge for our final 2 nights of our Tanzanian Honeymoon and we must say that it did not disappoint. As with all the &beyond lodges this is a truly beautiful, one of a kind place with spectacular views of the crater. The lodge and rooms are decorated beautifully in an old English style complete with roll top bath and leather armchairs but also has an African vibe thrown in for good measure, it has to be seen to be truly appreciated. The food is delicious, we particularly enjoyed our platter style lunch's and it was great to be able to have a choice at dinner time, for the more brave among you make sure you try the hot chilli dip! The service was excellent and the staff were so attentive making sure you were always looked after. Our game drives were excellent and we were lucky enough to spot black rhino, which made our trip for us. A truly magical touch is when you return in the evening the wood burner is lit and a bath complete with rose petals awaits you, you will find this is the perfect way to unwind after a long game drive. Overall in our opinion the perfect way to end a Tanzanian Safari.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have been fortunate to stay in some wonderful places across the world but Crater Lodge tops them all ! The views are completely magical and the wildlife in the crater was plentiful, the accommodation outstanding and the staff were amazing .Going into the crater isn't cheap with the conservation fees being $50 per person per day and $200 per vehicle, however we saw large amounts of animals including buffalo, wildebeest , hippo,rhino, elephant, hyena and many lion, including a pride of 6 who decided to lie underneath the car to shade from the sun! Also saw a lioness with tiny cubs feeding from her, amazing . The crater is spectacular with a lake at the base full of flamingos , and viewing all this wildlife in the base of a huge intact crater is quite surreal. Crater Lodge itself is beautiful , you really do feel as though you've stepped into the Shire in Lord of the Rings, but with all the comforts imaginable . The food is wonderful , no buffet, just exceptional menu that is changed daily, quality drinks and staff that you couldn't fault, our butler Patrick couldn't do enough for us, and always with a smile. Hot, sunny afternoons but very cold evenings, sitting in our room in front of our log burner at the end of the day with our glass of cognac was wonderful. For a trip that will stay with you forever, visit Crater Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asburysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon in Tanzania. It was absolutely amazing and all the staff were wonderful. The property is set on the rim of the crater and being honeymooners, we were able to stay in the "Tree Camp", which is right down on the rim, with views over the crater. My husband really enjoyed looking through the binoculars and seeing the animals walking around. This was really a "once in a lifetime" trip and we will treasure the wonderful memories always and feel thankful that we chose to spend part of our honeymoon there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boranup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Ngorongoro Crater is an outstanding wildlife area. The crater itself is spectacular and full of masses of wildlife . So many zebras it almost sends you cross-eyed watching them, buffalo, wildebeest, magnificent lions and elephants with the biggest tusks imaginable. A top lunch stop was at the hippo pond and watching the babies playing around was great fun.
The Lodge is amazing. The buildings look like a cross between Gaudi architecture and something out of "Lord of the Rings". The interiors of the cabins are very lavish, with every possible wish catered for, with log fires, deep plunge baths, huge vases of roses, magnificent bed and snug lounge area for a sherry or morning coffee. All this on the rim of the crater, with astounding views. The meals were also plentiful and delicious.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the edge of the crater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeddyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Had an amazing experience. Staff are very friendly, rooms are very spacious and clean. Experiencing the wildlife in the Ngorongoro Crater is a once in a life time. We loved waking up in the morning and stepping onto the balcony and looking down on the wildlife. Everyone about our experience was amazing. A must do.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SonnyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in January of this year. The property itself and the setting is truly unique. Set on the rim of the crater the views are amazing. The rooms are uniquely decorated with very cosy with a wonderful fireplace and cute balcony from which to
sit and gaze down into the crater. The one thing that I have never experience in any other place I have stayed was the massive, absolutely beautiful displays of roses of all colours that were placed everwhere. An amazing display beside our bathtub, in the entrance to the main lodge,
on all the dinning tables. The centre of the dinning tables were filled with rose petals as was our bath mat whenever we returned to our room from dinner. Nothing was ever brought to our room without roses. They are apparently grown in Aursha and they gave the Lodge a magic, luxurious feel. The atmosphere in the dinning room was wonderful as were the staff. We had a hot chocolate with liquor brought to our room each night after dinner to have in front of the fire.
It was the end of our 4 week trip to Africa and we had had amazing safari experiences at Londolozi and Singita Ebony in South Africa and Singita Sabora tented camp in Tanzania so we were able to take in our stride the disappointment we felt with the guide we had been assigned at Ngorongoro. We ended up only going down into the crater once and thus have given a very good rating rather than an excellent . However it gave us the opportunity to enjoy and make the most of the Lodge.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank krisd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
7.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
426 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,203 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
325 reviews
12.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#2 of 51 in Karatu
675 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: £1,121 - £2,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance, each stilted, handcrafted banana thatch suite at andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is adorned with graceful antiques and unforgettable opulence. Ensuite bathrooms, with a centrepiece of fresh roses, feature huge showers and chandelier-lit bathtubs, while floor-to-ceiling windows ensure breathtaking views from all around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Crater Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Ngorongoro Crater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing