We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD VIEW, and that's all !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Gaudens, France
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A GOOD VIEW, and that's all !”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

No charm at all, a big hotel which does not really fit the atmosphere you expect from your accommodation when in safari.
No real genuine touch, you could be anywhere in the world !!!

Unfortunately there were a few other things which were not quite right :

Huge rooms, very cold at night, (we had steam on the windows in the morning) but with a low ceiling and large windows that cannot be opened (on groundfloor AND 1st floor), except a very little one
Reception staff just polite and not really helpful
Wifi only in public areas, and constantly interrupted
Be patient when taking a shower : wait 5 up to 10 minutes before you get hot water
Waitresses are by far too attentive, asking you every 2 minutes if you are ok or need sthg !

THE WORST PART : FOOD
The buffet offers little choice, at dinner and at breakfast. "Cheap" dishes
Furthermore food tasted like cooked and recooked. We both got sick during the night ! We were very suspicious when we got our lunch boxes the following morning.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenobia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    609
    197
    51
    9
See reviews for
428
699
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Location and amenities are very good.Staffs are friendly and helpful.Sunset from here is spectacularFood was excellant.An intercom in the rooms is suggested.The view from the room is breathtaking.Every evening there is some sort of entertainment for the guests.One night there was Masai dance.I would highly recommend this lodge

Room Tip: Rooms near reception will be a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KolkataAnindita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at this lodge for one night last month on our way to Ngorongoro Crater from the Serengeti. The climate here is too good....just like a hill station with cold nights. And the lodge is perched atop a hill with grand views of the crater. Since it was foggy, we could not savour the scenery, but I can well imagine what it must be.

From the lodge to the crater is barely a 15 minute descent by car. So its a very good location.

The facilities are superb. Lovely large rooms facing the crater, a sit out, swimming pool, and hot water bags at night....some luxury!

They have free wifi, but only in the coffee shop and reception area, and connectivity is not good at all since the lodge has near full occupancy so the bandwidth gets choked.

Food is wonderful, the spread is lavish and they have power backup which is great. We had a problem with our bathroom door, and within minutes there was someone from housekeeping who came across and fixed it.

The rooms have no intercoms. So if you need to make a call, either call the reception from your mobile phone or walk across....that seems to be the only drawback.

I was very impressed with the hotel for providing assistance to walk back to our rooms from the restaurant. There are no lights in that patch, but the hotel staff escorts you with torches all the way post dinner.

I would go back there again for the sheer ambience and location.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and spacious with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenobia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

As far as location is concerned this place has it all. You arrive to breathtaking views of the Ngorongoro crater and sunset from here is spectacular.

Not being a fan of clunky cement constructions I found the lodge and its decor a bit dated. That said, the service and the staff were very good and helpful. The food was alright. The rooms are spread across a distance and I found that it was very difficult for people with disabilities. The ramps were badly planned and and 2 occasions I saw wheelchair users struggle. I also found that not having a intercom in the rooms a big disadvantage. Even much smaller tempted camps we stayed in had them for emergencies.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notintentonarriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Of all the places we stayed while on safari last February, this was by far my favorite. I'm not sure where a couple of the other reviewers rooms were located, but ours was not outdated at all. I had heard there was some refurbishing done, so perhaps their rooms had not been gotten to yet.
Anyway, they say you only have one chance to make a first impression, and the Sopa Lodge pulled out all the stops for theirs. Upon entering the main area, we were greeted with happy smiling faces, a warm wet washcloth and cold fresh fruit juice. Small touches that meant so much after a long day in a hot jeep. Check in was friendly and quick, another plus. Our bags were carried to our rooms and as you walk along the path, the view is something close to spectacular. The lodge itself is a architectural wonder built literally on the rim of a collapsed volcano affording the visitor amazing views of the crater floor and the vast number of animals and birds that make the crater their home. The crater itself is about 240 sq. kilometers and could be considered the 8th wonder of the world since its volcano's top collapsed, resulting in the gigantic caldera, the largest un-flooded and unbroken caldera in the world.
BUT, I digress, this review is about the Sopa Lodge. Our room was toward the end on the lower level. Both ours and our friends rooms included two queen beds trimmed with real brick headboards. The African themed furnishings were very cozy and welcoming. The rooms were large with lots of storage and brick trimmed desks and entry ways . It even had a windowed sitting area with two rocking chairs and a small table for early morning coffee, a glass of wine or after dinner drinks while taking in the fantastic view . The bath was also very large with a walk in shower. On cool nights, hot water bottles are delivered and tucked under your bed sheets. Wow...where did you ever experience this kind of service?
The first night we were there they offered a buffet. Good food, but I'm not big on buffets for reasons I won't go into here, but a large variety of food and lots of it. The next two nights a menu was provided and with wait service which was beyond professional. Friendly, but professional. Everything from start to finish was excellent. The waiters were knowledgeable about the food and eager to explain some of the more exotic offerings. There were also local singers and dancers each night who added so much to the whole African experience. They even came to our table to sing Happy Birthday to me in Swahili . It's those simple touches that make memories that last forever.
I have nothing but good memories and would highly recommend the Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge.

Room Tip: You should ask for an upper level room closer to the dining/pool/bar area for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsjag28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The view from this place is a-mazing! You seriously cannot beat it, but the hotel itself is SERIOUSLY out of data. The common areas were really nice and I appreciated the afternoon snacks and tea and coffee, but the food was pretty unexciting especially compared to the other places we had stayed on our safari. We stayed one night and were there less than 15 hours so it was doable but overall I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and I agree the location can't be beat, the service was also excellent. What is disappointing about this place are the rooms (like a time warp -- think Motel 6 circa 1970). There was also a lot of mold in our shower, which was addressed promptly. The thing that makes this place is 1) the view of the Crater-- like none other 2) the food, which was excellent. If you get cold at night, they will bring extra blankets and hot water bottles for your bed. There was only one tiny window for ventilation. If you want Luxury, try the Manor, but that is down the road at least 1.5 hours.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room with a view of the Crater-- amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloften32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,167 reviews
12.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
18.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#13 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
86 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
317 reviews
9.9 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 51 in Karatu
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Property: Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Sopa Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing