We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting and lovely grounds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay at the Plantation Lodge. Gorgeous grounds and elegant rooms. Perfect location for visiting the Ngorongoro Crater and and avoiding large lodges and crowds. Loved the private dining option for our group. Tranquil setting in the Ngorongoro Highlands. Will bring more groups there most definitely!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank jenniferkbowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

The area is great and when you enter plantation lodge it is breathtaking. The garden is wonderful with lots of flowers and coffee plants. The lodges are luxurious, food is good. The first morning we left at 06.00 to go to the Crater and we got a breakfast basket and picnic lunch with us. Both were fantastic. A great place to stay, you will feel like a royal.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Coffee House Suite, which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos en Nico v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This lodge definitely is as nice as the reviews say that it is. Big rooms with plenty of chairs and couches. The rooms were immaculate and were cleaned as soon as we went to breakfast. Beautiful grounds. The staff was particularly attentive to our needs. Meals were OK but probably not the best on our safari. Plantation Lodge is about 20 minutes from the road into Ngorongoro Crater so it is an option to the lodges located on the crater rim. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of a 10 say safari and was completely overwhelmed by the rooms and grounds. Everything was well maintained. Dining was excellent and the staff courteous and helpful.A veritable oasis of luxury and a most fitting and relaxing end to a very exciting safari experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloB040646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived at the lodge in the late afternoon after touring Lake Manyara Park for a two night stay. The place is located away from the roads so it is peaceful and quiet. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a warm hand towel and some fresh mango juice. (my favorite). We walked to the main building to check in and were given some cookies and tea. Then we were taken to our room and were blown away. It was big, the bathroom was huge, the patio was big. There is an attached room, so if someone wants to sleep, the other person can go and read or listen to music. The grounds are immaculate and gorgeous. We were glad we didn't have time to swim, as the pool was murky and not very inviting. Not an issue for us, luckily. I didn't eat breakfast, so I can't comment on it, but the dinners were delicious. There is a fixed menu so be ready to eat what they serve. Neither of us had any problems eating everything they had, it is all tasty. The soups were sooooo good. My only issue was the night they served chicken, both of us commented on the fact it was a bit dry, but flavorful. The other dinner was very good.
After dinner, we'd go to the bar for a drink and talk along time with the bartender. A nice fellow. (can't remember his name, I am bad with that) The good they provided for our lunch in Ngorongoro crater was good and hit the spot.
I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hottwasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Plantation Lodge is as per the name, an old lodge nestled amongst the plantations.

About 20 min drive to the gates of the ngorongoro conservation area but about 1.5 to 2 hrs all the way to the floor of the crater (on a very very bumpy road)

The hotel grounds are very nice and relaxing with a swimming pool which is a nice treat after a hot day in a 4x4 car

We were on honeymoon and got an upgrade to the ol dupai suite which was amazing! Lovely decor, a nice spacious living area, and a comfy bed. The only downside with the room was that the shower was lukewarm and when we ask for the temp to the increased the maintenance guy took a look and said to wait 20 mins. We waited and there was little to no difference.

The bar is really good and there is an amazing wine cellar. The coffee is also really good, grown in the neighbouring farm.

The evening food at the lodge was great but the lunch-boxes that they provided were not the best we have had on the trip. They lacked tasty vegetarian options - my wife was given a cheese roll and cheese and tomatoes sandwich on 1 day - and no matter what the filling the sandwich bread was always a little stale like it had been left out. The breakfast was average, we probably would have expected a better assortment given the price. Service was slow and sometimes lost in translation, this was generally fine but frustrating at breakfast when trying to get out on safari.

Overall a lovely hotel. Great grounds and a really nice room but lunchbox food was not the best we had and a hot shower would have made this a great hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KatCon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here in February 2014. This is a little slice of heaven in the middle of Tanzania. The beautiful accommodation plus the excellent staff make it a perfect place to stay. The staff is so kind and pleasant, always with smiles and a warm "jambo" (hello). The property is gorgeous and the view from the swimming pool is a definite photo opportunity.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoomzoomMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels
11.3 mi away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
688 reviews
3.4 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
431 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.8 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
176 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodge
Ngorongoro Oldeani Mountain Lodg...
#11 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
108 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation Lodge & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation Lodge & Safaris

Address: P.O.Box 34 | Karatu, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plantation Lodge & Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a green oasis, The Plantation Lodge, rests on the red-brown hills. The individually furnished rooms and suites melting harmoniously into the flowering garden offering comfort and relaxation. Everywhere you look, you can see and feel the personal atmosphere of this owner-run lodge with furnishings that were selected with great attention to detail. The Plantation Lodge's cordial service leaves no wish unfulfilled. The lodge's location promises maximum safari enjoyment: a stone's throw from the entrance to the Ngorongoro Conservation Area and the Lake Manyara national park, and just a short journey from the Tarangire national park and the Serengeti. A luxury lodge with 5 suites and 17 standard rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Plantation Lodge And Safaris
The Plantation Lodge & Safaris Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing