We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing setting”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Views from our room over the Ngorongoro Crater were stunning. The room was basic but adequate. Meals were all inclusive and were good.

It was slightly disconcerting to find no electricity available until 5pm.......also not impressed that you have to pay $10 for 1 hour internet access - we didn't bother at that price!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    241
    152
    54
    30
See reviews for
119
280
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

An amazing lodge. I have almost nothing to compain of except the toilet wich we had a littlw problem with. It woulnt stop flushing. Great food, and the view you get from the blacony is just amazing.
As i said good food and the staff is nice.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlerfromnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon safari, when you walk in the view you get is astounding. The hotel has floor to ceiling windows that overlook the crater and then when we got to the room we found we had the same wonderful view.

The dinner was a nice change from the buffet style, being able to choose from a range of menu items which made up a 4 course meal. Just a shame that they didn't serve good coffee instead using the instant equivalent .

Really nice way to end our stay, waking up to that view topped off the safari.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Rooms a bit basic, bathroom minute (extractor fan did not work). Fantastic view over the crater/caldera, friendly staff (had a long chat to the very friendly Indian chef). Buffalo grazed right under our window during the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here in April 2013, the view was well worth the stay, the lodge was priced to suit. Its closeness to the main road made it handy as well.
The rooms are simple and the dining room is large but the food was plentiful and tasty.
It is worth staying here for the views and the walk we did in the forest, we felt quite safe with the armed ranger.

Room Tip: Enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Fantastic location and views from bedrooms and balcony, but I agree with the reviewer who said that the views are not enough. The lodge lacks atmosphere and needs updating. The dining room was more like a huge cafeteria packed with people. Food is plentiful but average. Staff did not smile. Overall for the money spent it was very disappointing.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ngorongoro Conservation Area hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for a single night, on our Ngorongoro-Serengeti safari. The lodge is literally perched on the rim of the Ngorongoro crater and provides breath-taking views of this natural wonder. The rooms are ok. Don’t expect any big city hotel luxuries though. No room service. Don't really need it anyway. No air-conditioning, this is ok, as during the day you'll most likely be out and about and the temperature drops at night, so its not uncomfortably hot. No TV in the rooms. There is one big screen TV in the lounge. If it really bothers you that there is no TV in the rooms then you need to revaluate the whole point of an African safari. I did think it was a big classless to find, some hotel staff gathered around the TV lounge when we passed by on our way to dinner. If you need to iron any clothes, you must call housekeeping and they will do it for you. The dinner and breakfast we had provided a decent buffet selection. Overall a decent experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
23.4 mi away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
6.9 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#5 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
11.1 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 48 in Karatu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#30 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Property: Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge is dramatically perched on the rim of Africa’s Eden, affording unbelievable views plunging down over the crater floor, 7,500 feet above the sea level. The Lodge is elegantly built mainly from natural stone and local wood and timber, harmoniously merging with its natural surroundings, and it is provided with panoramic windows that encompass superb views of the crater’s great bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Wildlife Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Ngorongoro Wildlife Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing