We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite from all of my safaris!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Bayfield
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of my favorite from all of my safaris!”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Great lodge to get off the dusty road and relax away from the crowds. Renata gives excellent service as does the rest of her team. Lovely eating areas, inside or out (under the mango tree). Beautiful bar and wine cellar. Grounds are spectacular. Make sure to take a personal tour with the master gardener (who has been there a long time and planted most of the trees/plants).

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    91
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
101
252
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Good clean rooms and grounds, a pleasant pool and good food. An ideal place to relax after game drives locally. Rather isolated and quiet but generally well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We spent 1 night in the Plantation Lodge on our way to Ngorongoro and the experience was very nice.
Very clean hotel, rooms are new, confortable and clean! Dinner was very good and the environment and ambient is great!

We would go again for sure if we come back to Tanzania!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMerenciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My title says it all. Rooms beautiful,restaurant and bar and lounge lovely,gorgeous gardens, lovely pool, staff really helpful, lady that runs it really nice and cares personally about her staff..

We spent two nights here as our base for Ngorongoro area and crater safari and we could have stayed a week.

Having said all that, everybody has there preferences so a couple of important points. This is not on the rim of the crater,it is about 45 mins away, however that is not a problem and you also need to know that when you do stay in the lodges on the rim the crater is often obscured by mist and cloud. In addition you will pay a heck of a lot more to stay on the rim. The drive to the rim is interesting in itself anyway with a good proportion on tarmac.

All aspects of this place were excellent, there are even pet turkeys running around and a whole bunch of pet cats. In the bar they have one of those wine cellars where you stand above it looking down through a glass floor. There was a lovely veranda to sit out on before dinner and the restaurant area was really nice with good food and service. The gardes are massive with green grass and tons of bouganvillia, really nice to wander round in and of course it is lovely and cool up here.

We talked to the lady that runs it ( sorry forgot the name ) who told us it was started about twenty years ago and constantly being upgraded. She also really cared about her staff and treated them more like a family which was really nice.

The visit to Ngorongoro was incredible, it is a view to die for and when you are down inside it is awesome with quite a varied landscape and loads of animals including White Rhino of which we saw three. If you happen to be moving on to The Serengeti the drive down from the rim to the plains is beautiful too.

Anywat,as I said at the beginning, stay here and you will have chosen well.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponytailpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed in the Zanzibar suite (thanks to a very kind upgrade) and the room was absolutely beautiful. So large that we probably should have stayed longer to really appreciate it. The food was good although some guests might find the set menu challenging (and repetitive if you stayed more than a couple of nights). Afternoon tea was delightful and the fact they brought it to your room a real bonus.
The pool was not that inviting, a little murky and you felt like you needed a shower afterwards.
Service was good. A great base for exploring Ngorogoro and Lake Manyara.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

this is a pleasant place to arrive at following a hot and dusty game drive - it has beautiful gardens and abundant greenery. the drive through the plantations to get there is bumpy but with great views.

our room was the jacaranda suite (the "honeymoon" suite), a nice enough room though not particularly well proportioned - the bed is humongous, and when the mosquito nuts are down it's difficult to open the door fully. the bathroom is nice and spacious, with a huge shower/jacuzzi.

food is reasonable, though the german influence is clear in the bread - a bit harder than usual (or maybe it was just stale...) some of the dishes served at dinner were nice. the swahili butter chicken served on our last night was really very good. packed breakfasts tended to be decent and plentiful, though again the bread wasn't great. breakfast buffet at the hotel itself was a bit disappointing - very limited, though they did give you eggs as per your request if you ask.

i think the biggest problem with plantation lodge is it's just a bit too "stiff". staff are polite enough, but distant - the warmth has been trained out of them, it seems; there is stern classical music playing in the evenings at dinner (not very "africa") and staff don't seem willing to communicate beyond what's necessary. it lacks soul, basically.

if you want a clean and pleasant place to stay and relax, and don't mind it being a bit boring, then you'll like plantation. if you want character, and to feel a bit more like you're in africa, then maybe it isn't the place for you. i'd say the location is fine and getting to the crater is not a problem.

after plantation, we had a fantastic 3 night stay at the nomad serengeti safari camp - it's a travesty that tripadvisor don't have a page for that particular camp!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quick_draw_mcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at Plantation Lodge for 1 night during our honeymoon in August 2010. Plantation lodge is based in Karatu, and we used it as a base to visit the Ngorongoro Crater. We booked through ATR, who we would highly recommend and who were very knowledgeable on the area. The lodge is set in beautiful gardens and the rooms are comprised of individual houses with bedroom, bathroom and a small seating area around a fire. There is also a small private patio area where you can take afternoon tea in the gardens. There is a small pool but in August it was a bit cool to use this, although it was warm enough to sit outside and enjoy the gardens, (and dodge the large flying insects – well I suppose we were in Africa!). We were in Jacaranda house, which was nicely decorated and clean, but the bathroom was a little tired.

The staff were attentive but generally were not as friendly as those in the smaller Maasai run tented camps which we visited. The local staff kept their distance and I got the impression the friendliness of the management was directly proportional to the amount of money you were spending! Having said that I thoroughly enjoyed out nights stay at Plantation lodge. As much as I loved the tented camps, it was nice to stay in a lodge, where I could dress up for dinner and plug in my hair straighteners!! The food at plantation lodge was very good, especially the pre-dinner canapés which were delicious. The bar area is lovely with a good wine list and there also an outside drinks terrace.

Karatu was also a good location to stay for visiting the crater. We had considered staying on the rim of the crater but having visited the area I’m glad we didn’t pay any extra to stay on the rim. The best views can be seen after the mist lifts and we would have already left the lodge by this time. The drive into the crater is amazing but it was very cold on the rim in August so you need a fleece. However it soon warms later in the day when you are on the crater floor. The Crater is fantastic and well worth a visit. It’s easily possible to see it in a day and although it gets busy you can still find quieter areas. It was a good combination with the Tarangire and the Serengeti. We also stayed at Mawe Ninga, Oldavai Camp, Serengeti Serena Lodge and Pongwe Beach and Breezes Beach Club on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
417 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 51 in Karatu
649 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,167 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,569 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#13 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Lodge & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Lodge & Safaris

Property: The Plantation Lodge & Safaris
Address: P.O.Box 34 | Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation Lodge & Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a green oasis, The Plantation Lodge, rests on the red-brown hills. The individually furnished rooms and suites melting harmoniously into the flowering garden offering comfort and relaxation. Everywhere you look, you can see and feel the personal atmosphere of this owner-run lodge with furnishings that were selected with great attention to detail. The Plantation Lodge's cordial service leaves no wish unfulfilled. The lodge's location promises maximum safari enjoyment: a stone's throw from the entrance to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area and the Lake Manyara national park, and just a short journey from the Tarangire national park and the Serengeti. A luxury lodge with 5 suites and 17 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Plantation Lodge And Safaris
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing