We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting, rooms and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We only had the fortune to stay here one night during our trip to Ngorongoro as it was fully booked and we soon saw why. Tthe journey to the lodge from the main road is dusty and bumpy and if the guide had not known the way, we would never have found it unaided! The lodge is set in lovely grounds with a swimming pool and view across the landscape. The rooms are beautifully furnished with HUGE comfy beds and a luxurious bathroom with all the mod cons you would expect. There is a small balcony outside the door with steps that lead down to the gardens. Dinner was 4 courses and the food was exceptional (the best we had during our whole safari trip). The bar is small and modern but there is a balcony with additional seats and tables outside. The owner came and introduced herself and was happy to chat with the guests. After dinner we met the owner again and chatted over drinks to her and the manager for an hour or so. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were very sorry to leave. Breakfast was a small buffet with a choice of eggs from the kitchen. We absolutely adored this lodge and would have happily stayed for longer. We would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoGaz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for The Plantation Lodge & Safaris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Plantation Lodge is about twenty minutes from the entrance of the Ngorongoro Park, and you can't find a good place much closer. The Lodge is the site of a coffee plantation. The grounds are exquisitely landscaped. Lodging is in duplex cottages which are beautifully furnished, very spacious, and, unusual for safari travel, has perfect plumbing and 24 hour electricity. The good swimming pool is popular for lounging after returning from the crater game drive. Food is excellent, among the best we had in Africa. The ambiance of the central building, dining and bar facilities is true to the plantation heritage of the site. Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are in Tanzania, Ngorongoro is a "must see" and the Plantation Lodge just adds to the total experience. It's well worth while to spend several days here rather than trying to rush Ngorongoro into one day as some attempt and the Plantation Lodge is ideal for some "unwinding" after busy safari days.

Room Tip: Inquire about the size and location of individual cottages. They each have their own style.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here after climbing Kilimanjaro and this was an incredible stay. You can sit at the pool and watch beautiful birds flying around. The food was fantastic, the service over and above, the bar and wine cellar were well stocked and fun to hang out. I had a bad blister that had to be tended to and the staff were great providing us with hot water, bowls and salt to soak my foot. The wifi did not reach the rooms when we were there (they were in the process of upgrading). The wifi access in the bar area was good, the snacks provided, especially the guacamole, should not be missed. The room was a nice size with an incredible bathroom. The shower was fun and the soaking bathtub with candles was hard to leave.

Room Tip: stayed in the avacado room so was close to the main hall
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahandartemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent the first day of our safari at the Plantation Lodge in a room in the garden suite. We shared this building with four other couples but it was so quiet you would never have known they were there. The rooms was a tad small but beautifully appointed and very clean. Nice bathroom too. Extraordinary view off the common balcony. Would go back here anytime! Very nice staff and food was quite good.

Room Tip: Not certain there is a bad room in the place! We loved our garden Suite that we shared with our frie...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiefoster46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Do not be mislead by the bumpy dirt road leading to the Plantation Lodge. Inside the gates is an oasis of glamorous stucco cottages set amid beautiful landscaping and scattered sculptures. The dining room, the bar, and the outside patios add an unexpected visual and actual sophistication. The staff at all levels is gracious, helpful, and very accomodating. Loved the spacious shower with great water pressure, the comfy bed, the internet access, and the Tanzanian beers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

After four days in tented camp (although lovely) it was wonderful coming to the Plantation Lodge. The rooms are stylish and the showers glorious. The grounds are sumptuous and walking to and from the dining room for meals in the evening and morning is a mini naturalist trip in itself. They also have gardens where they grow their own vegetables and it was very interesting to see my first African coffee plants. Speaking of which, being next to a coffee plantation we all got to have our first and only real honest to goodness, ground bean cups of coffee and lattes. The complementary cookies and pastries set out to accompany them were a wonderful touch.

We were fortunate, being there just before Christmas to have two rooms in a whole wing/building ourselves but the building and public space was so large and attractive, it wouldn't have mattered even if it were full.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Plantation Lodge has an excellent location, just 20 minutes away from the Crater. We spent two night there and it was excellent.
The property is very nice (beautiful garden and the rooms are very well integrated in the property), the staff is efficient and friendly, the food is excellent.
A special positive note for its good wine cellar (something which is overlooked most of the times in Tanzania hotels, offering a very limited number of options). It just has too much emphasis on South African labels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuiB189158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
422 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 51 in Karatu
662 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,596 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 51 in Karatu
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Lodge & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Lodge & Safaris

Address: P.O.Box 34 | Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: £102 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation Lodge & Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a green oasis, The Plantation Lodge, rests on the red-brown hills. The individually furnished rooms and suites melting harmoniously into the flowering garden offering comfort and relaxation. Everywhere you look, you can see and feel the personal atmosphere of this owner-run lodge with furnishings that were selected with great attention to detail. The Plantation Lodge's cordial service leaves no wish unfulfilled. The lodge's location promises maximum safari enjoyment: a stone's throw from the entrance to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area and the Lake Manyara national park, and just a short journey from the Tarangire national park and the Serengeti. A luxury lodge with 5 suites and 17 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Plantation Lodge & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plantation Lodge And Safaris
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing