We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was the second stop on our safari trip and we were bowled away by the luxuriousness of the crater lodge. We had no idea what to expect given the fact this was our first stay in a place with a butler. KK was great he tended to our every need which were not many... Nature did a good job of satisfying that!! The atmosphere was wonderful and the bath with rose petals was great! Loved the food and the fire being lit anytime we asked for it. The views from the grounds overlooking the crater were unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    69
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
152
362
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Crater Lodge really is unique--I've never been anywhere like it. The view, the over-the-top decor, the dining, the really great staff; the sense of incongruity: it all combines to equal an experience you won't find elsewhere. A couple of tips:

a. North and South Lodge are very similar but Tree Lodge is different. The latter has smaller rooms (shower behind the bed, only one armchair etc.) with slightly more obstructed views, but has an amazing ambiance where you feel much more intimately connected to the area around the crater and a common area that is less formal (or stuffy depending on your view) than the other two lodges; this common area is my favorite part of Crater Lodge and makes the smaller rooms worth taking (of course, you could just visit from North or South camp but its not the same somehow).

b. Ask for Aziza as a game driver if Crater is arranging your trip to the Crater: She is the first female game driver in TZ, is a great enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide, and has some great stories about breaking barriers as well.

c. When you are bonding with other guests in the evening, don't hesitate to suggest merging tables if you like the people; the staff are happy to help and other guests usually appreciate it--makes for a very convivial jolly evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neflyer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Ngorongoro Crater Lodge – this camp is set at high altitude and is quite cold, so bring a winter coat and hat for night drives and dinner time. We were there in July 2014 and it was cold. The crater has tons of animals and the drives were great – our ranger was Peter, who we liked very much. Two nights is enough – this would be a good camp to end with. It is the most luxurious of the four camps &Beyond camps we visited. Like all &Beyond properties the people who work there go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. Very nice experience.

Room Tip: It seemed that all the rooms were great since they are all individual stone huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secondnightfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The location of this lodge is spectacular, perched on the rim of the crater the lodge (2300 meters) has uninterrupted views down into the crater itself which is 10 miles diameter. This Lodge has 3 separate lodges which all have their own staff & communal areas. We were staying in North Camp.
The individual bungalows I assume are modelled on a Masaii village, the decor is a mix of African with touches of opulent glamour, suspended from the bark ceiling are beautiful coloured chandeliers which all add to the appeal of the lodge, The lodge was probably ahead of its time when it was built as it fits the popular 'Shabby Chic' ! Love it or not it really works here. Every comfort is thought through, even a run bath awaits you on a return from a drive in the crater which is plentiful in wild life, apparently it has the biggest bio diversity in the world.
All the staff were welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for us from the second we arrived. After our introduction from the camp manager we were assigned a 'super butler!' Simon who was very attentive to us all, from the wake up call in the morning to last thing at night.
Our Ranger, Mudy had a comprehensive knowledge of the area, customs of the Masai, all the animals and birds. It is extensive and impressive. Mudy made our trip such a memorable stay.
The group of staff that were in charge of our welfare all gather to say their goodbyes , which is sometimes lacking in our experience when staying in Europe! We all felt sad to say farewell after 3 nights, a wonderful first trip for our 3 adult children, we now move onto BushTops in the Serengeti for a further 3 nights.
NOTEs: Don't under estimate how cold it gets, remember to bring warm clothes, don't be fooled into thinking that as you're in Africa it's warm! The mist rolls in on several mornings hugging around the rim which adds to the cold!
In the crater itself the vehicles have to strictly keep to the roads, so you can be sharing a viewing of an animal, on one occasion we experienced trying to sneak a look at a rare Rhino with at least 50 others! Nevertheless there are lots and lots of animals and most of the time the other vehicles aren't too bad. Anyway it pays to get out early.
The Lodge has european and UK sockets so no need for adapters. Wifi and phone signal is better than a lot of places in UK!
No Mosquitos therefor no Malaria
Daily laundry is part of the package , which is returned by night, (Tumble dried though!)which is worth remembering if baggage weight is an issue.

The only slight negative is that it could in some areas be freshened up:
i.e.
- The tiling in the showers
-The tables outside that look over the crater are a glorious place to sit for lunch, but tables are old so either should be renewed or laid with a table cloth to match the standard of the dining room.
- A small attention to the stilts and exterior of the bungalows, without spoiling the rustic appearance!
-The food is to a high standard, but we all felt that a little more choice in the evening would have been better for all, after all this is a top class place.
- This is an all inclusive Lodge as are most in the area, a better selection of wine should have been on offer to cater for the wide range in preference of the guests.
- We wanted to go on a walk, but it isn't possible to do so, the staff are not keen, even though few wild animals up on the crater rim.?!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This lodge is so over-the-top given its location in Africa. While this lodge was very comfortable, it just felt strange to be staying in such an extravagant place on a safari trip. I now know I prefer accommodations that feel a bit more appropriate for the location.

Our “chalet” room was very well-designed with terrific crater views from every angle. Service was good albeit a bit stiff and formal. Our butler, Daniel, was fantastic. Food in the dining room itself was mediocre, especially relative to the price as well as the food at other lodges where we stayed, however the picnic basket breakfasts and lunches were of very good quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLadyinRed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our group of 10 had very high expectations about our stay at the Crater Lodge and most were met. The location on the crater rim is phenomenal. During dusk, we could hear lions roaring from the crater floor and if you dared to peek your head outside your own personal hut at night, you might spy a few cape buffalo right off your deck.

The rooms are comfortable and while not a bath person, the tub of water at the end of a day filled with game viewing over dusty roads, a hot bath was a welcome pleasure. The showers are located behind the bed in the bed room - completely open to the entire room - and makes for a chilly prospect during this time of year. Adjusting the water temperature in the shower almost required a plumbing certification.

The glowing and warm fire in the wood burning stove at night is a nice touch. Overall, the rooms may be due for an update, but the beds are very comfortable.

We were able to work in a couple of massages and both therapists were excellent. It is a tight squeeze with two massage tables in your hut, but worth the effort.

The staff is very accommodating, but make sure to check your laundry to ensure you received your clothing and not another guest's clothing before turning in for the evening.

The food received mixed reviews from our groups of 10, but it was overall an upgrade from the other lodges we visited during our visits at lodges not owned by andBeyond. We all agreed that if we did return to Tanzania, that we would stay at the Crater Lodge again.

Room Tip: The upper two lodges have larger huts for those traveling with children. A couple of huts are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinLBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If Ngorongo Crater is considered as one of the natural wonders, then perched on the rim of the crater itself is The Ngorongo Crater Lodge, a lavish wonderland. It will feel like you are in a dream. The individual villas are dotted across the property with spectacular views of the crater and Zebras and buffaloes roaming the grounds. As soon as you enter the villa, it will transport you in an era of opulence, that is matched with lavish hospitality…andBeyond style. They know how to create memorable experiences. We were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday and I wanted to do something very special him, like make his favorite Indian breakfast! All I had to do was, give them the instructions and Viola! My husband liked it better than the present I got for him :) Mandi, Irene, Nemes and the entire team go through lengths to make sure your every whim is taken care of.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon Suite, which was the most private. BTW, we were not on our honeymoon, but we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunitaJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
7.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
416 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,163 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
315 reviews
12.2 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 50 in Karatu
647 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#14 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge

Property: andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance, each stilted, handcrafted banana thatch suite at andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge is adorned with graceful antiques and unforgettable opulence. Ensuite bathrooms, with a centrepiece of fresh roses, feature huge showers and chandelier-lit bathtubs, while floor-to-ceiling windows ensure breathtaking views from all around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Crater Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Ngorongoro Crater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing