We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ndutu Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Green Hills Lodge(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crater Rim View(Karatu)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$43
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Ebeneza(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
US$43
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
    Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Breakfast included
    • Restaurant
    Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Highview Hotel(Karatu)
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Reviews (453)
    Filter reviews
    453 results
    Traveller rating
    239
    158
    38
    14
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    239
    158
    38
    14
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgenet catssuperb starlingssafari lodgegame drivesdining roomdining areasouthern serengetiwildlife viewingremote locationcamp firewildlife experiencelocation is excellentoff roadevery eveninghot waterconservation areamain building
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    292 - 297 of 453 reviews
    Reviewed 19 May 2009

    Although Ndutu Lodge isn't as plush and fancy as some of the other safari lodges, what it lacks in luxury it more than makes up for in quality food. We opted for vegetarian the first night as they were serving beef and the staff remembered our preference for the duration of the trip. The vegetarian meals were truly a treat and one night I counted over nine different kinds of veggies in my meal - it was fab. I enjoyed chattiing with other guests in the lounge area and the proximity to the park.

    Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    2  Thank intlwanderlust
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 February 2009

    Ndutu Lodge advertises itself as a lodge with tonnes of character, great food and charming atmosphere. In fact it's in a ok location, the rooms are pretty basic (the most basic we stayed in during a week's safari, in five different lodges), the food is average at best and the staff - on the night we stayed there - weren't exactly falling over themselves to help us out. For example, having already killed a couple of mosquitoes in our room, we went to ask the staff if we could have a mosquito net (bizarrely, none was provided in the room - the only place we stayed which didn't have one) only to be told that there weren't any mosquitoes and they didn't have nets. And that was that.

    The food was incredibly average, and in the dining room we were seated with a much older Dutch couple we'd never met before, and were expected to share all the food dishes with strangers. When we asked for our own dish of vegetables, the waiter was less than charming in his response.

    Ndutu Lodge isn't a terrible place, but it is hugely over-priced (if you're going to charge European rates of $350pn, you need to live up to European standards. If it had been a $100 a night lodge, I wouldn't have felt quite so let down). As it is, it's just a basic room, with a bad shower of nasty-smelling water, less than average food, and staff who get annoyed if you ask anything of them.

    • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank HRB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 February 2009

    Ndutu Lodge was absolutely magical!
    We stayed there for two nights, and witnessed some great animal activity in the area.
    The staff were friendly and the rooms felt a bit more like home than the lodges we had visited previously.
    One morning we got up to se the sunrise (and we had a very early gamedrive) it which is quite exquisite, and even more so when a large male elephant decided to break a tree really close to the mainhouse into pieces - WHAT a way to start the day. Apparently it is quite normal.. Just not for visitors.

    Eating a Ndutu was so much better than what we had experienced on our trip. Dinner felt like a real family dinner, it was served at the table - the staff was very attentive!
    We booked lunch at Ndutu one day, but were late because of a cheetah sighting, but they had everything ready for us and it was like the rest a wonderfull meal!!

    All in all, a wonderful location, wonderful staff, wonderful atmosphere - and definetly the best hotel/lodge we stayed at during our safari!!!

    • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    5  Thank Copenhagenadvisor
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 December 2008

    Beautiful place and location, very friendly staff, nice and interesting manager.
    Would recommend 100%.
    We were then end of Nov 2008, saw plenty of wildebeest, zebras and birds. We had to drive to inside the Serengeti park to see cheetahs.
    Loved it.

    • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank bealux
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 August 2008

    Loved it here. Room was great, shower even better. So good to be able to sit outside our room looking out over the lake, watching the Fisher's Lovebirds as the sun set through the trees.
    Loved the dining room and bar/lounge areas, a great deal of charm throughout, very 'homely' in a cosy, reassuring sort of way. Staff great, so nice to have the meals served to us after the relative free-for-all of other lodges. Genet cats on the rafters in the evening a real bonus. Food and wine very good.
    Game drives good even though it was the dry season when we were there. Ranger-led walk informative.
    Yes the washing water feels somewhat soapy, but considering everything else has to get there by road, the Lodge offers excellent service and facilities all round.
    Woud like to go back in February one year , though I suspect not before 2011, such is the demand for this out-of-the-way gem.

    • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Raptorwoman
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews