We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed in this lodge once before and still it's a wonderful place. I was a little disappointed that live at the bottom with no prospect of the crater. Moreover, the furniture was a little miserable, not as I remember it last with rocking chairs. nice that you fast is the crater with its own driveway

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Eva stenild N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The views are breathtaking--wildlife and vegetation.
The rooms stretched around the crater rim, some quite a bit further from the main area, but not bad. The bedrooms and bathrooms were huge and very welcoming. The night was cool enough that the staff brought hot water bottles to put at the foot of the bed to make you toasty warm.
Wifi in the main communal area. Attractive dining area with Tanzanian entertainment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's chilly in general at the crater rim at 2500 m height. Thus we've been very much surprised that there been no heating neither in common places nor in rooms. The fireplaces weren't used. It was extremely cold just everywhere. Room heating was scheduled (!) apparently from 7 - 9 pm and am. The heating went lukewarm at best but didn't warm up the room. We slept with our day clothes including trousers and socks. Hot water is apparently from von 5 - 8 pm and am. Haven't experienced any hot water at any time. Water was brownish. Thus no shower. No phone at the rooms to call reception. Rooms need renovation.
The food is ok for the masses of tourists they cater. On a buffet you find fresh salads, barbecued meet, vegetables and some Indian Dishes. Again - the restaurant was not heated, the fireplace without fire. Why? Staff is friendly. My clothes smelled of food the next morning. Best is the view over the crater. They shouldn't have a hotel license - it's a clear rib off ! I complained the next morning. Management just took notice and hardly apologized. Unfortunately the very worst experience during our whole game drive of 9 days !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anjaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel in time to do our first drive in the park, absolutely fabulous. On returning to the Lodge we went to dinner which was good and served by the friendly staff, during dinner they sang to us as a group, great fund.
The views after dinner of the sunset were a sight to be seen, well worth the armed escort to the hotel room (some of the local animals sometime wander through the hotel paths although we didn't see any)

What with good food, a wide selection of drinks, friendly and fun staff and fantastic sunsets w couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

once again we stayed with this group of hotels and the standard is great , good food good service and WOW views over the crater , it has a great location for getting to the base as it does not take long to get there at all so you can enjoy the day there instead of driving for a long time

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mia2000adel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms here are unbelievably large with an entry way, huge bathroom, very comfortable beds, and decks with chairs overlooking the crater. The lodge building has a lovely lobby with a nice small bar. The food in the restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean6564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a large chain property but I enjoyed my stay here. The staff were very friendly, especially Lucien in the bar area. We spent some time around the bar area watching the amazing sunset – you cannot beat the views overlooking the crater from the bar and pool areas. Our room also had gorgeous views overlooking the crater and was very spacious. I appreciated the shower after some solar, tented showers at our previous lodging properties. The staff offer turn down service and provide hot water bottles as the weather at the crater rim can be cool – cool, wet and foggy the morning of our crater trip. The restaurant was very crowded the evening we went but we were able to put our name in for a window table. Since we were willing to wait, were easily accommodated and enjoyed a lightning storm over the crater. The food was delicious and was a limited selection a la carte 4 course meal. The location is the closest to the crater descent road and we were the first ones into the crater for some great animal watching.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
14.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,202 reviews
12.0 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
426 reviews
18.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#2 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
324 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
102 reviews
49.4 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: £420 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Sopa Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing